We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable with a great view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel Malahide
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Malahide
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We enjoyed our trip to Malahide and were pleased that a good hotel near the sea was available. Good breakfasts too, though we didn't have another meal there. It's easy to walk to the Grand from the Dart from Dublin.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank englishmarilyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,653)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

895 - 901 of 1,653 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2014

Spent one night in this lovely hotel, the room was very spacious and clean. Lovely location. Breakfast was very good. Only fault we had was that the bed was a little hard for us. Overall it is a very impressive well run hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gner103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

From our experience during our stay, the images of rooms on the website did not reflect all the rooms available: the room we were allocated was a pokey twin room overlooking a flat roof. It felt very claustrophobic and was hot at night. The window was small: room 327 I think. The bed was extremely comfortable as were the 2 pillows. My sister arranged the booking and we paid €55 per person without breakfast which to be honest was steep for what we got considering the offers that are out there. Sometimes location and the rest of the hotel decor and facilities can make up for a bad bedroom but not always.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MaryTDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

I stayed here for a business trip, the location is fantastic, right on the water and easy to access the quaint town of Malahide. Within a few short minutes are fantastic restaurants, the castle, and the train which will bring you into Dublin in 30 minutes. The hotel was very comfortable and included a nice breakfast. Staff was very pleasant and accomodating. If you want business amenities such as a busines room with computer/printing/faxing/scanning: don't stay here. That is my real complaint is that while there is a computer room, it requires a credit card just to use it. Business travelers expect to be able to have access to these routinely and without having to find your credit card, so it was disappointing. The bar: decent food, service spotty but overall a good experience and I would stay here again. Quiet for an older building, which is a plus. And best for last: right next to a lovely coastal paved walkway which goes for miles, a wonderful addition to an already wonderful town.

Room Tip: Get a room with a sea view, there is some traffic noise but it is worth being able to watch the shor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We stayed here over Valentines weekend. The hotel is in a beautiful location and we enjoyed dining out in some of the very good local restaurants. The room was clean and comfortable and the breakfast was good. The leisure facilities were fine, although getting a little dated. I would recommend bringing flip flops or crocs for the pool area as the tiled floor is extremely slippery.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank katie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Just returned from a four night stay during the Ireland v Wales 6 Nations Rugby Weekend. There were 30 members of our party, and during our stay the all staff from reception, dining, bar, leisure and housekeeping were very professional. All hotel amenities were first class and the breakfasts were to die for. Yes, on the weekend there was some queues after 9.00am, but members of staff worked swift to clear used tables. Many thanks to the management and all staff at The Grand for your wonderful service from 30 Welshmen. Roll on 2016 when we will all return!!!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank 226RichardW226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Last night our business meeting became a victim of the current atrocious weather. Expecting 2 colleagues to join us overnight from the UK, their flight was eventually cancelled at 23:15.
The Hotel and its agents Booking.com would have been in their right to execute their cancellation policy, rendering our party with honouring the liability. The hotel management generously accepted that our party’s failure to honour the booking, was beyond their control, and they graciously waved their cancellation policy in this instance.
Expertly managed by Victoria on the desk. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to any business and or visitor, a very professional group

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nigel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malahide
1.7 mi away
Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links
1.4 mi away
White Sands Hotel
White Sands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Portmarnock
368 reviews
6.4 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 152 in Dublin
4,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Island View Hotel
Island View Hotel
#2 of 2 in Malahide
94 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hilton Dublin Airport Hotel
2.4 mi away
The Waterside House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Malahide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Malahide

Address: Coast Road at Grove, Malahide, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Malahide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Malahide
Price Range: $124 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Malahide 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel is a four star property situated overlooking the water in the award winning town of Malahide. Located near Dublin Airport, the M50 and with DART and excellent bus services, Malahide's many attractions are in easy reach of visitors. The Hotel has an extensive Leisure centre with Swimming Pool and Gymnasium. The town offers a wide selection of shops, bars and restaurants, as you would expect from north county Dublin's premier town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Hotel Malahide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Dublin
Grand Malahide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing