We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big, nice and surounded in a nice area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Hotel Malahide
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Malahide
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Nice hotel and great location. Staff helpful and friendly. Had a blast and will definitely go back. Food really good and facilities great. Look forward to a return visit and would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helivox88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Hotel M, Sales Manager at Grand Hotel Malahide, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Thank you for your fantastic review. We are delighted you seemed to thoroughly enjoy your stay with us. Please come back again soon.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,591)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Malahide
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

866 - 872 of 1,591 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2013

Beautiful hotel and great location. Staff helpful and friendly. Had a blast and will definitely go back. Food really good and facilities great. Look forward to a return visit and would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wendycampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Hotel M, Sales Manager at Grand Hotel Malahide, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Thank you for this great review. You seemed to really enjoy your stay with us. We love to hear our guests feedback. Please come back again soon.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

We had an executive room which was quite large. It took ages to get to the room having to use two different lifts and long walks along long corridors. The bed was comfy, the bathroom was large although totally steamed up when the shower was on. Our room had great views over the marina and ocean and also had a balcony but the doors were locked and they would not open them for us to utilise the balcony - very disappointed. There was also no mini-bar but a kettle was provided along with tea bags, sugar, coffee and a few biscuits.

Breakfast was just an average breakfast but the staff were pleasant.

Takes about 10 minutes to walk to the train station to get into Dublin.

We did not dine in the restaurants.

The hotel has a lovely grand entrance only this isn't the one that is used. All the taxis that took us back there thought it was but the entrance is around the side. ???

Disappointed that Wi-Fi was not free as in every other hotel we have stayed in they have free Wi-Fi.

Also disappointed that they have signs in the bathroom that if u wish to re-use your towel leave it on the towel rack but they always replace the towels. Don't know why they bother with the sign.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolMarie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Hotel M, Sales Manager at Grand Hotel Malahide, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. Your feedback is essential to helping us provide the best possible experience for all our guests. You seemed to have had mixed feelings about the hotel . Let me clarify a few aspects. The hotel dates back to 1835 and the original hotel is now a listed building. We have now made the old house a feature which can be privatised for receptions and built a more substantial reception which can accommodate multiple check in points, coach set down and ample space for the large numbers that pass through the hotel which has 203 bedrooms.
The views are spectacular from the bedrooms and I see why you would want to step out side to take it in but for security reasons, access is denied at this time.
We provide complimentary daily wifi usage for all our guests to allow a 20 minutes access to check mails etc... however for prolonged usage a nominal administration charge is applied.
Regarding the sign in the bathroom about towel usage, we are committed to environmental conservation in all aspects of the hotels daily functions and this is one way we endeavour to reduce our waste and water usage.
We hope you enjoyed your time in Malahide overall and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Charging for WiFi! Come on guys...!
The Grand has a complicated charging structure for guests for wifi, involving scales and amounts and time slots ..... just make the WiFi available in the hotel for free - save yourselves a load of admin and the guests a load of aggro. During the conference the hotel issued codes for wifi, with a new code issued every 8 hours. But when more than 50 delegates were logged in under one code, then another code had to be issued.... ridiculous stuff.

When I checked in, the room I was assigned was in the old part of the hotel, at the side where cars drive in and out of the car park. Not pleasant to look at. And the room was not pleasant either - tired and dull. I asked for another room preferably with a view, and was warned that it would be smaller. It was, but it had a really lovely view - sunrise over the marina was just gorgeous. After a couple of nights I grew quite fond of my little room!

I had breakfast in my room and it was - as per tray breakfasts in most hotels - grim. The selection for room service breakfast is very limited, and doesn't start early enough.

I wouldn't particularly recommend the Grand as the rooms in the old part of the hotel are very dated - some could be quaint, but others are fairly dull and grim. I don't know what the rooms in the new part of the hotel are like. As a conference venue it works well although can be difficult for delegates with mobility problems.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the water.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank locloc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Hotel M, Sales Manager at Grand Hotel Malahide, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the hotel.
It is disappointing to hear you were not happy with various aspects of your stay with us.

We offer free wifi to all our conference delegates for the duration of their stay at the hotel and passwords are issued as a security measure. The hotel is fully wheel chair accessible throughout so guests staying for business or leisure should not have encountered any difficulty in getting around the hotel.

The breakfast and restaurant is highly acclaimed and receives great praise on a regular basis both for its high quality of food and wonderful setting overlooking Malahide Marina. I'm sorry if you felt your room service tray did not meet your expectations.

The hotel has undergone many refurbishments in its 178 year existence and with this many extensions have been added to the hotel to make the 203 bedroom hotel it is today. We are continually upgrading the facilities to meet our guests needs and will have another floor completed in January. Unfortunately, not all rooms can have a view but over sixty per cent of the hotel bedrooms enjoy sea views.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to send through your thoughts and we will take your feedback on board for future developments.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Malahide is an excellent location to stay. relaxed and near many attractions including the Malahide Castle which I highly recommend. The hotel is very nice, with a great view of the coast from some rooms and the dinig room. The Pub has excellent drinks and meals. Room are very big and comfortable and silent. The Hotel XIX century architectural style is very nice and well maintained. I´d come back to this Hotel if I ever come back to that area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Borboroglu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Hotel M, Sales Manager at Grand Hotel Malahide, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review of the hotel and Malahide.
We are delighted to hear you enjoyed the food and bars and had such a comfortable stay.
The hotel is indeed steeped in history and it is this character that adds to the charm of the hotel and makes for such a warm welcome. We do hope you make it back again some day.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

This hotel is well located in a seaside village just outside Dublin. The standard rooms are reasonably nice and the wifi works in the rooms. For a little more you may secure a room with a view of the harbor and sea. Use of the pool and spa is complimentary during your stay. From the hotel you may easily walk to the village restaurants and pubs. The local train station (DART) for Dublin is about a 10-15 minute walk and the ride to the center of the City is about 25-30 minutes. The local park and castle are within a 20 minute walk of the hotel. There is an outstanding one star Michelin Guide restaurant with a few minutes walk of the hotel: Bon Appetit with both a Bistro and Restaurant. Local notable golf courses are Portmarnock GC and the Island GC.

Room Tip: The standard rooms are generally on the back of the hotel and without a view.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clubsecretary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Hotel M, Sales Manager at Grand Hotel Malahide, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

What a lovely review, it seems you really enjoyed your time in Malahide. It is a wonderful little town, ideally located just minutes from the airport and city and with something for everyone as you have rightly pointed out. We hope you find the time to return to us soon. Thank you so much for your excellent feedback,
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Just back from spending a few days in this hotel and as ususal it was very good. Good comfortable room and with a seaview as requested. Breakfast was excellent as always with loads of choice tho not good for the waistline. My only complaint is about the hairdryer in the room. I found this very awkward to use especially when you have to keep your thumb on the button to keep the hairdryer working. Very painful if, like me you have arthritis in your thumbs. Maybe this could be looked at. I will bring my own next time! By the way where was Joey this time? We missed his happy smile in the mornings greeting us at breakfast time.

Room Tip: Request a room with seaview when you book. You may be lucky and get one.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Hotel M, Sales Manager at Grand Hotel Malahide, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review of the hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to give such great feedback. We take your feedback on board regarding the hairdryers, they are hotel standard appliances and I am sorry you find them tricky to use with your arthritis.
Delighted to hear you got your sea view and you are right, please always ask as more often than not we can accommodate this request.
We will hopefully see you again very soon,
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malahide
1.7 mi away
Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links
1.5 mi away
White Sands Hotel
White Sands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Portmarnock
362 reviews
6.4 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 150 in Dublin
4,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Island View Hotel
Island View Hotel
#2 of 2 in Malahide
86 reviews
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn Dublin Airport Hotel
7.6 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 150 in Dublin
4,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Malahide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Malahide

Address: Coast Road at Grove, Malahide, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Malahide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Malahide
Price Range: $129 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Malahide 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel is a four star property situated overlooking the water in the award winning town of Malahide. Located near Dublin Airport, the M50 and with DART and excellent bus services, Malahide's many attractions are in easy reach of visitors. The Hotel has an extensive Leisure centre with Swimming Pool and Gymnasium. The town offers a wide selection of shops, bars and restaurants, as you would expect from north county Dublin's premier town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Grand Hotel Malahide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Dublin
Grand Malahide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing