We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel with nice relaxed service.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel Malahide
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Malahide
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Stayed here for the rugby this weekend and cannot speak highly enough of this hotel. Great room sizes, superb views from the restaurant and first class breakfasts. Public areas were aplenty with lots of comfy sofas. Malahide is a very elcoming town and I'd recommend a further visit.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
Thank anddon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,610)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,089 - 1,095 of 1,610 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2013

Wow, this hotel is one of the best I have stayed in and I have experienced many around the World. Lovely, comfortable bedroom with great view and very fast wifi which I understand is brand new, brand new flat screen TV and most importantly a big, cozy bed!

We ate in the restaurant and in my opinion it is the best of the local establishments, even better than the Michelin star one up the road. The beef cheek pie which comes with the steak is mind blowingly good but all courses were outstanding. Can't wait to go back, a busy hotel but great atmosphere, attentive staff, leisure centre, super fast wifi and the beautiful village.

Don't miss the experience!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mattlanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel however had to ask to be moved rooms as very cold. Advised heating was on a timer. 2nd room was a bit warmer but still not brilliant.
Rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable. Hotel in need of a updating such as the heating system but overall a nice hotel.
Was advised at 11.30pm last orders were being served at the bar, 1st I've stayed in a hotel and not has residence service where you can order drinks as late as you wish?? Also no snacks available to order?? As we had been to an event we were really hungry but all that was on offer was miniature Pringles!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rudders999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Had a lovely night away in The Grand Hotel recently. It is in a brilliant location within walking distance from centre of town. The reception staff were very welcoming and helpful. The bar was very clean and comfortable and service was very good. We dined in the restaurant which was very busy but the staff were well able to keep up a good standard of service.The food was excellent and there was nothing we could fault.

Bedrooms were lovely and clean and very spacious too. Room was equipped with an iron,trouser press and hairdryer. Bathrooms were nicely stocked too.

Overall - a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DublinIrishlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Nice, quite, safe location with very good connection to Dublin or airport (both app. 30 minutes by train, doubledecker). Good relax facilities: pool, wellness, great fitness possibilities! Excellent cuisine - breakfast and dinners. I spent there 3 nights - full satisfaction. Nice view to the port. I loved the fireplaces all around the ground floor.. I will definitively come back when going to Dublin.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

My brother and I booked the grand for my parents anniversary, as they had, had there wedding reception here a few years back - and im rather regretting that we did choose this hotel as they found staff rude while checking in, rather unprepared and no communication at dinner, lack of variety on the restaurants menu if you don't like chesse and fish (starters) when the main came out it was below average and breakfast was the same - average, rooms were ok but they thought could of been cleaner. For a 4* hotel they expected more.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laura w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

This hotel is well located and within walking distance of Malahide and the coastline. The hotel has huge amount of parking. The staff were friendly. i ate in the bar all nights of my stay as food was very good.

The room was huge and had all facilites. The week i stayed the weather was very cold and will say it took a long time for the room to heat up the weather also didnt help this not all room size fault!

Room Tip: A view over the coast i imagine would be amazing if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malahide
1.7 mi away
Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links
1.5 mi away
White Sands Hotel
White Sands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Portmarnock
364 reviews
6.4 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 150 in Dublin
4,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Island View Hotel
Island View Hotel
#2 of 2 in Malahide
88 reviews
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn Dublin Airport Hotel
7.6 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 150 in Dublin
4,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Malahide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Malahide

Address: Coast Road at Grove, Malahide, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Malahide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Malahide
Price Range: $117 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Malahide 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel is a four star property situated overlooking the water in the award winning town of Malahide. Located near Dublin Airport, the M50 and with DART and excellent bus services, Malahide's many attractions are in easy reach of visitors. The Hotel has an extensive Leisure centre with Swimming Pool and Gymnasium. The town offers a wide selection of shops, bars and restaurants, as you would expect from north county Dublin's premier town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Grand Hotel Malahide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Dublin
Grand Malahide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing