We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel Malahide
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Malahide
Qatar
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

The service at breakfast was excellent and very efficient. Rooms were very spacious. The location was very central and Malahide village was a short walk as well as the beach which is right beside the hotel. I enjoyed the service in Matt Ryan's bar. For eating in Malahide, I recommend the Scotch Bonnet restaurant. Malahide lawn tennis club is very near the hotel and it was nice to watch the members playing.
The room was quite warm even with the windows open. I would suggest that the hotel offer some kind of light bedding instead of the heavy winter bedding which was supplied.

Room Tip: Our room was at the back facing the car park. We would have preferred to be at the front facing the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackoIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    590
    564
    247
    104
    59
See reviews for
327
551
35
306
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (450)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 3, 2012

My parents stayed in this Hotel for two nights as a treat for my mothers birthday. Having called out to see them I was shocked at the appearance of the hotel, the rooms are in definite need of refurbishment. A small outdated tv, stains on the wallpaper where the radiator had leaked at some stage and the entire hallway and room stank of smoke. This is definitely not up to 4star standard. They said that the staff were all very pleasant and accomodating and that they had a very nice meal in the Hotel restuarant. However, on the second night of their stay they were awoke at 4am by noisey neighbours and despite ringing reception the disruption continued to 6am. Overall a disappointing stay, the Hotel has declined significantly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinky08_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barendrecht
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for business. Wifi was very expensive. Desk was too high to work with a laptop. TV was very bad signal. Complained but nothing was done about it. Room service menu basic. Maze through corridors to get fron one part to the other. Nice location and views but don't expect too much of the rooms.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arnaud-Melissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randalstown, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I have stayed at the Grand Hotel in Malahide many times with my wife and on each occasion had a wonderful time. I also have repeated my stays with friends and family on a few occasions. I am just back from a stay this weekend and was very disappointed with my time spent there. I stayed in room 272 and the bedroom was very very cold. I feel the hotel did not let the heat stay on long enough in the bedroom. My stay was from Friday 23rd Nov to Sunday 25th November 2012.
Whilst my two friends did stay with me in room 112 their room was fine and even stretched to being too warm.
My room was in the older part of the hotel but management need to reconsider their current policy regarding the switch on time for their heat in this wing of the hotel.
A disappointed customer.

Room Tip: check the up to date heating policy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1480271Sammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We have just had the most enjoyable three day break at the Grand Hotel. The hotel has the most wonderful position overlooking the sea in Malahiide.The staff are a credit to the hotel, from the minute you arrive until you are leaving they can not do enough to make your stay a pleasureable and enjoyable time. The rooms are well furnished and comfortable.The food is excellent and a varied choice on the menu. We intend to return and hopefully the weather will be as kind as on this visit 11deg C and sunny in November ,

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Two night stay with dinner included in rate, upgraded to executive room , which was large and had a see view, lovely old hotel with new features , all the staff were friendly and polite , hotel quiet , but a five minute walk into the village , with three pub ,restaurants that look small from the outside , but go on and on inside , packed on the Saturday and Sunday evenings. That we were there, Had a lovely stay at hotel , and can't say a bad thing about it , so defiantly will return

Room Tip: Sea view executive
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gee62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

I stayed at the Grand to set up small conference. The town of Malahide is beautiful, quaint and very friendly. It's walking distance to everything. Train station is close by which takes you to downtown Dublin. A waterview room is great. Hotel has some cozy, comfy places to sit and work on your laptop if you're there for business. Matt's Bar has excellent food and great bartenders. There's a very nice health club next door to the hotel which accommodates guests. Great place and location.

Room Tip: Waterview rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MKK10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malahide
1.7 mi away
Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links
1.5 mi away
White Sands Hotel
White Sands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Portmarnock
359 reviews
6.4 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
3,972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Island View Hotel
Island View Hotel
#2 of 2 in Malahide
83 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Waterside House Hotel
3.0 mi away
Carnegie Court Hotel
Carnegie Court Hotel
#4 of 7 in Swords
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Malahide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Malahide

Property: Grand Hotel Malahide
Address: Coast Road at Grove, Malahide, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Malahide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Malahide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Malahide 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel is a four star property situated overlooking the water in the award winning town of Malahide. Located near Dublin Airport, the M50 and with DART and excellent bus services, Malahide's many attractions are in easy reach of visitors. The Hotel has an extensive Leisure centre with Swimming Pool and Gymnasium. The town offers a wide selection of shops, bars and restaurants, as you would expect from north county Dublin's premier town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hotel Malahide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Dublin
Grand Malahide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing