We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Hotel Malahide
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Sands Hotel(Portmarnock)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,675)
Filter reviews
1,675 results
Traveler rating
634
598
271
110
62
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
634
598
271
110
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoast restaurantsea viewryan's barmatt ryan barexecutive roomleisure centrelovely hotelpublic areasshort breakbar foodfamily roomstayed for one nighthotel bardublin cityirelanddartportmarnock
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,326 - 1,331 of 1,675 reviews
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Always nervous about going to a new hotel as often its downhill from the lobby.

Not The Grand though, this hotel proved excellent from the first encounter with checkin. The room was excellent with a fantastic view over the bay (not saying which one as want to keep for myself). Food at The Coast restaurant was excellent (although avoid the table at the door - very draughty) with again excellent staff. As for location, its second to none, beach on doorstep, village (and a great selection of restarants) and direct train to Dublin City Centre a 5 minute pleasant walk.

One other bonus - absolutely no hassle at checkout - bill correct first time.

Looking forward to going again soon, this time i will bring the children as its also very child friendly.

Martin

Stayed: April 2012
1  Thank Glasagh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Cheery staff, excellent food value, clean and spruce, stunning views, convenient to village and costal walks, great break

Room Tip: Ask for sea view
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

We went to this hotel for a 60th Birthday Party.

My girlfriend called to book a room but the lady advised her that the only rooms available were the executive rooms. She ended up paying 170 euro for 1 night B&B.

The room wasn't comparable to other 4 star executive rooms. I was in three other standard rooms and I have to say there was very little difference.

The bed in an executive room should be kingsize- it wasn't.

Executive rooms should also be bigger- it wasn't.

The wall paper was stained.

Restaurant
We waited 50 minutes for a portion of fish and chips and a pasta. When the order arrived I had to remind the waiter about the portion of curry I had ordered to accompany my fish. He said he forgot. My girlfiend's chicken pasta lacked flavour. She had to ask for some sweet chilli sauce to make it edible. Food I would say is only up to cafe standard. The prices are however quite steep.

Bar
I ordered a cup of tea at the bar when I was reading newspaper. I couldn't believe it was 3.75. They didn't even give me a biscuit with it. Total rip off. The tea was cheap tea as well. You would expect a decent brand at it to be 1.50 cheaper than 3.75.

The vodka was way to dear as well. I had to go out to the off licence and get a bottle. We had a few drinks in the room to save money.

Leisure Facilities
They have a variety of padlocks which are all numbered and opened with a combination code.
This is silly. I was number 6 and the girl said the code for this one is xxxx. Imagine someone gets a padlock one day and takes note of the number. They could wait until they see that padlock in the changing room on a locker as they are numbered and simply open it. The hotel has signs up saying the cannot accept responsibility for any theft or lost items. Be aware.

Don't stay here unless you get it for the same price as a bed and breakfast.

One positive thing about the hotel was the view but my word was it expensive.

In my eyes we were ripped off. I would expect a room in the Ritz in Powerscourt for between 170 - 200. This hotel is taking advantage of people. They should give discount if its a party. They decided to charge us more.

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RyanBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Just back from 2 nights at The Grand. Our second stay as a couple but my husband has stayed there on business on numerous occasions. We had a room in the new part with a great view over the water. Can't fault the staff, they are friendly and efficient. The only thing that I could say is that the coffee at breakfast is a bit slow, we had almost finished eating by the time it arrived. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneRSwindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Hi

We spent 3 nights in the Grand and loved it. We stayed in room 103 and the view was great. Good sized room and comfy bed. Swimming pool and gym very good also.

Lunch in the hotel bar was very nice, we got soup and sandwiches.

Breakfast was fine.

All staff were very pleasant and professional.

Malahide is a lovely place, lots of choice in restaurants (mexican, thai and Greedy Goose were all fab). Gibneys and the Living room were great pubs. We also enjoyed walking on the beach and around the castle grounds.

Go and enjoy!

Room Tip: 103 was a great room
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gemzglitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews