We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Pub Atmosphere”
Review of Duffy's Pub

Duffy's Pub
Ranked #16 of 55 Restaurants in Malahide
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Duffy's Pub, serving good quality food at affordable prices. Live bands perform every week end.
Windermere, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
358 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Good Pub Atmosphere”
Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Came here a year ago and enjoyed the open atmosphere again. Good food, had the fish platter this time (salmon, mackerel, prawns) for around €10. Service could use a little improvement, as others have mentioned.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robogator0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    103
    23
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fairly poor”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We ate here yesterday and having previously heard good reports about the food i could not have been more disappointed.
Myself and my gf ordered a number of different lite bites between us. We ordered bbq chicken wings which were probably the worst wings i have ever had, covered in bread crumbs and over cooked with a tiny drizzle of bbq sauce, almost half the wings had no sauce on them, awful. The calamari was the strangest as half of them were lovely, the other half were brown like they had been cooked in two differnet batches with one batch cooked in dirty oil, half of them were unedible. The potato skins were fairly bland and didnt really taste of anything. The biggest disappointment was the pil pil prawns, for 8e we received 3 prawns which were overed in a thick greasy batter. For 8 euro 3 prawns is scandlous.
The rest of the table got the lamb carvery, the otheres complained the carrots werent cooked and the mash potato was horrible.
This was not a good experience and i would eat here again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jdublin84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Service not great”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

This pub is in a great location and the food is lovely but the service is bad. It took ages for someone to come and give us menu's. The place was quite grubby which I was surprised at but considering the poor service I guess the staff don't like to clean either. Barman was very friendly and helpful though!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank donnamw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good 'old timers' bar.”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

newly refurbished, with a roof garden and exec type bar upstairs, Duffys has been very popular in Malahide. Food is good too, and the staff are efficient, and most have been working here for years. If you are looking for a young crowd, go to Gibneys instead.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank john h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Kildare, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good value, tasty food.”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The staff here are wonderful. It's very child friendly and the usually have great special offers. Go here on a regularly and we're never disappointed.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alidk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duffy's Pub also viewed

Malahide, County Dublin
Malahide, County Dublin
 
Malahide, County Dublin
Malahide, County Dublin
 
Malahide, County Dublin
 

Been to Duffy's Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing