We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'd find a differe Convenient location and friendly hosts but......”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Castle Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 10 Malahide B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights. Hosts friendly enough however no attention to detail.
Rooms small, bathroom even smaller. No hot water at 7:00 am. Host said he has it on a timer and didn't know why. Also late getting up and came down after 8 to start breakfast. Bkfst okay but think oatmeal was packaged. Community hairdryer in upstairs foyer. Convenient location to town and trains to Dublin. Also close to airport a plus.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank memorialrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (340)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 340 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2013

In our recent trip to Ireland, we stayed in seven b&bs and Castle Lodge was our favorite by far. All amenities worked perfectly, the food was excellent, the bed was comfortable - all things you should expect. The town and the train station for Dublin are only a few blocks away. The airport is a 10 minute drive. The one thing that sets this b&b apart are its hosts, Gerry and Eithne. They treated us like family, staying up talking with us upon our arrival, loaning us a heavier coat, extra batteries, ordering spring rolls with curry sauce. They are both very witty, and often play off each other like a sitcom. We ended up seeing Gerry and some of his friends at a pub - we joined them and was lucky enough to hear Gerry serenade us with an Irish song. Delightful, salt of the earth people. To get a real taste of Irish hospitality, you couldn't make a better choice!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cfitz43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Gerry and Eithne were lovely hosts. When we checked in, our room was not quite ready (which was fine! we got there way early just expecting to drop off our bags) and they offered us a lovely cup of tea. Terrific hosts.
The rooms were nice---the bed was comfortable and the shower had good pressure.
The breakfast area was well decorated and the food was tasty.
My only complaint was that we were unable to connect to the internet. Don't know if it was just our computers or what, but even when we could, the signal strength was very low. This is quite frustrating when you want to check your flight status.
If you don't let this bother you, then you are in for a treat.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Knox86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We found the Castle Lodge on our next to the last night in Ireland. Wonderful stay Gerry and Eithne were very helpful. They welcome you into their home like you are family. It's like staying with your gram! They gave us directions so we could walk to the local pub where we had a nice dinner while joining in Arthur's Day Celebrations. Room was comfortable and quiet. My only regret was that I had already booked a Dublin B & B for our last night in Ireland. Castle Lodge is close to airport and would have been an easy drive. Would definitly stay there again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annette E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I accidentally came across this B&B while touring around Malahide, and what a Godsend! Gerry and Eithne have thought of every possible way to make your stay with them a complete delight, right down to their commercial-sized scale for weighing your suitcase before getting on the plane. They have personally drawn maps for how to take the back roads to return your car to your specific car rental agency in just 10-15 minutes, avoiding the toll on the M50 (which must be prepaid). And you dont have to be stranded at an airport hotel, but can walk about 5 minutes into town for Starbucks, great restaurants and pubs, or a lovely stroll along the harbour. The room was lovely, and the hosts were more than eager to accomodate any requests. I had asked if I could have some cheese and toast for breakfast, as I was tired of touring around and having the typical full Irish breakfast every where I went. I was presented with a lovely garnished selection of cheese, while the merry chef sang in the kitchen as he prepared the food for the other guests. I am going to recommend this B&B to all my family and friends as the perfect alternative to airport hotels. And you cant beat the price! Coleen from Chicago

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColeenMcDonnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

4 of us stayed here on saturday evening. The hostess Eithne Rafferty couldn't have been nicer to us. The first thing she asked us when we arrived is if we would like some refreshments even though there was a kettle/Tea/Coffee etc in the rooms. The rooms are very comfortable with everything you could need and having stayed in other B & Bs over the years, this one was by far the cleanest one I've ever stayed in. The breakfast was great too, again everything was on offer but we eat light these days but it was all there. Fill your boots!!!!!!!!!!
It took us only 10 minutes to walk into the centre of Malahide where there are shops/restaurants and Bars to suit all and there is also the Harbour and strand + The Dart station is in the centre of the town too. It's a lovely town, can't wait to go back. Very impressed!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philipa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Why we love Castle Lodge:
1. Gerry and Eithne are generous hosts: they welcomed us in their home when we arrived at 8am, chatted about Ireland in their cozy common areas, and gave us an amazing send-off, complete with coddle and a sing-along with their friends.
2. Fantastic breakfasts. We stayed at many B&Bs and their breakfasts were our favorite. The food + Gerry's singing made them unique.
3. They gave us great driving advice on Day 1 which saved us many times.
4. The places they told us to visit in Malahide were spot on (castle, Duffy's, sights in nearby Howth)
5. Their location was so convenient to Dublin's airport and an easy train ride to Dublin itself.

We were in Ireland for 18 days and stayed with Gerry and Eithne for 3 nights. They are some of our fondest memories. A stay with them is a must when visiting Dublin/Malahide.

-Sarah and Ken from MN

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MNSarahT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malahide
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Malahide
Grand Hotel Malahide
#1 of 2 in Malahide
1,636 reviews
1.6 mi away
Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links
1.4 mi away
White Sands Hotel
White Sands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Portmarnock
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Premier Inn Dublin Airport Hotel
0.6 mi away
Island View Hotel
Island View Hotel
#2 of 2 in Malahide
94 reviews
7.7 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#54 of 150 in Dublin
2,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Lodge Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Lodge Bed & Breakfast

Address: Back Road, Malahide, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Malahide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Malahide
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle Lodge B & B, located fifteen minutes from Dublin Airport, renowned for high standard in accommodation and delicious wholesome food, Castle Lodge B & B offers great value for money, for an overnight stay, a weekend break or longer vacation. Owned and run by the Rafferty family, who have vast knowledge of Malahide and surrounding areas. Rooms and suites cater for all guests with single, double and family suites & wheelchair accessible toilet available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Castle Lodge Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing