We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A few gliches but all is well....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Portmarnock
Certificate of Excellence
Belmont, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A few gliches but all is well....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

My daughter was married at this resort in November 2013 and we were very pleased that she chose this location. The room rates were very reasonable and our seaview room was beautiful! The beds were the most comfortable one we had during our 2 week stay in Ireland and the U.K.

We had been in Ireland for several days already and had learned that restaurant service is very different than in the U.S. There was a mix up in the restaurant when the bride, mother in law and myself were to have afternoon tea but the resort made it right.

The wedding coordinator was very good, venue was beautiful, and the food, service and decor at reception was lovely.

We did have a very bad experience in the on site spa which had my daughter in tears. My manicurist was very sweet but the manicure lasted barely 2 days. My daughters tech was extremely brusk and downright rude. I have written the spa but, to date, have received no apology or even acknowledgement of my e mail.

Bottom line, stay here, enjoy the beach and comfortable beds but give the spa a pass.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    620
    340
    116
    42
    32
See reviews for
231
508
41
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
antrim
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed here on a saturday night in December for a night away and we will definitely be back. It is a great hotel in a stunning location and the service was very friendly from start to finish, particularly the local lady who checked us in and out.

Our deluxe room was very comfortable and had everything that you would expect from a hotel of this quality. We had a snack and a couple of pints in the Jameson bar and the food we had was very tastey.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank craig g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

Greatly enjoyed stay. Hotel did very well on all aspects of service. Room was very clean. Restaurant was excellent. Staff are very well trained. Proximity to beach is great. Great views from all rooms.

Room Tip: Most suitable for golfers. Non-golfers then short 1-3 night stays.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bradymic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

What can I say. A fantastic hotel which obviously still prides itself on excellent service and friendly staff. I just came back from spending a weekend here with a group of friends and was pleasantly surprised by the size and quality of the room, the overall decor of the hotel and the location. But the thing that really stood out was the staff's positive and friendly attitude. They couldn't do enough and even got involved in some friendly banter at one point. The bar staff in particular were excellent. Food also rated highly. The free bottle of Prosecco was a lovely touch. I will be recommending it to friends and will hopefully be back at some point.

Room Tip: Some rooms seem to come with a fridge and others don't. Might be worth asking for one if its som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerJoanne2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

We booked for the 12th to 14th December, this was our second time to stay with the hotel and we were looking forward to a comfortable and relaxed break, having enjoyed our previous experience. We were not disappointed. Our standard, garden view room, (225) was spacious, a comfortable bed, spotlessly clean and the free wifi was very convenient. On this stay we had dinner in both the restaurant, and in the Bar, the food was excellent. Nice atmosphere in the bar too. Breakfast was first class, with a quality range of fresh fruit, cereals, yogurts, smoked salmon, bacon, sausage, eggs etc......The staff were very welcoming, friendly, helpful, professional and attentive throughout. The hotel is situated right next to the beautiful beach which is great for a walk in all weathers :-) A short 5 minute drive to the local train stop makes access to Dublin City centre very convenient. We look forward to staying at the Portmarnock Hotel again soon.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellight13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redditch
Level Contributor
99 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

I hadn't been to this hotel for about 12 months, although my wife visits her family in Dublin quite often and always stays here,
The hotel had been re-furbed since my last visit and it was done with taste, and no short cuts in furniture and decoration etc.
Quite a few of the staff have been there for a while now, and with that comes continuity of service and some useful knowledge about the area.
Breakfast and dinner were both excellent, in fact the family dinner we had was one of the best I've had in a long time.The service for both was excellent, and done with a certain amount of humour, and a great deal of care.
Still the best and most relaxing hotel in Ireland and like going to see an old friend!!

Room Tip: try and get a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlloyd01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larne; Co Antrim
Level Contributor
74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

A friend and I stayed in this hotel in July and it was everything you could ask for from a relaxing break (it did help that the weather was good). The staff in the hotel were extremely helpful and friendly, the room was spacious and clean a very comfortable bed and a lovely view over the sea. It was only a short walk down to the beach and the beach itself was unspoilt, clean and easy to walk on. I would certainly consider re-visiting the hotel when in need of a place to relax.

Room Tip: I booked for a room with a sea view....it was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portmarnock
1.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Malahide
Grand Hotel Malahide
#1 of 2 in Malahide
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,466 reviews
0.4 mi away
White Sands Hotel
White Sands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Portmarnock
3.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
5.6 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#4 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hilton Dublin Airport Hotel
7.1 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,347 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links

Property: Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links
Address: Strand Road, Portmarnock, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Portmarnock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Portmarnock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portmarnock Hotel & Golf Links...where nothing is overlooked but the sea. Luxury 4-star golf resort hotel overlooking the Irish Sea. Just 15 minutes from Dublin Airport, nestled between the picturesque, seaside villages of Malahide and Howth and 40 minutes from Dublin city centre. The hotel combines modern elegance with the grandeur of a 19th century home once owned by members of the Jameson Whiskey dynasty. Behind these elegant facades lie state of the art conference & meeting facilities designed to serve your every need. The hotel's clever design ensures all 138-guest rooms have a view of the seaside, garden or golf course. Top 100 rated Links Golf Course - 18 hole championship links designed by Bernard Langer (the only Dublin based hotel with its own links course). Complimentary WiFi/Internet access throughout the hotel, complimentary parking, direct beach access, bar, cocktail lounge, restaurant, fitness room & treatment rooms/beauty salon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portmarnock Hotel Links
Links Hotel Portmarnock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing