We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Long time coming..but worth the wait”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Portmarnock
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
96 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Long time coming..but worth the wait”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Waited a long time before we could arrange a game of golf on this course. Fantastic views and good links course even with all the sun the course was not burned. The starter was friendly and helpful, gave us a few tips before teeing up. Now for the 19th...!! The restaurant / bar was busy with a wedding party in the place but the French manager found us a table...the meal we had was from the bar and was as tasty to some restaurants i had dined in. Really helpful staff and my friends enjoyed the well pulled Guinness....over all a good day was long time coming but worth the wait..will return hopefully in 2014.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raymondmccaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    621
    340
    116
    42
    32
See reviews for
231
508
41
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Have stayed at this hotel many times and it never disappoints. The location is wonderful. The buffet style breakfast is one of the best I have ever experienced. We had dinner as part of our package and the meal was delicious. I really can't fault Portmarnock and hope to spend many more breaks there.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J2567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
227 reviews
153 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

This hotel is located in a nice suburb of Dublin at a golf course. That is also the reason for most guests to stay here.
I had business at the airport and like to play golf. So, for me a good combination.
The hotel is good. Rooms are convenient and spacious, although mine, 210, had a very noisy fan in the bathroom, which you could hear throughout the room. Very comfortable beds. Nice view towards the sea.
Food in the bar and restaurant is of 'island quality'; the sole is tasteless and the cheesecake is purple...
Breakfast is very good with a wide variety of choice. Sometimes the natural yogurt may run out.
Restaurant staff is friendly. Bar staff is not as friendly as you would encounter in any other Irish pub. Reception staff never bothered to say hello when you passed by.

I expected a lot from the links golf course, but was disappointed. Fairways are not maintained well, and I missed the real links experience.

Tip: halfway hole 1 make sure to check the graveyard of the Jameson family.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simonsmidt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortmarnockHotelGolf, Guest Relations at Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and golf course, we always appreciate our guests feedback.

We were disappointed to hear that on this occasion we did not meet with your expectations. In relation to the fan in the bathroom which you could hear throughout the room, we apologise for this noise but advise that this can be manually turned off so as not to disturb the guest.

The course management have advised that due to the unusually dry summer and in spite of irrigation, the lack of rainfall has caused the fairways to become stressed in certain areas and we apologise that it detracted from your enjoyment of the course.

We hope that we can welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

We found this resort on Trip Advisor & were drawn in by the picture on their website. Let's say, it exceeded our expectations! The location was only a short drive north of Dublin & provided a much need reprieve from the crowds of Dublin. The staff was extremely friendly & our room was modern, bright & large for European standards. Extremely, comfortable. We stayed two nights and were not ready to leave. We purchased their breakfast & dinner pkg., which was a great value. The breakfast was a full buffet and we could choose any items from dinner entree, including dessert. The salmon was delicious! Also, had a cozy bar, where you could order light menu & enjoy an evening Guinness! There was a walking path to the beach, which was gorgeous to walk along. Unfortunately, we were unable to golf, but the course was beautiful & rates were reasonable. Would definitely return!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dkinmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Beautiful location! Hotel really good with extremely helpful staff. Room tastefully decorated and very clean. Will definitely return sometime in the future.Great seafood restaurants in Howth a couple of miles down the road and a super quirky little town called Malahide a couple of miles down the road in the opposite direction.

Room Tip: Let receptionAknow if you have any mobility problems as corridors can be quite long and have little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aud730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed here for two nights at a weekend in July for a family event. The room was in the newer part of the hotel with a wonderful view of the golf course.It was very comfortable, bright and clean. We really enjoyed the atmosphere in the bar which had live music. The staff were friendly and very helpful especially at the bar and at breakfast in the morning.The hotel is located on a golf course in close proximity to Portmarnock beach so was ideally situated for nice long walks.

Room Tip: Request a room on the new wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Our 4 day stay here was wonderful. A great hotel between 2 towns Malahide and Howth. The shopping in Malahide was boutiques etc...and very nice. The Seaside fishing town of Howth was the best seafood we have ever had in our life. Freshly caught right off the coast.

The hotel itself was quite nice. Very comfortable and a fabulous true Irish Breakfast. The golf was amazing but the Spa a bit "tired".

We would go back.

Room Tip: Ask to face the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brigid B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portmarnock
1.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Malahide
Grand Hotel Malahide
#1 of 2 in Malahide
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,468 reviews
0.4 mi away
White Sands Hotel
White Sands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Portmarnock
3.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
5.6 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#4 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hilton Dublin Airport Hotel
7.1 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,356 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links

Property: Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links
Address: Strand Road, Portmarnock, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Portmarnock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Portmarnock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portmarnock Hotel & Golf Links...where nothing is overlooked but the sea. Luxury 4-star golf resort hotel overlooking the Irish Sea. Just 15 minutes from Dublin Airport, nestled between the picturesque, seaside villages of Malahide and Howth and 40 minutes from Dublin city centre. The hotel combines modern elegance with the grandeur of a 19th century home once owned by members of the Jameson Whiskey dynasty. Behind these elegant facades lie state of the art conference & meeting facilities designed to serve your every need. The hotel's clever design ensures all 138-guest rooms have a view of the seaside, garden or golf course. Top 100 rated Links Golf Course - 18 hole championship links designed by Bernard Langer (the only Dublin based hotel with its own links course). Complimentary WiFi/Internet access throughout the hotel, complimentary parking, direct beach access, bar, cocktail lounge, restaurant, fitness room & treatment rooms/beauty salon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portmarnock Hotel Links
Links Hotel Portmarnock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing