We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good golf place to stay with some minor issues.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Portmarnock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 21, 2013

This hotel is located in a nice suburb of Dublin at a golf course. That is also the reason for most guests to stay here.
I had business at the airport and like to play golf. So, for me a good combination.
The hotel is good. Rooms are convenient and spacious, although mine, 210, had a very noisy fan in the bathroom, which you could hear throughout the room. Very comfortable beds. Nice view towards the sea.
Food in the bar and restaurant is of 'island quality'; the sole is tasteless and the cheesecake is purple...
Breakfast is very good with a wide variety of choice. Sometimes the natural yogurt may run out.
Restaurant staff is friendly. Bar staff is not as friendly as you would encounter in any other Irish pub. Reception staff never bothered to say hello when you passed by.

I expected a lot from the links golf course, but was disappointed. Fairways are not maintained well, and I missed the real links experience.

Tip: halfway hole 1 make sure to check the graveyard of the Jameson family.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simonsmidt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortmarnockHotelGolf, Guest Relations at Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and golf course, we always appreciate our guests feedback.

We were disappointed to hear that on this occasion we did not meet with your expectations. In relation to the fan in the bathroom which you could hear throughout the room, we apologise for this noise but advise that this can be manually turned off so as not to disturb the guest.

The course management have advised that due to the unusually dry summer and in spite of irrigation, the lack of rainfall has caused the fairways to become stressed in certain areas and we apologise that it detracted from your enjoyment of the course.

We hope that we can welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,226)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

669 - 675 of 1,226 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2013

We found this resort on Trip Advisor & were drawn in by the picture on their website. Let's say, it exceeded our expectations! The location was only a short drive north of Dublin & provided a much need reprieve from the crowds of Dublin. The staff was extremely friendly & our room was modern, bright & large for European standards. Extremely, comfortable. We stayed two nights and were not ready to leave. We purchased their breakfast & dinner pkg., which was a great value. The breakfast was a full buffet and we could choose any items from dinner entree, including dessert. The salmon was delicious! Also, had a cozy bar, where you could order light menu & enjoy an evening Guinness! There was a walking path to the beach, which was gorgeous to walk along. Unfortunately, we were unable to golf, but the course was beautiful & rates were reasonable. Would definitely return!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dkinmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Beautiful location! Hotel really good with extremely helpful staff. Room tastefully decorated and very clean. Will definitely return sometime in the future.Great seafood restaurants in Howth a couple of miles down the road and a super quirky little town called Malahide a couple of miles down the road in the opposite direction.

Room Tip: Let receptionAknow if you have any mobility problems as corridors can be quite long and have little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aud730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed here for two nights at a weekend in July for a family event. The room was in the newer part of the hotel with a wonderful view of the golf course.It was very comfortable, bright and clean. We really enjoyed the atmosphere in the bar which had live music. The staff were friendly and very helpful especially at the bar and at breakfast in the morning.The hotel is located on a golf course in close proximity to Portmarnock beach so was ideally situated for nice long walks.

Room Tip: Request a room on the new wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Our 4 day stay here was wonderful. A great hotel between 2 towns Malahide and Howth. The shopping in Malahide was boutiques etc...and very nice. The Seaside fishing town of Howth was the best seafood we have ever had in our life. Freshly caught right off the coast.

The hotel itself was quite nice. Very comfortable and a fabulous true Irish Breakfast. The golf was amazing but the Spa a bit "tired".

We would go back.

Room Tip: Ask to face the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brigid B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

This hotel is in a lovely location right on the beach in Portmarnock. We live nearby and have always recommended it to friends coming to Ireland for a game of golf. We regularly go to the Cocktail Bar (just behind reception) for lunch at least twice a month throughout the year.

The hotel has refurbished this bar and changed the menu which is not cheap. Before the refurbishment they had a really nice menu. A lovely crab and pear salad - light and fresh. But no more. My son used to love the chicken goujons and hot salty fat chips which we ordered on our recent visit. What arrived was awful - thick breaded pieces of chicken with thin fries that were cold and obviously reheated. The waiter agreed they were awful and said that they had run out of the usual ones. He offered to replace with grilled chicken and then brought out a roast chicken dinner that belonged to someone else. Finally reheated fries arrived with a breast of chicken which was truly awful.

We ordered our son two scoops of ice cream - strawberry and chocolate. When it arrived it was vanilla and strawberry - I informed the waitress of the error and she took it away making a face to her friend who was sitting nearby.

There used to be a manager in this bar called Guido who seemed to make the place run smoothly, ironing over the cracks and fixing any problems with great humour. But today it just seemed like there was nobody in charge.

This place is not cheap - a regular sized cappuccino from an automatic machine (not a barista in sight) is €3.80!

Finally our bill stated that we had 3 glasses of wine when we only had 2. Why are the errors never in the customers favour??

We will definitely think again before returning.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank MerryC_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortmarnockHotelGolf, Guest Relations at Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear MerryC,

Thank you for taking the time to review us here on trip advisor, we always appreciate our guests feedback.

We were truly disappointed to read that on this occasion we failed to meet with your expectations. The Seaview Lounge menu was changed following constructive feedback from guests and some of the dishes that you highlighted were removed due to lack of popularity, however we do thank you for your comments as it is the only way we can improve our overall service.

We hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The rooms are great, service very good.
The restaurants leave a bit to your imagination
Ordinary food, not well explained as to how they are cooking your selection.
JamesonnTavern is the culprit here.
Spa was great

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pecosbill12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portmarnock
1.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Malahide
Grand Hotel Malahide
#1 of 2 in Malahide
1,610 reviews
0.4 mi away
White Sands Hotel
White Sands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Portmarnock
365 reviews
5.6 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 150 in Dublin
4,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 150 in Dublin
4,609 reviews
2.9 mi away
Marine Hotel
Marine Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sutton Cross
571 reviews
5.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dublin Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links

Address: Strand Road, Portmarnock, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Portmarnock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Portmarnock
Price Range: $137 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portmarnock Hotel & Golf Links...where nothing is overlooked but the sea. Luxury 4-star golf resort hotel overlooking the Irish Sea. Just 15 minutes from Dublin Airport, nestled between the picturesque, seaside villages of Malahide and Howth and 40 minutes from Dublin city centre. The hotel combines modern elegance with the grandeur of a 19th century home once owned by members of the Jameson Whiskey dynasty. Behind these elegant facades lie state of the art conference & meeting facilities designed to serve your every need. The hotel's clever design ensures all 138-guest rooms have a view of the seaside, garden or golf course. Top 100 rated Links Golf Course - 18 hole championship links designed by Bernard Langer (the only Dublin based hotel with its own links course). Complimentary WiFi/Internet access throughout the hotel, complimentary parking, direct beach access, bar, cocktail lounge, restaurant, fitness room & treatment rooms/beauty salon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portmarnock Hotel Links
Links Hotel Portmarnock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing