We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel and top staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Portmarnock
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel and top staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Went to hotel for my sons wedding and have to say it was fabulous staff were absolutely brilliant very helpful and friendly especially Guido who was always on hand and charming and courteous, all the staff were superb and I can't rate the food high enough, definitely going back there in the future even though the Irish football team were at the hotel at the same time we were treated exactly the same, it was a great setting for the wedding reception and the weather was perfect and everyone commented how good the hotel was.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank adavies32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    604
    331
    114
    42
    30
See reviews for
221
496
39
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

I would just like to say I stayed here this past weekend ,May2013,And have to say the Hotel is Of Very High Standards with Breathtaking scenary !!! ,Staff were tremendous ,cudnt have been nicer and very helpful ,I felt treated like a Queen ! The Food was more than excellent ,superb !! congratulations to chef/chefs ,and I think the seaviews and the people staying in it were very mannerly and classey people !!! The new purple area and refurbished parts were absolutely fabulous to sit in everyone was so friendly and welcoming ,I coulve stayed on ,rooms were spotlessly clean and totally recommend anyone try this Hotel !!! You Wont BE Disappointed I Promise ...I hope to see this Hotel noticed more for its Quality and High Standards ,,,Would like to thank staff and management for their kindness manners ,and standards .Barbara ,Co,Antrim ,N.Ireland ,,xx

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barbara0203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

A very nice hotel made into an extremely good hotel by the quality of its staff. Unfailingly courteous at all times. Generally one can expect to meet 2 or 3 exceptional members of staff but on this trip I found everyone to be of a similar 5 star quality.
The location is lovely with a lovely beach and fantastic golf courses with both Dublin and Malahide within easy reach.
If I had to be picky I would say the quality of the bathroom lighting was poor.

Room Tip: Outward facing rooms are better than courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

Sorry for the late review we stayed here in January on a groupon deal and it was well worth the visit! Hotel is very nice and staff were great! Pub grub menu was nicer than the fancier restaurant! What sold it for me was the locaation malahide is a taxi away around 10 euro at nite and it has some beautiful bars pubs and restaurants eşp the Mexican on the waterfront! Also very easy to get into Dublin city centre! Overall lovely stay

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daytripper179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saintfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We were a party of 14 golfers on an away weekend and were more concerned about the golf links than the hotel, as we spent more time on the course and in the bar than in the rooms! However, the rooms were comfortable and spacious enough and I slept well, no doubt aided by a fair share of Dublin's finest brews. The breakfast was substantial and set us up well for a round on the links. The staff were courteous and helpful and went out of their way to please.
The meals in the Jameson bar were very reasonably priced and the portions were generous, putting a good base down for the evening ahead.
A special mention must go to the golf links. It was a pleasure to play with good fairways and fast greens and some lovely views over the sea.. Thanks to the greenkeeping staff.
We had a great time and would definitely stay there again. An ideal venue for golfers as you walk out of the hotel straight onto the golf course.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gambolie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comber, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

This is my 2nd time back to the hotel we stayed Friday to Sunday on a weekend golfing trip, the service was first class and a special mention goes to Staff member Connor who was friendly and exceptional in customer service he made us feel very welcome. The food was excellent and the rooms were very clean and modern. Will definatley be back top class!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gavc335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Would certainly stay again as was a lovely location near to beach, staff were very good and a nice breakfast.
The bedroom was a feeling a little scruffy (room 120) with a very poor shower with zero pressure (in bath which I hate), towel rail that fell off and very poor & old lighting that was certainly not put in by someone who needs to shave as you couldn't see anything.
The hotel was a little noisy on both nights (Fri & Sat) as we were woken in the early hours by not particularly loud conversations and doors shutting in the corridor as the acoustics of the front door were useless.

Room Tip: Sea view very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Falstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortmarnockHotelGolf, Guest Relations at Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We take on board all of our guests constructive feedback. We are surprised to hear that you had a complaint about your accommodation here at Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links. The hotel over the past year has had a multi-million euro refurbishment overhaul, which included the Seaview Lounge, the reception area and all of our bedrooms. We were most disappointed that you were unhappy about the bedrooms.

We hope that you will join us again in the near future,

Kindest Regards,

The Management at Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portmarnock
1.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Malahide
Grand Hotel Malahide
#1 of 2 in Malahide
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,446 reviews
0.5 mi away
White Sands Hotel
White Sands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Portmarnock
3.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
5.5 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#4 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
King Sitric
King Sitric
#1 of 3 in Howth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hilton Dublin Airport Hotel
7.1 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links

Property: Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links
Address: Strand Road, Portmarnock, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Portmarnock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Portmarnock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portmarnock Hotel & Golf Links...where nothing is overlooked but the sea. Luxury 4-star golf resort hotel overlooking the Irish Sea. Just 15 minutes from Dublin Airport, nestled between the picturesque, seaside villages of Malahide and Howth and 40 minutes from Dublin city centre. The hotel combines modern elegance with the grandeur of a 19th century home once owned by members of the Jameson Whiskey dynasty. Behind these elegant facades lie state of the art conference & meeting facilities designed to serve your every need. The hotel's clever design ensures all 138-guest rooms have a view of the seaside, garden or golf course. Top 100 rated Links Golf Course - 18 hole championship links designed by Bernard Langer (the only Dublin based hotel with its own links course). Complimentary WiFi/Internet access throughout the hotel, complimentary parking, direct beach access, bar, cocktail lounge, restaurant, fitness room & treatment rooms/beauty salon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portmarnock Hotel Links
Links Hotel Portmarnock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing