We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing end to a wonderful weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Portmarnock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We were down visiting some friends in Dublin and decided we'd stay here for a night before travelling back home. I had emailed the hotel when I had booked to say we were looking forward to staying and celebrating our engagement but unfortunately nobody emailed us to acknowledge it had been received.
We were checked in by Robert who was very friendly and approachable. Our room was out of this world: For a standard double it definitely looked like a deluxe room with a stunning view of the sea and Ireland's Eye.
The restaurant didn't really suit us and it seemed to be busy with a family party; one negative is that our room was on the other side of the restaurant and to get through reception we had to pass by this and it felt very awkward; especially when we weren't exactly dressed to suit the attire of the restaurant.
The room unfortunately at night was stuffy despite the temperature setting in the room being at a minimum.
Breakfast was a little on the pricey side (we had got this info from the website, we weren't told about breakfast on check-in) so we decided against it. We checked out the following morning with Rachel, who said "congratulations" just as we were leaving which was the only way I knew they had got my email.

Despite all this we had a lovely stay and would consider going back again.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room on check in
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bubblyangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,214)
There are newer reviews for Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

747 - 753 of 1,214 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2013

Just back from another break at Portmarnock Golf Hotel with it's very comfy foyer to relax in, sea views from cocktail lounge and buzzing Jameson Bar. The bedrooms are spotless, cosy - with sky sports too - for the men, and lovely decor, our views over the 1st golf tee kept us at the windows when in the room. All the staff at this Hotel deserve credit for being so helpful and attentive to guests, breakfast at this Hotel is excellent with an endless selection to please everyone, staff here work so hard as breakfast served from about 7.30 to 11am at weekends, with many guests leaving it to almost 11 to dine, it can get busy around then and you may have some waiting time so get down by 10am. The 2 or 3 course Restaurant menu which is always great and comes with bread basket and coffee included is just as cheap as you'll pay in the Bar, there was a special 4 course Valentine menu running when We stayed and this menu could only be described as 'Michelin Star' food, an identical menu would have cost 2 or 3 times as much in top Dublin or Belfast Restaurants. This is wonderful Hotel in great location on coast road between lovely Malahide bursting with their pretty shops and Marina, to the great fishing mecca of Howth which was packed on Sunday lunchtime and no wonder with the selection of Fish Restaurants and Fish Shops you will find here and the smells from the 'mini continental market' were yummy. Hotel is also a good base to pop into Dublin City centre quickly and very cheaply via bus (right outside Hotel) or Dart train close by. With blue skies and sunshine this Valentine weekend, everyone was out walking on the lovely coastal pathways around the Portmarnock Hotel and We certainly will be returning again and again..

Room Tip: All rooms are good, but staff will do their best to offer 'Sea view or Golf course view' if...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kate_oct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for just one night on a really good voucher offer. Did not expect to get what we got for our money! On arrival we were greeted by a very friendly receptionist who checked us in very promptly. Our room was warm, spotlessly clean with a very large and comfortable bed. The real jewel in the crown was a beautiful seaview to greet us upon waking. We spent the evening in the Jameson Bar where we had a very substantial snack which was delicious and well priced. There was a great buzz around the bar and live music to entertain us. Our breakfast was one of the best with a huge selection to choose from. No complaints, looking forward to spending more time here in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 215deirdre1215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed in this hotel in Dec 12 and we were so impressed we went back in Jan 13 with family.
This hotel is about a 90 min drive from Belfast and about 15 mins from Dublin city cntr, The hotel has recently been renovated, When we first arrived we were greeted by very friendly reception staff in a bright bang up to date foyer. First impressions do last, we then went to our room which was spotless, modern, spacious, large flat screen TV and the icing on the cake an unspoiled view of the beach.
We ate in the hotel's restaurant on the first evening, the food was excellent and good value. The next morning we were treated to a good varied breakfast buffet and again the staff couldn't be more friendly or helpful. All in all one of the best hotels we'v had the pleasure to stay in.

Room Tip: For the little extra try to book a room with a SEAVIEW well worth the extra.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank desmondwoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I stayed here for one night some years ago and always intended to return with the family. An offer on the Telegraph website saw us spending three nights here in 2 adjacent rooms. The offer was for garden facing rooms but the team at the hotel kindly switched us to sea facing given that those views were my main memory!

Arrived late after touring the Wicklows and check in was friendly and efficient. Needless to say the rooms have seen some renovations since my last stay but remain impressive. Clean and well furnished with arm chairs to enjoy the views out to sea.

Ate in the Jameson bar on our first night. Food was fine if perhaps slightly pricey. Service very good. The remainder of our time we ate either in Dublin or Malahide but breakfast each morning was also very good. Comprehensive buffet and a special mention for the scrambled eggs - the best I have tasted!

Hotel is well located. Although we had a hire car, we didnt use it for two of the days - the bus stops outside the hotel every hour and goes straight to the centre of Dublin where the Guinness awaits. The Dart is also worth looking at - same price and faster and stops at Portmarnock and Malahide. Malahide is a 25 min walk along the seashore and has a big choice of restaurants etc.

Really enjoyed the return stay. Why not 5 stars? Well the obvious ommission for a hotel like this is a swimming pool. Also, although the bathrooms had been refurbished really nicely, the old baths seem to have been left in place and they are both narrow and rather odd looking compared to the rest of the room. Finally, I do think we should have had a new set of soaps and shampoos each day (and biscuits would be nice!) but there seems to be a bit of cost cutting here! Biggest issue was the poor weather - but the hotel cant help that!

Summary - clean modern and luxurious, nice friendly staff, great location, loads of parking, fantastic scrambled eggs and those views. Hope to return again soon.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 911prentonpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We spent our honeymoon traveling around Ireland and wanted to have a hotel somewhat near the airport for our flight out the next morning. The hotel and grounds are beautiful! As much as we would have loved to golf their course, it was cold and rainy and we didn't have our clubs with us. There is no public beach access from the hotel property, but there is access within walking distance.
We were given a beach view room and it was amazing!! The bed was very comfortable and it was nice and quiet. The bathroom was basic but updated and very nice. We had dinner in the lounge and it had a beautiful view. My husband and I each had a massage in the spa and enjoyed it immensely.
Next time, we will definitely plan on staying here longer and hope to play a round or two of golf. I have to say, I think that of all of the amazing places that we stayed at while in Ireland, this was by far my favorite!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aquababy78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stay at this hotel regularly and it never fails to disappoint. Our room was beautiful as usual with lovely views over the golf course and sea. The rooms are very tastefully furnished and spotlessly clean. In fact our room is due to be freshened up this week yet it was lovely for our stay.
As stated previously, we stay here quite often but try not to stay on a Friday/ Saturday night due to a previous noisy night we endured with a very inconsiderate, loud and drunk wedding guest. At the time the manager dealt with things very well. This time we did stay over a Friday/ Saturday night an it was fabulous (however there was no wedding on!!!).
There is much to do in this area and the staff are very knowledgable and helpful and not intrusive in the slightest. Rachel and Angelika on reception are to be commended on their customer service and we thank them for making our stay so pleasant, and the bar staff are also attentive in an often very busy cocktail bar. In the years that ŵe have been staying here most of the staff have remained the same, which I think is good. It is so nice to see familiar faces when we visit.

Room Tip: Go for a deluxe room for the views and if there is a wedding on ask for a quiet room.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HollyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portmarnock
1.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Malahide
Grand Hotel Malahide
#1 of 2 in Malahide
1,593 reviews
0.4 mi away
White Sands Hotel
White Sands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Portmarnock
362 reviews
5.6 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 150 in Dublin
4,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Marine Hotel
Marine Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sutton Cross
565 reviews
4.3 mi away
Premier Inn Dublin Airport Hotel
7.1 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 150 in Dublin
4,588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links

Address: Strand Road, Portmarnock, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Portmarnock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Portmarnock
Price Range: $141 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portmarnock Hotel & Golf Links...where nothing is overlooked but the sea. Luxury 4-star golf resort hotel overlooking the Irish Sea. Just 15 minutes from Dublin Airport, nestled between the picturesque, seaside villages of Malahide and Howth and 40 minutes from Dublin city centre. The hotel combines modern elegance with the grandeur of a 19th century home once owned by members of the Jameson Whiskey dynasty. Behind these elegant facades lie state of the art conference & meeting facilities designed to serve your every need. The hotel's clever design ensures all 138-guest rooms have a view of the seaside, garden or golf course. Top 100 rated Links Golf Course - 18 hole championship links designed by Bernard Langer (the only Dublin based hotel with its own links course). Complimentary WiFi/Internet access throughout the hotel, complimentary parking, direct beach access, bar, cocktail lounge, restaurant, fitness room & treatment rooms/beauty salon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portmarnock Hotel Links
Links Hotel Portmarnock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing