We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“30th Birthday Holiday Treat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Portmarnock
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“30th Birthday Holiday Treat”
Reviewed December 21, 2011

We stayed (me and hubby) at The Portmarnock hotel golf and Spa Dublin,from 18th-21st Dec 2011 for my husbands 30th birthday using a GroupOn offer and were very impressed with the stay.
Hotel; definitely a 4 star hotel, very clean, comfortable, very helpful receptionists. Positioned on the coast with amazing views across the bay.
Room; Deluxe Room was very clean, nice size, panoramic view of the coast and golf course
Staff; very friendly and helpful ensured we had everything we needed.
Breakfast was lovely, usual buffet food was a very high standard and hot breakfast was well cooked and well presented.
We sat next to Giovanni Trappotoni at breakfast so you know that it's an exclusive hotel!!!
Small amount of renovation work going on round the side of the hotel breakfast area but unless you purposely go looking for it, you'll not know its going on.
Hotel's proximity to Dublin; approx 45 mins by bus 32a, 32b from outside the hotel which cost approx £2 each. Taxi will cost £20 from hotel to city centre. All taxi drivers are very friendly and into their football.
Dublin city centre itself is a spacious city with lots of beautiful, quaint restaurants/cafe and pubs but it is also extremely expensive!!!! We walked the entire Dublin Tour bus route on foot and can honestly say this is the best way to get around and see everything. Best place for eating is Graffton Street or Temple Bar area check out Davy Byrnes restaurant in Temple bar and Queen of Tarts cafe opposite Dublin Castle.
Definitely worth doing the Guinness Tour, does get a bit boring towards the end but keep hold of your tickets and this will entitle you to a free pint of Guinness which you can pour yourself. Worth going to the top floor for panoramic views of Dublin.
Malahide is worth the 45 min walk along the coast from the Portmarnock Hotel and is an excellent place for food and drink if you want to stay close to the hotel. Cab will cost you approx £8 from hotel to Malahide if you dont want to walk. Check out Duffys pub-very nice, friendly atmos or for a high end meal check out HUSH restaurant in Malahide.
Howth is approx 20 mins away by Taxi, you cannot really walk there. Taxi costs around £15 from the Hotel to Howth. Howth is a nice LITTLE village but not much to do there. Nice pub up the hill in Howth village called The Abbey Tavern-log fires, nice friendly atmos, good food. The House cafe is also very nice but apart from that there is very little to do there other than site seeing. If you do travel to Howth be sure to walk out to the lighthouse as you are likely to see some seals.
If you are thinking of travelling to Dublin it is worth reading Jame Joyces' 'Dubliners' book first as it is a quick read and you'll be able to make a lot of references to many places within the book.

Room Tip: Ask for a deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank no1chocoholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    632
    345
    118
    42
    34
See reviews for
234
517
40
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
redditch
Level Contributor
99 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2011

lovely room,lovely staff, great bar, great restaurant.
I would always try this hotel first!!

Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank mlloyd01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2011

Excellent from start to finish. Reception staff very friendly and helpful and nothing too much trouble. Deluxe room was superb with great views of golf course. Our evening meal was top class and the breakfast one of the best we have had in a long time. 10 out of 10.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlianoIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Wicklow
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2011

Stayed here for one night Groupon Deal in Oct 2011. Perfect, lovely relaxing break. Bottle of Prosecco on arrival was very nice, room was surprisingly very modern and plush, immaculate. Would definately go back again. We stayed midweek so hotel bar and restaurant was very quiet so we ate out in Malahide which is 5 min away in Taxi. We were too hung over to get up for breakfast, but we did stay for lunch in the cocktail bar, I just had chicken salad sandwich but it was lovely, came with salad and crisps. My partner had the fish and chips in beer batter which was gorgeous. My only downside would be that this area is more like an eating area, so the name cocktail bar is misleading.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alimac2345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2011

Stayed early December on a groupon deal and we thoroughly enjoyed our visit.
Room, food and staff were excellent and i would recommend this hotel to others - something I rarely do.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner delux
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ballyclare
Level Contributor
86 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2011

S\tayed here 6 weeks ago 2 nights b and b groupon deal and whilstb there were lots of plus points wonderful beach nice breakfasts spacious room etc we were left rather disappointed overall The deal speciified wine on arrival this never appeared in our room and to our dismay the spa was closed for the 2 days of our stay and we werent informed of this at time of direct booking Lastly refurbishment was taking place and we had scaffolding erected adjacent to out window and the usual refurb noises I did write to the manager to point out these minor criticisms and was suprised to receive no reply In our customers view its summarised like the school report top half of the class but with effort could do so much better

Room Tip: sea view rooms exceptional outlook
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sonoftc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2011

Got the chance to stay at Portmarnock Hotel & Golf Links on a Groupon deal. Part of the deal was staying in one of their Delux rooms looking over golf course. The room was top dollar. Have stayed far east hotels where they say cater for American Austrailian market but this room was much nicer than any rooms experienced.
Tiled floor on entry, carpet under bed and wooden floor sitting area...so clean. Clear fridge in room which was handy!!. Seperate shower and bath was nice. There was a bit of renovation work on 2nd floor meant detour to room but apart from that Hotel perfect rooms.
Start of Xmas season, dined both nights in hotel, not fancy dining so cant complain for time of year, but found reasonable value.
Things to do on a relaxing weekend. Take the walk into Malahide (about 45 mins along shore line) Beautiful walk and we got great weather cool but dry and sunny. Portmarnock beach looked superb.

Room Tip: Go for a delux room over looking golf course. (some delux rooms look into hotel ask for a room overl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portmarnock
1.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Malahide
Grand Hotel Malahide
#1 of 2 in Malahide
1,509 reviews
0.4 mi away
White Sands Hotel
White Sands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Portmarnock
352 reviews
5.6 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
3,811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Premier Inn Dublin Airport Hotel
5.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dublin Airport
7.5 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links

Property: Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links
Address: Strand Road, Portmarnock, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Portmarnock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Portmarnock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portmarnock Hotel & Golf Links...where nothing is overlooked but the sea. Luxury 4-star golf resort hotel overlooking the Irish Sea. Just 15 minutes from Dublin Airport, nestled between the picturesque, seaside villages of Malahide and Howth and 40 minutes from Dublin city centre. The hotel combines modern elegance with the grandeur of a 19th century home once owned by members of the Jameson Whiskey dynasty. Behind these elegant facades lie state of the art conference & meeting facilities designed to serve your every need. The hotel's clever design ensures all 138-guest rooms have a view of the seaside, garden or golf course. Top 100 rated Links Golf Course - 18 hole championship links designed by Bernard Langer (the only Dublin based hotel with its own links course). Complimentary WiFi/Internet access throughout the hotel, complimentary parking, direct beach access, bar, cocktail lounge, restaurant, fitness room & treatment rooms/beauty salon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portmarnock Hotel Links
Links Hotel Portmarnock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing