We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Glad we stayed at the WHITESANDS HOTEL”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of White Sands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
White Sands Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Portmarnock
belfast
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Glad we stayed at the WHITESANDS HOTEL”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed at he Whitesands Hotel on Friday night, I have to say that the weather certainly helped make our stay one to remember. We were greeted by a lovely lady at reception who couldn't be more helpful. We weren't sure whether to eat in the hotel's restaurant or try another one in the town, but since we had a few drinks we decided to book a table in the hotel's restaurant. Glad we did the steaks were delicious, service great and a view that would be hard to beat overlooking Portmarnock beach. The room was comfortable and clean a bit dated, most hotels have updated with flat screen TVs but having said that would still recommend this hotel, the entertainment in the bar that night was better than average COLM LYNCH great singer song writer. Will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We had room 205 nothing special but was compensated with a sea view we would book this one again no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank desmondwoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    121
    72
    35
    52
See reviews for
82
139
14
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

The staff were so professional and very helpful, BUT the hotel it'self inside (bedrooms) is a knockback to years gone by, they are small and very very basic, a 1 night stay over but not a choice for extended ....... the shower in my room sprayed the whole bathroom even though it was directed to me !!!!! it soaked the whole area, the SEA VIEW was though a window encrusted with sea mist / salt, and it was serviced by a 12" mini opening latch at the bottom allowing a "clear sea view", what I payed for would have given me superior locally but I chose from the reviews of others !!!!! Never Ever again would I stop over at this "hotel"........ think twice, once booked be prepared.

Room Tip: Don't bother, chose elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happy45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Portmarnock hotels

Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

I am just home after a two night stay at the White Sands required,for work in Portmarnock. From the initial phone call to book the reservation, to the check out, the staff were excellent.
No messing around with room rates, rooms, extras, etc. etc. The food in the Oasis bar was excellent, and fast to the table. All the Bar staff were friendly and polite each evening.
The room was adequate for the purpose of a working trip, however with the availability of the Wi-Fi on the second floor lobby (looking out over the sea) created a pleasant working environment.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coolehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockport
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights. Its not far from Dublin airport and is great for travelling to surrounding areas. The room was very clean and comfortable. No noise disturbance at night. We ate and drank at the hotel which was good value for money with a friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magscat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights and disagree with some of the comments made by some previous visitors. We stayed on the second floor and our room was okay. Bed linen was clean and room tidy and clean with fresh towels everyday. There were a few bits that would have improved the look, some quick repairs, lampshade not fitted properly and bit of wallpaper coming off the wall which wouldn't take long to fix. should have mentioned to staff the sensored light in the doorway is a nightmare as if you get up in the night to go the loo the bedroom lights up like blackpool illuminations not good in the middle of the night which made be very tired and grumpy.

Some idiot has blocked the fire alarm on the ceiling and i mentioned it to reception twice and someone cam and removed the paper. Not the hotels fault but maybe they should have seen it but request dealt with eventually.

The TV was an old set and the casing was broken which doesn't look very good and if you are trying to make an impression you need to change it but we were still able to watch although variety of channels rubbish.

The hotel can be a bit noisy as we found but not from the nightclub but from people who slam doors in the early hours of the morning or have phone conversations in the corridors which is very rude to other people (aslo what we thought was the fire alarm when it went about 2.30am in the morning which had us looking for our coats but then it stoppped) found out next morning that it was a door alarm but we didn't know this.

We did book in January and weren't given room near friends even though the rooms booked together we weren't even on the same floor and reception really not that bothered just told us they were busy and the hotel was "full", will check that if we book somewhere else as naturally assumed if we booked 2 room they would be near each other.

Breakfast okay and the one waiter in the room was a very busy man, very polite and helpful and although the breakfast was a help yourself it was hot and didn't go hungry.

The location is easy to find and lovely views across the bay. We had a car and used the hotel as a base to visit the surrounding area and we didn't use the restaurant.

I would use the hotel again and think for the price we paid was good value for money

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiverpoolIra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portadown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

my wife and i had a great stay at this hotel which is close to dublin but not in the city.staff very friendly,food in restaurant was excellent.gd atmosphere in the hotel bar which is very nice.local dart station is 30 minutes walk from hotel.we will return to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank id2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

On a weekend break to Dublin...We arrived at this hotel late friday night, it was easy to find and just what we needed. The reception staff were very quick, friendly and efficient.

A very irish pub attached which was lovely and the service was good.

The room and bathroom were in need of some modernising but for one night it was great. The location was great for walked along the coast, which was a fantastic start to our weekend break in Ireland.

There is a night-club next door and you can hear the bass but was easy to get to sleep.

Overall i would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauren1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portmarnock
0.4 mi away
Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Malahide
Grand Hotel Malahide
#1 of 2 in Malahide
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,468 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Waterside House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Island View Hotel
Island View Hotel
#2 of 2 in Malahide
3.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
5.9 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#4 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,658 reviews
4.3 mi away
Premier Inn Dublin Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Sands Hotel

Property: White Sands Hotel
Address: Coast Road, Portmarnock, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Portmarnock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Portmarnock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — White Sands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your White Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Sands Portmarnock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing