We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay”

South Lodge Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portmarnock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
South Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 9 Portmarnock B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Have just returned from staying at South Lodge. Pat & Colin were very welcoming. Our room was very comfortable (and warm, the temperature was freezing outside). We were given an excellent breakfast every morning and on our last day we has to leave at 6am for an early flight & we were left a cooler box with milk, orange juice, bread & butter. We had a choice of cereals and were able to make a hot drink in our room. (The last b&b we stayed in let us leave without so much as a hot drink)
Wil certainly return and would highly recommend South Lodge.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 28 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2012

This is one of the nicest B&B we've ever have visited. We've spend our first night in Ireland there and after this nice experience decided to come back for our last night again. The house is located around 12 mins drive from Dublin airport and easy to find. From the windows in the rooms on the backside you have a great view on the Portmarnock Golf Links golf course and it's about a 5 minutes walk to get to the beach (which is great too). It transports all charm of the old building combined with a lovely interior. Pat and Colin cared for so man details in the rooms and the house itself that you instantly feel home. Both are unbelievable nice hosts. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Max-Cherry-Berlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at this B&B last year so we returned this year! Pat and Colin are wonderful hosts and our very accomodating! Close to the airport which is great! Beautiful rooms and baths and wonderful food! Our boys couldn't wait to come back here! Last year, we had an early flight and they even offered to pack us a breakfast to go. How sweet! Beautiful view over the golf course. Close to Malahide with shopping, harbor and restaurants! Thanks!

Room Tip: Two rooms up top overlooking golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jm9113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2011

We had a wonderful stay here on our first night of a weekend in Dublin. Easy to find from the airport, we were welcomed and shown to our beautiful room. Pat and Colin were lovely and provided a delicious breakfast. Would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a cosy B&B, we would certainly stay there again. Thanks!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2010

Our host and hostess were gracious and very accommodating. The allowed us an early check in so that we could rest after our flight from the US. When we returned at the conclusion of our holiday, they provided an early morning continental breakfast so we could have food before going to the airport, even though are departure time was two hours before they served breakfast. This B & B is located close to nice gold courses, beaches and Dublin.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hooverjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2010

We have had the pleasure of staying at South Lodge many times over the past number of years, discovering it on our honeymoon and bringing clients there ever since. The property itself is the former gatehouse of the Jameson (of whiskey distilling fame) family estate and is now a comfy B&B along the Strand Road in Portmarnock. The location i within easy walking distance of Portmarnock beach and abuts the Portmarnock Golf Club (grand views from upstairs over the course, especially in the mornings). It is within 15 minutes of Dublin Airport, is on the bus line to the city center and has convenient off-road private parking. There are three rooms ensuite which ooze ambiance (overhead beams, quaint roofline angles, wonderful views of the gardens), or two standard rooms for the more frugal guest. Welcomes, directions, suggestions and overall 'take care of your every need' hospitality are provided by propprietors Pat and Colin. Take away and pub grub and a few restaurants within walking distance or a much grander array close by, especially up the Strand Road in Malahide. Great location to base from while exploring historic Dublin city (Book of Kells, Kilmainam Gaol, Phoenix Park, Trinity College, etc.) and environs (the Boyne Valley north, Glendalough and Powerscourt south, or Kildare, Trim, etc. west). We would highly recommend a stay at South Lodge.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Irishwriter1916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, traveled with family
Thank Jan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portmarnock hotels
0.3 mi away
Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links
0.7 mi away
White Sands Hotel
White Sands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Portmarnock
368 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
San Marino Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 9 in Portmarnock
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
No photo provided
Oakleigh Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 2 in Portmarnock
3 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tara B&B
Tara B&B
#6 of 9 in Portmarnock
3 reviews
0.6 mi away
Southdale B&B
Southdale B&B
#8 of 9 in Portmarnock
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Lodge Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Lodge Bed and Breakfast

Address: South Lodge Strand Road | Portmarnock, Portmarnock, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Portmarnock
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Portmarnock
Price Range: $73 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing