We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and accomodating”
Review of Hillview House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hillview House
Ranked #2 of 6 Lusk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
PA
1 review
“Friendly and accomodating”
Reviewed October 19, 2009

It's off the beaten path but quite nice. She sent us to a nice pub on the bay with a great view and wonderful dinner.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaLuckydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    32
    18
    6
    1
See reviews for
46
46
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redondo Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2008

If all you want is a room, then this place was adequate.

Hosts were practically invisible.

We had to leave a bit on the early side to catch our flight, no offer to give us other than a cold cereal breakfast. At other B&B's we traveled to, they all offered to change our breakfast time since we were traveling with a group of 11 and usually took up the entire B&B.

  • Liked — size of room
  • Disliked — Charm and Hospitality
  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lmorodomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2007

Little off the beaten path. Clean room

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
Thank fillmap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2007

reasonably large room lounge area ok Negatives- hard to find as it is out in the middle of nowhere blood stain on pillow was off putting

  • Liked — near dublin airport
  • Disliked — hard to find
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ozzichick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2007

The hillview house is on a big stretch of farmland near Skerries. Getting there can be a bit harrowing - it's on a very narrow country road that's about 1 and a half car widths wide. The turn off from the main road is marked with a very easy-to-see sign, though. As was mentioned earlier, they have a really big parking lot.

The interior is very dormatory-like. The rooms, while not huge, are comfortable enough with firm beds and some ensuite baths.

Breakfasts are held in a large breakfast room with a big kitchen. Juice, cereal, toast, and a full Irish breakfast is offered by the hosts.

They do have free wireless internet access for the guests, though when we were there they were having problems with it and we could never connect.

It wasn't quite what I'd call a warm-and-friendly atmosphere; the hostess was very business-like, but she was helpful enough in letting us leave our bags at the reception when we got to the B&B early, and giving us directions. We'd be happy to stay there again.

  • Liked — Utilitarian, easy to use home-base for Dublin & Surrounding Areas
  • Disliked — Little interraction with hosts, dormatory feel
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank T&HPortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2007

The Motel 8 of B&B's. No atmosphere, at the end of a long narrow road (not unusual) with no views(unusual). Nothing nearby to walk to. Nice dogs, good breakfast-fast, efficient, fresh fruit. The best thing about this B&B.
Large gravel parking lot. Enough space for a large truck (18 wheeler w/no load) to park and leave at 3:00 am. You have to pay Dublin rates, even though the train to Dublin is 10 minutes away with few parking spots.

  • Liked — breakfast
  • Disliked — location, atmosphere
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank didiji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lusk
4.8 mi away
Bracken Court Hotel
Bracken Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Balbriggan
787 reviews
14.7 mi away
Westcourt Hotel
Westcourt Hotel
#2 of 5 in Drogheda
357 reviews
11.0 mi away
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
#1 of 3 in Ashbourne
1,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Malahide
Grand Hotel Malahide
#1 of 2 in Malahide
1,561 reviews
7.9 mi away
Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links
8.1 mi away
CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillview House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillview House

Property: Hillview House
Address: Hillview House Ballaghstown, Lusk K45 RP03, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Lusk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Lusk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hillview House 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hillview House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillview House Lusk, Ireland - County Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing