We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So impressed with this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Waterside House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Donabate
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“So impressed with this hotel”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

I'm just back after an overnight in this Hotel for a cousins wedding, prior to going I had read some not great reviews and that is what prompted me to post this. From the moment we arrived till we left the next day I could find no fault with this hotel, maybe a little dated but that added to its character, We had a sea view room which was stunning to look out at, the room although not huge was perfect for 2 of us for the time we had to spend in it. Everything was spotless.
The staff were so so friendly from the reception to the bar staff to the night porters and the lady serving our table for the wedding was a hoot, so nice, didn't get her name but she was from Raheny she told us...
The room for the wedding was beautifully set out, the meal was top class and piping hot, I would def recommend this hotel for anyone planning a wedding, and if your looking for a beech side hotel just outside Dublin I would go for her.
Another bonus was the price €100 for 2 B&B was such good value and the breakie was lovely

Room Tip: Book a sea view :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Momsully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    146
    92
    70
    72
See reviews for
163
241
23
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel , picturesque location , we had a lovely view from our room the seaside , just a few little niggles would be that out room was a tad stuffy very warm , with just a small window at the top to open , but the view more than made up for it , also the lighting in the bathroom was very dark , could do with been brighter , but as I said there just small little niggles , will defiantly be back lovely place really relaxing .

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gloshs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2014

My Son Alan was married to Lynn on Thursday 7th August 2014 in Waterside Hotel in Donabate,
It was a perfect day from the ceremony on decking in full view of sea, which was beautifully set up by staff, to an excellent 5 course perfectly prepared meal presented by staff,
Paul the General Manager did all he could to ensure all went smoothly for my son and his new wife, even helping the Best man calm down before speeches,
We stayed overnight, the bedroom had a sea view, very clean, and bed very comfy,
I would definitely recommend this hotel to couples looking for venue for their wedding, or for any occassion.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GroomsMother2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 9, 2014

I had just a one night stay unfortunately but I will be booking again very soon for a longer break. The location is amazing, staff so friendly, food great just a pity about our room it was overlooking the roof but I had the most relaxing time..this has to be the best hotel I have ever stayed in and I travel alot..

Room Tip: Ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2014

We purchased a room only deal for this hotel. By the time we had paid separately for breakfasts and a charge of €20 for our grand daughter to stay with us, it worked out quite expensive. Most hotels don't charge for under 12's sharing with two adults. Lesson learned.
Our room looked out over the back of the hotel. There was a large roof area with various extractor fans and other noisy units operating just outside our window. Despite the rooms being a no smoking area this roof area outside our window was littered in cigarette buts plus other rubbish.
The mattress on our bed felt as if it had collapsed. It was definitely warped, giving the feeling of falling off the edge of the bed. It needs to be replaced. Our bathroom was a decent size with plenty of hot water and decent towels. The grouting around the bath looked like a bad icing job on a cake with lots of discoloration. Lighting in the bathroom was poor.
We had an evening meal in the Bistro Bar patio. Food was good and generous and reasonably priced. There is a lovely area to the back of this hotel looking straight over the sea where lots of visitors were having food and drinks and enjoying the view. The only problem here was that all of the tables were of the picnic tables variety with no chairs with backs, bar one table and chairs. Very uncomfortable.
Breakfast was served in the public bar despite there being plenty of other rooms available but not in use. No menus were offered at breakfast time. It was assumed that you were having a full Irish breakfast. If you fancied just a continental breakfast there was a very poor choice available. I noticed that it was not replenished while we were there.
I didn't think our stay was good value for what we got but there was a nice relaxed atmosphere about the place which was nice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the sea in the newer part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OxOxO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Offaly, Ireland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Our son married his bride in this hotel. & most of the wedding guests stayed overnight, we enjoyed 2 days of celebrations & fun, great nightime entertainment, hotel on lovely location right on seafront with lovely walks north & south of hotel. I have visited this hotel several times since the wedding & have enjoyed good food & drink in an easygoing relaxing environment & look forward to many more visits

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liam Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2014

After reading poor reviews about this hotel we were pleasantly surprised when we arrived for the wedding of friends.
The location is fantastic situated right on the beach and although the rooms are a little tired in places they are spotlessly clean and the bed was comfy.
The staff were friendly and attentive, the food was good and as a wedding venue it was wonderful.
We would definitely stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vivienne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donabate
2.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Malahide
Grand Hotel Malahide
#1 of 2 in Malahide
1,463 reviews
3.5 mi away
Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links
3.1 mi away
White Sands Hotel
White Sands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Portmarnock
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#4 of 153 in Dublin
3,650 reviews
2.3 mi away
Island View Hotel
Island View Hotel
#2 of 2 in Malahide
75 reviews
9.4 mi away
Bracken Court Hotel
Bracken Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Balbriggan
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterside House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterside House Hotel

Property: The Waterside House Hotel
Address: Donabate On The Beach | Dublin Airport, Donabate, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Donabate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Donabate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waterside House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterside House Hotel Dublin boasts 35 well appointed bedrooms. Nineteen of the bedrooms, over look the sea and have every facility to enhance your comfort. Just a stones throw from this beautiful sandy beach and with panoramic views of Howth Head, Lambay Island and Malahide, we will ensure your stay will be a stress free and tranquil experience. If you prefer the warm green colours of Ireland, then choose one of our rooms overlooking the greens of the local golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Waterside House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing