We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing Had Changed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Waterside House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Donabate
Reviewed March 30, 2013

My words from a year ago:

Great little hotel with a stunning setting overlooking Donabate Beach. The hotel itself is in need of "Freshening Up". A lick of paint around the hotel would solve this.

The food at the bar was excellent. Fish is a must! Just be patient if you normally expect efficient service.

The breakfast in the morning was excellent, the "Full Irish" is a must.

Overall very nice little hotel and I would stay here again on business

2013 stay:

So all the above is true but still the rooms are beginning to look tired with wallpaper scratched on the walls, carpets with stains. Upgrade the rooms and it will make a big difference to the impression you are making with your guests.

The food (This time steak) was fantastic. Well done. And as usual the Full Irish was tip top.

Another pleasant stay, but get the paint brushes out!!

Room Tip: When the rooms are done up stay in any, especially the sea facing ones!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-Waterside, Manager at The Waterside House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear Richard A,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us here at The Waterside House Hotel. I was delighted to read that you are one of our many happy returning guests.

We have taken your comments on board in relation to the decor.

I look forward to welcoming you back again to our hotel in the very near future.

Kind Regards,
Linda Moloney
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (644)
There are newer reviews for The Waterside House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

411 - 417 of 644 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2013

We walk in this area regularly, my wife and I. Frequently, at the end of the walk, we snack in the Patio overlooking the Irish Sea and have always enjoyed the experience (even when the weather is far from Spanish, from whence the word came) .
More recently, we've dined several times in the Samphire restaurant. I understand that there has been a staff change at Head Chef level, and it shows. Food is an Irish "take" on French cuisine, with excellent choice of fish dishes, sourced from nearby fishing harbour, Howth. The dishes are served piping hot by waiters who seem genuinely keen that our expectations are met. Several of these are immigrants and - without slighting their Irish counterparts - theirs is a considerable contribution in an economy that is fighting back after its disastrous property bubble/banking fiasco. As always one can be picky about minor details but we give this hotel/restaurant full marks on several levels. These include: (i) location: this dining room is the diner's equivalent of an infinity pool (ii) food, obviously (iii) seating - tables are well apart (iv) surroundings: background music, eclectic pleasant and unintrusive, seems to selected in the interest of the diners, not the workers (v) staff and general ambience as mentioned above and (vi) value for money.
Bedrooms are large. To draw the curtains at dawn and to have an early breakfast as the sun rises over the island (Lambay) at the bottom of your bed is a great way to start a day. This used to be a tired establishment but it's making progress

Room Tip: Avoid proximity to bar on wedding nights. With that caveat go for the views of Lambay.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vernoil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-Waterside, Manager at The Waterside House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear Vernohide,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor in relation to your recent experience here at The Waterside House Hotel.

Tom Walsh is now our Head Chef in Samphire and we have taken huge strides since we opened last year to establish ourselves as one of the best restaurants in North County Dublin.

I was delighted to read your positive feedback in relation to our location, food, seating, background music and value for money.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Waterside House Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Linda Moloney
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We live locally and went for a bar meal. Food was o.k. but it would have been nice to have been offered some Parmesan with the pasta dish. Furniture in Bar area is very dated. Waitress was very pleasant but no atmosphere in the place. Its kind of rough around the edges......the flavor of the food has improved and they do try hard but its definitely a 3 star environment and no where near to becoming a four without major investment and refurbishment. I think you can find better value is nicer surroundings near by. Our visit this time was on an evening. The main event for this place is the view which when it is dark you don't benefit from so best for a day time visit then when looking at the view you don't notice the interior decor so much!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-Waterside, Manager at The Waterside House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear DianeL,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your recent meal here at The Tower Bar & Bistro in The Waterside House Hotel. Your feedback is most appreciative. I have communicated your comments in relation to the Parmesan cheese onto our chef. We have just recently revamped our bar food menu and are striving for improvements all of the time.

We have taken on board your comments in relation to our decor and atmosphere.

We hope to welcome you back to our establishment in the near future,

Kind Regards,
Linda Moloney
Sales & Marketing Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Had last stayed in the Waterside in November 2009 and we frequently have coffee and scones there having completed the cliff or beach walk on some weekend mornings. When the opportunity arose again (via an online deal) to have a B&B night here, we jumped at it. Ironically the last time we stayed there were gale force winds and driving rain, and this weekend was no different. There's plenty of free parking in the grounds of the hotel, but bear in mind that lots of weddings take place here so you could end up being stuck for a space. Check in was quick and there was a young pianist playing soft music in the lobby which was a lovely touch. Our room was warm and clean. Unfortunately we weren't able to get a room with a sea view, but I think in the end it worked out better as the winds battered the front of the hotel all night. Our room was clean, warm and comfortable. We'd booked a table for dinner in the hotel restaurant (which is the subject of a separate review) so we didn't have to put our noses outside for the evening. For guests wishing to dine in Donabate village, the hotel runs a courtesy bus which we used the last time and it was great to be picked up and collected. Our bed was comfortable and while there was a bit of noise from the guests who were staying for the wedding the next day, it wasn't too bad, and we have encountered far worse. Have to admit, we were glad we stayed the night before the wedding, and not the actual night itself. We had a good sleep and the shower was nice and hot the next morning. There was a problem with the shower head though (and I've seen this mentioned in other reviews) - the spray could not be controlled no matter what we tried and it sprayed everywhere, including the floor. Hotel management must be aware of this as no doubt the cleaning staff have to clean and dry out the floor every time the room is occupied. Breakfast was standard, but two full Irish breakfasts landed on our table far too quick for my liking. The breakfasts are obviously cooked en masse and held in a hot plate, but the eggs were freshly cooked. Still, we got suck into it as we had planned a cliff walk and we needed a good hot breakfast inside us. This is a beautiful walk, regardless of the weather, which was quite spectacular yesterday morning with the waves crashing off the rocks below and we took the opportunity to get some dramatic photographs. To those of you who are not familiar with the cliff walk, do take care as it can be quite dangerous. If you don't wish to walk the cliffs, then you can walk the beach which stretches out for miles in the opposite direction and is gorgeous. So regardless of which direction you wish to go, you will be spoiled for choice. Check out was as prompt as check in, and we would definitely stay here again. We got excellent value with our voucher, but even without vouchers, the prices are very affordable here. It's in a gorgeous spot and you'd be hard pressed to get such fabulous views along the coast.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DubTwosome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-Waterside, Manager at The Waterside House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear DubTwosome,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor in relation to your recent stay with us here at The Waterside House Hotel. There have indeed been some amazing sea view scenes with the crazy March weather we have been getting!

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay her with us recently. Your positive comments in relation to your check-in experience, room and location of the hotel are most welcome.

The issue in relation to your shower head has been taken into consideration by the management of the hotel. We have also noted your comments in relation to our breakfast.

We hope to welcome you back to The Waterside House Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Linda Moloney
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

What a great hotel. Close to the airport, and beautiful views of the irish sea. My wife and I walked for an hour in either direction along the coast on paths along old stone fences. Past beaches and farmers fields. The food in the tower bar &. Bistro was excellent. Fresh seafood chowder and grilled salmon was perfectly done. It was almost like fine dining except cost 13 euro for the special. The rooms are outdated but good for the price. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay somewhere quiet, away from the busyness of the city.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SaskyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-Waterside, Manager at The Waterside House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Dear Sasky B,

Thank you for taking the time to send us your comments and feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed our beach setting. We have just recently launched a new menu in our Tower Bar and Bistro and as such it is great to hear such positive feedback. I will ensure your comments in relation to your room decor are taken into consideration.

We hope to welcome you back to our hotel again soon.

Kind Regards,
Linda Moloney
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Date was 14 March 2013 when we stayed for a wedding for 2nights and dined in the restaurant. Although we arrived before check-in-time and as our room was available there was no problem in allowing us to check in early! This has never happened to us before in any other hotel. From the reception, bar, restaurant all staff we extremely helpful and friendly. Our room was well cleaned as was the appearance throughout the hotel. The Saphire restaurant and Bar bistro food was extremely good. The wedding reception service was just as good. (even the plates were hot!) We highly recommend this hotel for all the above reasons as well as the terrific views. We did not use the fitness centre and had no children otherwise I would make a comment but no doubt others staying at the time experienced a good time. Thanks to all who made our stay pleasurable. M&J

Room Tip: If there is a problem the hotel staff will sort it out without any problem to them
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maureen k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-Waterside, Manager at The Waterside House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Dear Maureen K,

Thank you for taking the time to send us your comments and feedback. It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. All our staff will be delighted with your comments. As a family run hotel we take pride in delivering excellent friendly customer service.

We hope to welcome you back to The Waterside House Hotel soon.

Kind Regards,
Linda Moloney
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights with a voucher offer and was very happy with my choice. The hotel picked us up from airport for free & its a quick 15min transfer to the hotel. Staff were all very friendly
Room was very comfy and a good size.

The bar overlooks the beach & was good value.

Will definitely be back

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irish_Angel_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-Waterside, Manager at The Waterside House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Dear Irish Angel_84,

Thank you for taking the time to send us your comments and feedback. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your short stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,
Linda Moloney
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donabate
2.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Malahide
Grand Hotel Malahide
#1 of 2 in Malahide
1,593 reviews
3.0 mi away
White Sands Hotel
White Sands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Portmarnock
362 reviews
3.5 mi away
Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Premier Inn Dublin Airport Hotel
2.3 mi away
Island View Hotel
Island View Hotel
#2 of 2 in Malahide
86 reviews
9.4 mi away
Bracken Court Hotel
Bracken Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Balbriggan
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterside House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterside House Hotel

Address: Donabate On The Beach | Dublin Airport, Donabate, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Donabate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Donabate
Price Range: $101 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waterside House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterside House Hotel Dublin boasts 35 well appointed bedrooms. Nineteen of the bedrooms, over look the sea and have every facility to enhance your comfort. Just a stones throw from this beautiful sandy beach and with panoramic views of Howth Head, Lambay Island and Malahide, we will ensure your stay will be a stress free and tranquil experience. If you prefer the warm green colours of Ireland, then choose one of our rooms overlooking the greens of the local golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Waterside House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing