We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding staff, like staying with family without the stress.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Waterside House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Donabate
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Spent four nights here for an Irish friend´s 70th. birthday celebration, also held at the hotel. The staff could not have been more helpful, courteous or welcoming. Food excellent, bar most convivial, transport to and from airport and local railway station all included. Accommodation on first floor with good room service, comfortable, and with sea views. Would certainly recommend, and will be returning.

Room Tip: First floor with sea view highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PedroIngles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (653)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

445 - 451 of 653 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2012

had a great time at waterside hotel. had a meal at new resturant one saturday night . the food was excellent and service was very good . live near the hotel so a free bus brought to the hotel after meal went into tower bar for a drink and great live music. a nice evening and go back there every saturday nite for a drink and the music.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

My new bride and I held our wedding at the Waterside House Hotel on the 13th of October 2012. We purchased one of their all inclusive wedding packages which for a single price included , meal for 100 guests, flowers, photographer, cake, car, band and DJ among other things.
The waterside wedding coordinator, Jessica Collins, and staff organised everything down to the most tiny detail, thoroughly and professionally.
All our guests came back and said that it was one of, if not, the best wedding that they were ever at.
All their staff without exception were helpful and friendly with special mention going to Miss Jessica Collins, wedding coordinator and Mr Paul Slattery, general manager who exceeded themselves in their hospitality and professionalism.
We both whole heartedly endorse the Waterside Hotel to hold your big day and if you just fancy a night or a weekend away, you will not be disappointed with their excellent restaurants and reasonably priced bar.
Again our sincere thanks to all at the Waterside House Hotel for a weekend that we will remember for the rest of our lives.
Mr & Mrs Noel & Rosemarie Donovan.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosenoel68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

I revisited for lunch today after a very disappointing experience back in early July and boy was I glad I did! A complete transformation a fantastic dining experience. Home made chips cooked to perfection a beautifully made fish cake with delicate flavours and a fresh tasty salad. We had the chocolate brownie to finish and I am still dreaming about it now! Simple food prepared with love and attention and this really shone through. Looking forward to trying out Signature restaurant soon and will be recommending my family and friends to visit . Well done to all the team, a remarkable improvement and good excuse for a visit to the seaside!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank mimer45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Attended a wedding here in October. We were looked after very well from the moment we arrived. Everything seemed to go smoothly, which is always a good sign. I was given a sea view room and it was wonderful to wake up to such a great view.
The hotel is about 3 km from donabate village and the train station so a car is useful (although one of the hotel staff drove me to the station when I checked out).

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view (& a quiet room if not attending a wedding)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DublinMED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I was there for a friend's wedding and it was excellent in all areas. A nice service was held in the room and then out to a room nearby for coffee and cakes and of course out to the bar with the incredible deck which thankfully the weather allowed us to use. Then back into the room now re-organised with tables for dinner. Dinner orders were taken quickly and efficiently and each course came out quickly, ensuring everyone at the table had their food. Turkey/Ham was very good and the fish was good too. Then cleared out again for a drink while the dancefloor was created and an excellent evening with a very good band and dancing all night. No pressure on shutting down the party all night and then a very good breakfast after a good (but short!) nights sleep made it a very good time for all.

Room Tip: Definitely worth the extra to get a Seaview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcgdublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

i arrived on a sunday and it seemed there had been a wedding the night before.
at the entrance there was a plantstand which had a used beer glass with cigarette butts in them- and it was still there when i checked out on monday!!!

but the reception was clean and modern and staff were very friendly
we had lunch in the busy large bar, the food was fine and staff again friendly.
the bar seemed popular with large screen tv's playing golf. it was clean and tidy.

upstairs the halls are clean but dated.
the room was ok, far from luxury. very basic.
furnishings and decor slightly dated.
it had obviously been abused by previous guests- the bedside cabinet and mirror had large chunks out of the wood, were someone had thrown something onto them.
the chair in the bedroom was stained with chocolate, or i hope it was!
the room had a large window but with no view- it looked over the flat roof of the hotel.
the carpet and bed linen were clean and the ensuite looked like it had been modernised recently.

the hotel is a great location on the coast with great views, so ask for a room with a seaview, and i have heard those rooms are supposedly recently modernised.
donabate is convenient to the motorway and great to visit swords for shopping.

i wouldn't stay at this hotel again simply because it is not modern or luxurious enough for my taste.
(but this hotel must do well because on the 3 prior occasions i contacted the hotel to make a booking they were always fully booked)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claire418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donabate
3.0 mi away
White Sands Hotel
White Sands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Portmarnock
365 reviews
2.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Malahide
Grand Hotel Malahide
#1 of 2 in Malahide
1,610 reviews
3.5 mi away
Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Premier Inn Dublin Airport Hotel
9.4 mi away
Bracken Court Hotel
Bracken Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Balbriggan
796 reviews
2.3 mi away
Island View Hotel
Island View Hotel
#2 of 2 in Malahide
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterside House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterside House Hotel

Address: Donabate On The Beach | Dublin Airport, Donabate, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Donabate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Donabate
Price Range: $87 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waterside House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterside House Hotel Dublin boasts 35 well appointed bedrooms. Nineteen of the bedrooms, over look the sea and have every facility to enhance your comfort. Just a stones throw from this beautiful sandy beach and with panoramic views of Howth Head, Lambay Island and Malahide, we will ensure your stay will be a stress free and tranquil experience. If you prefer the warm green colours of Ireland, then choose one of our rooms overlooking the greens of the local golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Waterside House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing