We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice way to spend a relaxed Sunday”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Newbridge House

Newbridge House
Ranked #1 of 8 things to do in Donabate
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Dublin
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A nice way to spend a relaxed Sunday”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We took a spin up to Newbridge House on a Sunday and it was well worth the visit. There’s a large grounds to wander around in, a working farm for kids to see (we didn’t go in) and of course there’s the house itself to tour.

The tour was well worth doing and conducted by a very knowledgeable local man called Brian. There are a huge number of paintings, many by old masters, along with all the original furniture from the house much of it dating back to the 17th century.

In addition there’s a coffee shop selling light snacks and baked goods and while we found it a bit pricey the food was nice enough. You can, if you prefer, bring your own picnic though as there’s plenty of tables and chairs around the place and the people running the estate won’t mind at all.

Parking is free so if all you're after is a pleasant walk this is a great spot for it as well.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank OutragedD9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    30
    10
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mornington, Meath, Ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“a great value day out for families”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I took my two daughters to Newbridge House Farm and park today, we hadn't been for a couple of years and have to say we really enjoyed our day out. First the price - its only four euro per child and a fiver for adults, but my two girls have disabilities and they gave us a discount even on that, which was lovely, The farm is very chilled out and relaxed, you just wander round at your own pace, they don't do things like lamb feeding or chick holding etc but the farm is big and the animals well kept, some in large paddocks. the Cafe is nice, but food a bit pricey so bring a picnic and eat in the courtyard. The adventure playground is outside of the farm and you don't have to pay for this, its really good, you'd easily spend an hour in it. The grounds are beautiful and nice for a stroll, you pay extra for entrance and tour of the house, which i didn't do today as six and four year old wouldn't be interested, but it looks beautiful from the outside! my one small criticism is that the toilets were quite dirty and could have done with a clean, as we were visiting early in the day i was surprised about that, and think they could improve this.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank 656Michelle_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good location for family picnics”
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Went with extended family for day out and picnic. Good playground for wide age group. Plenty of benches & tables for eating. However toilets filthy & need updating. Coffee shop overpriced for what's on offer. Cakes not covered. Bring your own food and antiseptic hand gel for toilets.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank hollydub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow
Level Contributor
73 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Superb Day Out”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Fantastic farm, great facilities, surroundings absolutely beautiful, For a day out with children and grannies, Very reasonably priced, free parking, café busy but lovely homebaking, Seems to be really well run with "happy looking" animals, Friendly helpful staff on a very busy day, Definitely fills a day, Am coming back for House Tour without children,

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank WicklowOptimist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“And favorite place”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

A lovely place to visit. I live locally and walk here almost every day all year round. In the early summer the meadows are a most amazing sight as they are left to grow naturally and the carpet of wild flowers is stunning in its beauty. The park keepers cut tracks through these meadows so you can wander far off the beaten track and get lost in a summer wonderland. In the evening you will almost certainly see rabbits and maybe a fox. There are also badgers and herons to be seen.
The house is worth a visit and so is the farm but many of the animals are on view from the walk around the back of the farm without any cost. The playground is great for the kids and is near the carpark and picnic area. You can visit by car or by bus from Swords (although the walk from the bus stop might be tiring for young children ). You can also visit by train and this is a better option because although the walk is about the same length it takes you through the woods and past the deer park which young children will find full of interest. All the paths are in excellent condition for prams or wheelchairs making this a very accessible visit to the great outdoors for those with impaired mobility.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Annemarie286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Newbridge House also viewed

Donabate, County Dublin
Malahide, County Dublin
 
Swords, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Newbridge House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing