We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Woodland Segway”

Lough Key Forest Park
Ranked #1 of 18 things to do in Boyle
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Fun for all ages!!Whatever you choose it is the perfect location to do as much or as little as you like!Boda Borg questing is a great way to spend a few fun filled hours with family or friends. After entering the weather-independent house only teamwork, ingenuity, trial and error will allow you to survive the challenges.The Lough Key Experience is an engaging audio tour, directing you through 19th century tunnels to the top of the Moylurg Tower and over the Tree Canopy Trail.The Adventure Play Kingdom is a purpose built outdoor children’s play area providing stimulating and entertaining activities and equipment suitable for a variety of ages and abilities.Enjoy the stunning views & homemade cooking from the Lough Key Café and outdoor deck or browsing for a memento in our Gift Shop.Thinking of spending a few days experiencing the delights that North Roscommon and the surrounding area have to offer? Why not book a pitch for your tent or caravan in the Lough Key Caravan and Camping Park, open from Easter to September.
Sligo, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Woodland Segway”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

My son Rian (16) and I went on the Rockingham Roll which was a really laid back tour of the Lough Key Forest Park on Segways. It's advertised as being one hour but with the training it was more like two hours. We were not complaining. The Segways were terrific fun and easy to master. Colm was a wonderful teacher and guide. Afterwards we sat on the deck at the restaurant in the sun and ate two sandwiches. I had a tuna sandwich. Can't remember what Rian had but it was very good value.

I highly recommend the Rockingham Roll as a novel way to spend an afternoon. It was 25 euro each but well worth it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Maria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    284
    142
    38
    15
    15
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lough Key (5 stars) - Boda Borg (one Star)”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Ideally I would like to leave a separate review for both Lough Key and one of the attractions within - Boda Borg. Lough Key itself is a wonderful resource with beautiful forest walks, lakes and plenty of activities - free and paid for any family.

On this visit however our children had read about Boda Borg - a Swedish entertainment concept - based on mental, physical and combination quests for teams of 3 to 5 people. We paid our €60 for a family of 4 for two hours in the complex and looked forward to some mental, creative and physical challenges.

It is in theory a wonderful concept - much like the old game show in the UK - 'the Crystal Maze' but alas the execution was not nearly so clever. Instead we ended up wandering through two levels of game rooms and meeting other families that were equally frustrated at going back into a loop of the same games to solve challenges where the objectives were unclear and where the red light that signalled failure came on for no apparent reason.

There was nothing to explain the level of difficulty of each of the challenges. There was no set up of the challenges, no clear time limits, some equipment was not working correctly and some of the so-called mental challenges involved re-trying multiple strategies in a room (being thrown out after each effort - only to queue again with others until the correct sequence was found).

We would have questioned our own ability had we not met multiple other families in the same position.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank TravelCelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great place to visit”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

I visited Lough Key Forest Park with my family last weekend on one of the hottest days of the year. Despite the place being very busy the staff and every one we dealt with were very courteous and friendly. A really great place to visit

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank MaireOrwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roscommon, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fresh air and relaxation for the grown ups, fun for the children”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Just to walk around the park is great and it is free of charge. Boat tours go out on the lake also and during the summer its a great way to get the little ones interested in water, boats and all the nature that goes with it. If you don't mind spending some €€€€'s, try out the Tree Top Walk. It is really amazing. The scenery takes your breath away and there is some history too about Rockingham House that is very interesting. I've never tried out the camping in the park but the amenities there seem pretty good. Loads of parking on the grounds for visitors and the coffee shop has plenty of tea cakes coffee and ice-creams. No main meals though. Toilets are clean and well maintained and have a small baby changing area. I would recommend this Boyle Forest Park as a lovely day out for everyone. I visited there recently with my husband 2 year old son. Hope you enjoy your visit .

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Colette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
297 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
“Better than The Ring of Kerry”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

The view....oh, the view! This is just a beautiful place that has a rich history and plenty to keep the kids occupied. Loads of people having picnics....plenty of table and really cool stones put together as areas to sit down.

The Gardens has amazingly, interesting plants from all over the world. Electric bikes are available along with other modes of transport to see the grounds.

The cafe has a huge outdoor seating area overlooking the water. The usual ice cream, slushies to burgers. Gift shop. We parked for free and walked in....just follow the locals parking!

The history is rich and we shall return to this beautiful area.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank alish2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lough Key Forest Park also viewed

Roscommon, County Roscommon
Boyle, County Roscommon
 
Tulsk, County Roscommon
Boyle, County Roscommon
 

Been to Lough Key Forest Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing