We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place to visit. Zip It excellent fun”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boyle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lough Key Caravan & Camping Park
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A lovely place to visit. Zip It excellent fun”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

I visited Lough Key Forest Park primarily to go to Zip It but had a walk around the lovely grounds, I'm sure it would be a great place to take kids as there's a large playground, plenty of space to run around and ducks on the lake waiting to be fed!

We spent 3 hours in Zip it and it was the best fun i've had in a long time. It's quite a challenging course and I wouldn't advise it if you are afraid of heights. There are several different courses you can do and they cater for all abilities. I was aching all over the next day so be warned its quite a workout. I would recommend it as a great activity for families with older kids. I'll definitely pay a return visit!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank red1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    28
    13
    12
    9
See reviews for
71
8
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Central Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Aug 10th 2012 - Just returned from first family (2ad & 4 girls 4-9 ) camping trip to Lough Key (Erris camping area €22pn). Were warned on booking that ground condition were soft due to rain which was fair enough.Upon arrival greeted by chirpy attendant who pointed out best available place in Erris to pitch. In agreement with other reviewers about the cleaniness of the toilet block - Cleaning sheet would appear to be signed more often than toilets cleaned! Security man did ro am around but we were lucky as no rowdies in our earshot.

We stayed for two nights and used the middle day to use the park paid activities. We took the family package of Adventure Kingdom, Boda Borg and Lough Key Experience for family at €50,discounted from €60 as were campers. Only worth it at that price though. The Adventure Kingdom @ €5 per child is steep considering it is a mere playground with no out of the ordinary features. It was well marshalled on our day there with only bracelet holders allowed access. Unsupervised children not allowed in or out. Parental seating could be increased given the supervision rule!


The on site cafe provides good food (check their facebook page for dets) but the children's selections are pricey. (Plain chicken wrap €5, but includes free Ribena!). Staff were completely overwhelmed on the day we used it with a 15 min Q to order and a futher 30min wait for food. (Gift shop sells take away teas & coffees for €1.50). Cafe does not serve breakfast! Cafe toilets had an unpleasant smell too!

There is no shop onsite for bread, milk of basic stuff so come prepared. A local shop advertisess twice daily deliveries but we didn't avail of or witness. Don't get excited about a trip into Boyle, although the Supervalu is large and woould appear the best place for supplies.

All in all a good trip. The only reason that I didn't award 2* is probably because the weather was 25 degrees, Katie Taylor won and everybody was in good form. This place needs dry weather for the enjoyment to be fulfilled.

We didn't avail of the water stuff like boat trips, fishing which are available on the Lake. Think it costs €10 per adult and €5 per child on the hour long lake tour but not sure.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bardogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in a beautiful location on the shores of lough key in the spacious & comfortable riverhaven log houses in knock vicar. Only 10 min drive from Lough key forest park. Spent 2 fab days in lough key -loved Zipit. The staff were really great & took plenty of time with the kids(7&9) - explaining how to use the harnesses etc. we also did the tree top walk which was lovely, gave the boro puzzle thing a miss as it was a glorious sunny day. Went rowing on the lake, which was also a bit hit.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Ainenolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Just returned exhausted from Lough Key forest park. We did not camp there but stayed in the Abbey Hotel in Roscommon Town on a Super Valu break ( would highly recommend this hotel, but it is 40 mins away)
Our group consisted of two mums and four kids aged 7 to 12 . We did Zip it the first day arriving at 11.30 and ended up staying most of the day! The instruction was good and we all soon got the hang of it and progressed through the different levels as allowed by the kids ages. We had a few wobbles on the blue course but got there in the end! It was fantastic flying along through the trees. You would need to have a moderate level of fitness and agility to pull yourself around . We all had sore abs the next day.
Following a fab breakfast and swim at the hotel, we returned to Lough Key to do the Boda Borg game. This was good fun but we must be a bit thick as we only managed to stamp our card once on the balance game. We solved an odd bit of other courses but didnt complete any oher full level. The kids got a bit frustrated with it and I feel it may be more suitable for teenagers. We felt better at the end when we found out that only 17 teams have worked it all out in the five years it is open!
We had lunch in the restaurant, very good selection of food and spotless. We sat out on the deck overlooking the marina and enjoyed every mouthful.
The play ground was great and we did the tree top walk activity , climbing to the top of the viewing tower and then spotting that there was a lift!!!
All in all we had a ball!
There must be new toilets there because we could not fault them , absolutly spotless, soap hot water, dryers, showers. ( beside marina).
We spent about €200 between the two families which covered activities and food.
Ask for a parking token at desk when booking in and avoid €4 exit fee.
We didnt go on any walks or the boat trip as we ran out of time but will return during the summer again.
TIP pre book the activities as you can avoid longer waiting times !!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tshine052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navan, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Recently on the way home from a trip to Sligo myself any my girlfriend stopped in at Lough Key Forest Park. We didn’t use the camp site or follow any of the walks. We did however use the Zipit adventure centre. This was a great experience. It is well managed and there is a great atmosphere around it. We were lucky to get there on the second day of the season- so it wasn’t too busy. We were harnessed up, given an induction course (20 mins-its all that’s needed) and sent to the first course. The courses are tough and challenging but thoroughly enjoyable. The courses are all suspended aprox 5m in the forest in-between trees with a mix of rope bridge challenges, Zip lines, climbing walls and much more. This was a fantastic experience. The admission fee is totally worth it as to complete all courses will take up to 4 hours or more. After a fantastic experience we headed on our way. Exhausted but really good fun. We’ll definitely be back..Cant recommend Zipit enough

Room Tip: Zipit is a great day out, ample parking- bring a change of clothers-trackies, trainers adn an old ts...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stephenduffy2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

This camp site is as old as the hills and is run in the same way. A lot of people come year after year to it as it offers plenty of space and is close to the lough. Apart from that it has nothing else going for it. If it rains go home ! Management change year in and year out and do not care to much about anything,The toilet block can somtimes look and smell like a cow shed and there is very little for the children to play with except VERY expensive facilities at Lough Key itself. €5 a child for the play park does not work when you have 4 kids and lough key walk , Boda Borg, Zip etc are totally extortionate and not financially suited to families, unless you wish to part with over €100 for a days entertainment.

If its a spur of the minute thing when the sun is shinning it can be quite fun provided you do not get a bad crowd, Dubliners tend to head up at the weekends simply intent on a pissup, August was a nightmare for us last year and the single security man is no use at all.

If the sun shines take the bikes and fishing rods and make your own entertainment. There is some lovely walks but as for the camping, fore armed is fore warnded, If you get a bad crowd beside you pack up and go as they will drink, fight and light fires until 2 or 3 in the morning.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Danny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meath
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

We stayed in Lough Key last night and to be honest had no problems with noisy campers - it lashed non-stop from 8pm until morning, so nobody was able to be out making noise!

The manager, as others have indicated, is definately a little odd, he makes strange remarks to people (told my husband he hadn't showered in two days himself, while trying to sell tokens for the showers to us!).

Following heavy rain, we ended up literally sliding around in muck - we got packed up as best we could this morning - knowing we'd have to hose down every belonging when we got home. We would certainly be well prepared for Glastonbury, after last nights experience, but I also know that I wouldn't enjoy it. The campers looked, in general, like people who'd been homeless for a long time - we couldn't even stop in anywhere on the way home - we weren't fit to be let into a newsagents for a paper!

Our pitch was in the 'Church' area and it's a long way back to the reception area to access a toilet - I haven't been so far from a toilet on previous camping trips. You would need to know that you need to go before you need to go, if you know what I mean!

I won't go back - toilet paper still stuck all over the walls and ceiling - weeks and weeks after it has first been mentioned on Tripadvisor - disgusting.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank karenf1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boyle
6.5 mi away
Carrick Plaza Suites
Carrick Plaza Suites
#4 of 9 in Carrick-on-Shannon
154 reviews
9.5 mi away
Lough Allen Hotel & Spa
Lough Allen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Drumshanbo
845 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lough Key House
Lough Key House
#1 of 8 in Boyle
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Strandhill Caravan and Camping Park
17.1 mi away
Lough Rynn Castle Estate & Gardens
2.1 mi away
Rosdarrig Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lough Key Caravan & Camping Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lough Key Caravan & Camping Park

Property: Lough Key Caravan & Camping Park
Address: Boyle, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Roscommon > Boyle
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Boyle
Number of rooms: 52

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing