We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning place, amazing hostess”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lough Key House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lough Key House
Ranked #1 of 9 Boyle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Stunning place, amazing hostess”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

We recently took our friend there for her hen and it was a brilliant choice. The house is absolutely stunning. Four poster beds, fires, total luxury and so beautifully decorated. Frances couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. The food and service was amazing, and living room afterwards was really comfortable and cosy with the fire on. We has the run of the house as we'd booked all of the rooms and it was decorated for Christmas. Such a gorgeous B&B, would love to go back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonLKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    5
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
44
72
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 350 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

An elegant,homely b&b on the N4,right next to the entrance to Lough Key Forest Park; Boyle town centre lies a short drive away. I spent 3 nights here in August and would have stayed longer if time had allowed.
On arriving at Lough Key, I was greeted by Frances' niece, shown to my room and invited to partake of tea in the guest lounge. Tea came beautifully presented on a tray together with freshly stewed rhubarb from Frances' garden, served with yoghurt and a finger of shortbread - delicious!

My room was absolutely gorgeous: very spacious with dual aspect, wooden floors with rugs, and 4-poster bed. The en-suite bathroom was filled with books and plants and was almost as big as the bedroom.

Breakfast was served in the stylish dining room and comprised wide choice from the buffet including poached fruits from Frances' pretty garden, plus hot dishes cooked to order. Seating was at a communal dining table, elegantly set for breakfast; this might not suit everyone, but I met some charming and interesting people during my 3-night stay.

There is also a guest lounge with wifi plus laptop for those who haven't brought their own device. It was a relaxing room in which to unwind after a day's travel and exploration. Complimentary teas and coffee were available in the dining room, which was a very nice touch. Decor throughout the house reflects Frances' character and there are books everywhere; lots of homely touches in the bedrooms and bathrooms, too.

I've left the best until (almost) last: Frances and her delightful staff of young ladies. Frances has a great sense of humour and a natural way of making people feel welcome and at ease in her beautiful home. I really enjoyed talking with her and would have been happy to spend hours in her company. She is extremely knowledgeable about the surrounding area and very helpful when it comes to suggestions of places to visit and where to eat.

This is a convenient base for those wishing to explore the counties of Roscommon and Sligo and there is much to see within an hour's drive: for those interested in prehistory and archaeology, Carrowkeel megalithic tombs; Knocknarea and Carrowmore megalithic tombs; plus the fascinating and as yet fairly unexplored site of Rathcroghan, near Tulsk. Strokestown House with the National Famine Museum is also within easy drive. There are numerous opportunities for walking and hiking in the area, and Lough Key Forest Park lies right next door - a great place for families with its woodland trails, playground, zip wire, tree canopy walk and Boda Borg (a Swedish concept of 47 "puzzle rooms" which teams have to work their way through without any instructions).

Many thanks Frances, for a memorable stay. I can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarnia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbridge
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

If you are intending to stay in this area then Lough Key is a must for you,from when we entered the premises Frances made us feel so welcome and this was the case through the 2 days we stayed and certainly intend to return.
The breakfasts could not have been better both in terms of choice and quality and the rooms were exceptional as regards decor &comfort,
The lounge with its large settees and open fire is a real comfort zone
Don't miss this one
Eddie & Eileen,Banbridge

Room Tip: No need to chose all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edmund K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

What a fantastic house, wonderful breakfast and excellent dinner. The room and shower was to die for. Loved very minute of our two night stay. Thank you Frances. I would highly recommend staying with Frances. We were a group of ladies and we had an excellent 2 days stay, enjoying the gardens, the beautiful fires and fantastic hospitality of Frances

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

We have just had the most wonderful weekend at Lough Key House! Our group had the house to ourselves for Saturday day and night and Frances immediately made us all feel like we at home! The house itself is wonderful and the rooms are very comfortable and each with individual decor. We had a gorgeous meal in the dining room of roast lamb with all the trimmings and the breakfast was spot on!! The homemade bread and jams, eggs from the hens and freshly picked peppermint tea are wonderful personal touches. Waking up to the sun rising and horses and ponies running in the field next to us was lovely, as are the pretty peacocks in the gardens.
Could not have been better!! Thank you to Frances and her wonderful team (and my sisters who picked it!)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julesc33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Do not miss this place. Lovely setting, Grand Rooms, all homemade foods from on theprmises and locally grown. Frances is a marvelous host/owner. Attention to detail is seen everywhere. Surely make this one of your stays when in the area!!
Paul & Nancy Malone

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

What a great place, during our 3 week adventure exploring the western coast, we stayed here on the way across to Dublin. Such a nice setting, very comfy, peaceful. we hiked, biked, checked out the lake area, short drive into 2 towns. all nice stuff. We loved it

Room Tip: Pink or Red are front and super rooms!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boyle
24.3 mi away
Abbey Hotel
Abbey Hotel
#1 of 3 in Roscommon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
9.2 mi away
Leitrim Marina Hotel
Leitrim Marina Hotel
#1 of 4 in Leitrim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
1.9 mi away
Forest Park House B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cesh Corran
Cesh Corran
#6 of 9 in Boyle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rosdarrig Bed & Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Linsfort Guest House B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lough Key House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lough Key House

Property: Lough Key House
Address: Carrick Road (N4), Boyle, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Roscommon > Boyle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Boyle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lough Key House is a small but pleasing Georgian period house located next to the main entrance of the beautiful Lough Key Forest Park. It has 6 bedrooms in total: 3 rather grand & 3 more modest in the back of the house. All for the enjoyment of guests and also provides a sumptuous feast as breakfast: a generous buffet of fruits and cereals as well as fresh herb omelettes or eggs scrambled with smoked salmon. It is beautifully decorated and furnished and the welcome is genuinely as warm as the open fires. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Lough Key House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lough Key House Hotel Boyle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing