We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Key to the perfect stay- Chopin, rhubarb, and a delicious four poster bed.”
Review of Lough Key House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lough Key House
Ranked #1 of 8 Boyle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 8, 2013

The pleasure was all ours from the moment we walked through the door at Lough Key house. Frances is the warmest, most welcoming maitre d'maison I have ever met.

We were greeted with afternoon tea, served with stewed rhubarb, perfectly tart, with some yoghurt, and the "delux Lough Key blend of tea. The piece de resistance however was the live piano recital by Emily. Chopin's Nocturne on the baby grand set the tone for our perfect overnight.

The house is a hive of intrigue, chock-a-block with antiques, art, and various charms (special V & A scissors for cutting grapes!) and breakfast was the best breakfast I have had in any B&B or hotel. Beautifully stewed fresh fruit, excellent yoghurt, granola, and the perfect pancake. Our four poster bed was magnificent, fresh with crispy linen, and fluffy pillows. The bath too was a delight.

I'm really looking forward to going back here, and bringing friends with me.

Frances gives B & B a new identity and truly raises the bar. Irish accommodation should take lessons from Lough Key House.

Bravo Bravo and I look forward to my encore

SheKa

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank She B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (178)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 178 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2013

Well, what can you say about lovely Lough Key House that hasn't been said already by the other 79 reviewers? From the initial booking to the fond farewell we were treated like royalty by Frances during our stay and made to feel like part of her family. I have stayed all over Ireland and this was genuinely the most relaxing and friendly place I have stayed. Now, it might have helped that we had the run of Frances' huge Georgian house to ourselves but we had a wonderful time. We arrived late but were greeted by Frances with tea and a roaring fire in the lounge. We were travelling with our baby daughter and Frances kindly upgraded us to the beautiful "Red Room" at no extra cost - huge four-poster bed and en suite bathroom. Breakfast on both mornings was a smorgasbord of fruit, cereals and several cooked options all made to order plus homemade bread! Frances is a lovely, warm and entertaining host who made us feel like we were at home. In fact, she popped out for the night and left us with the whole house to ourselves!! A truly lovely couple of days and a big thank you to Frances for such amazing hospitality. We come to Sligo/Roscommon often and we will be back!

Room Tip: Call Frances direct and avoid the comparison websites or bookings.com etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Redmondo67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We had a family occasion and could not have found a more perfect venue for our group of 16. At Lough Key House we were greeted whith a very warm welcome and Frances and her family made every effort to make our stay as relaxing as possible. We opted for bed breakfast and 3 course meal all of which was top quality. What a treat to stay here in amazing 4 poster beds with country views, to be served a delicious home cooked meals for dinner and breakfast at the long table in the superb dining room and relax after in the drawing room with its antique furniture and roaring fire.This is a truely special get away, so 6 stars from us!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SusieC457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

This was our third stay at Lough Key House and standards continue to be excellent. Frances is so welcoming and she endeavours to cater for all your needs. Can highly recommend Lough Key House.Excellent value!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary-Leigh11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

...but I will try.
I saw Frances' gorgeous house on 'At your service' and immediately knew it would offer what i wanted to host my birthday in October 2012.
We headed down in convoy from places as far away as western Canada and London and indeed Kilkenny, a group of 16 people(including 3 children) to eat and stay at Lough Key House. A huge welcome awaited us. Rooms all decked out, fires lighting, the smell of roast pork wafting from the kitchen....
Buttercup and Gwen were delighted to see us again and welcomed our canine travelling companions(which really brings the number to 18), who slept comfortably in their own 'bespoke accommodation' for the duration.
Friday night, we 'inned and outed' to Carrick for a bite. Upon return, we sat by the (always lighting) turf fire for a chat until late. It was like being at home only she had enough sofas to fit us all... We retired to our opulent rooms in the wee hours, each one individually decorated and furnished. Fireplaces, 4 poster beds, roll top baths, soft towels, 1 million thread count linen (ok maybe not 1 million).....all in a days work for Frances.
Saturday morning, up and ready for the day at Lough Key Forest Park(3 minute walk to entrance)
Homemade wholesome breakfast with delicious homemade breads and jams... huge selection and everything cooked to order... with a smile and a laugh for the guests and the fire lit in the breakfast room. Endless pots of tea or coffee and linger as long as you like.
Some headed off for the day to walk, some hung on to read by the fire(still lighting)
Saturday night was the birthday dinner. 5 courses, all home made and magnificently delivered by Frances' team. Lots of it from the garden and more locally produced.
We supplied our own wine and other drinks and Frances has refrigeration set aside in the dining room for same.
We went on until the small hours...
Big smiles again on Sunday with breakfast for so many. Same choices, nothing gets forgotten...
We had the birthday cake and coffee at 12 before a lot of the 'weaker'guests headed off. The birthday girl and the Canadians (and the dogs) stayed an extra night to chill... so glad we did.
There is nothing I would change about this special weekend, and my husband feels the same.
It was everything I hoped for.
Superb service, superb surroundings, superb food,superb management. What more could you
ever want? superb is the highest level of excellence...
Thanks Frances. We will see you again in the spring for a night or two, alas minus one of our canine family.
I thought I said there were no words?
D

Room Tip: Red room...my favourite... but i am a bit of a diva, so some may prefer more understated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank QueenofChina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

Firstly a massive thankyou to Frances,what a lovley lady and what a lovley place,the attention to detail is superb.my wife booked a suprise break,and what a surprise we both got when we drove up the drive to see an outstanding building but once greeted buy Frances with a very warm welcome,I couldn't believe just how beautifull it is inside,spotlessly clean and the breakfast is simply the best iv every had,we were planing another return trip as we were heading home.thanks again Frances and a very merry Xmas and a happy new year see you soon,steve and Gayle xxx

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steven F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Our weekend started with a warm welcome at the door from our host for the weekend Francis, who showed us to our room "The Yellow Room". Beaufiful bedroom, with warm comfy 4 poster bed and white fluffy towels. Attention to detail in the bedroom delighful. We were then given afternoon tea which was a delight with stewed plums, yogurt and freshly brewed tea and coffee. Breakfast the following morning so fresh and filling with homemade breads, freshly squeezed orange juice and cooked to order breakfast yummy. Dinner that evening was 5 course's and each course was better than the one before, it was so filling however some of us managed seconds!!!! the homemade breads, home grown vegetables and excellent company of the other guests made it one of the most enjoyable meals I have had in a long time. The ambience in the room was lovely with the twinkling candle light, the roaring fire and the gentle music really set the scene. Retire to the sitting room after dinner for tea, coffee and choclates and to while away the evening in front of the roaring fire bliss!!!!!

All the guest staying in the B&B eat their meals at one large table which is a lovely idea and nice way to get to know your fellow guests and allows for some interesting conversations!!!

If you want to stay in a warm welcoming house were your treated like a friend rather than a guest then stay here.

I cant recommend the house enough and cant wait for my return visit. (I want to stay in the pink room the next time)

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boyle
24.1 mi away
Abbey Hotel
Abbey Hotel
#1 of 3 in Roscommon
698 reviews
1.8 mi away
Rosdarrig Bed & Breakfast
4.7 mi away
Amber B&B
Amber B&B
#6 of 8 in Boyle
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 mi away
Forest Park House B&B
2.1 mi away
Cesh Corran
Cesh Corran
#7 of 8 in Boyle
65 reviews
2.3 mi away
Linsfort Guest House B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lough Key House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lough Key House

Address: Carrick Road, Boyle, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Roscommon > Boyle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Boyle
Price Range: $114 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lough Key House is a small but pleasing Georgian period house located next to the main entrance of the beautiful Lough Key Forest Park. It has 6 bedrooms in total: 3 rather grand & 3 more modest in the back of the house. All for the enjoyment of guests and also provides a sumptuous feast as breakfast: a generous buffet of fruits and cereals as well as fresh herb omelettes or eggs scrambled with smoked salmon. It is beautifully decorated and furnished and the welcome is genuinely as warm as the open fires. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Lough Key House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lough Key House Hotel Boyle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing