We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Quality Food!"”

Ait Eile at Gilroys
Ranked #1 of 13 Restaurants in Enniscrone
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary, Irish, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Romantic, Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A truly unique location - by the beach and yet centrally located on the Square in Enniscrone and on the Wild Atlantic Way. After you've let the sea air refresh you, treat yourself to a visit to Ait Eile Bistro. Ait Eile is operated by Enniscrone local, Anne O'Dowd and her partner Mark Tickle. Anne is passionate about the hospitality industry having worked in restaurants and various eateries in Ireland, Australia and New Zealand. Anne's aim is to use these influences to create a restaurant with fabulous food, a relaxing environment and with high levels of customer service. With locally sourced ingredients, a fresh healthy approach is taken to preparing and cooking dishes that are authentic to the region and packed full of flavour. Anne and Mark have employed a dedicated team and pride themselves in the high levels of customer service that they provide. And with Gilroys Bar just up the stairs, Ait Eile is a popular choice for all occasions. Ait Eile offers a booking service and is open 7 days a week, with a la carte and early bird menus available.
Midlands Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Quality Food!"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Dined here on more than one occasion during our one week stay in the area. Lovely location, great food & equally great atmosphere! Very friendly staff & I found it very good value for money.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TommyD_73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    65
    16
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Made my holiday!.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

Absolutely fantastic place. From the minute we walked in they looked after us and my 18 month old son with brilliance. They catered for him in seating, entertainment and food wise. Then they turned their attention to us. Really good menu and food cooked to perfection, If there's one thing I want to do before I die it's visit here again and have their surf and turf!. Definitely returning here.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonnyblakely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
119 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Best place to eat in town!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Have eaten in Ait Eile afew times over the summer and it never disappoints. The food is always very tasty and the restaurant offers lovely decor and scenery. It is great that the restaurant takes bookings again but even without a booking Ait Eile is worth the wait. A favourite of mine is the curry but I have dined with others who have had the lamb, steak, fish, burger and all have been impressed. There is a great selection of desserts and cocktails also. Ait Eile has really improved in the last few months. The new management has done a great job. The food and service are top notch!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LC_irish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Great food great menu and great price. Pizza very good so is homemade burger. Quick friendly service with no waiting for tables

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Snowdover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Another lives up to it's name and reputation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Very classy pub atmosphere upstairs. My wife and I, and 16 year old son and 20 year old daughter had some drinks upstairs on a Saturday evening. It was packed. Very nice crowd of people. We then were beeped for our dinner table downstairs where we all enjoyed a very nice meal. Again, excellent service, very good food and nice atmosphere. Although, it's a little bit of an upscale feel, so if you are looking for a true pub atmosphere, that's not exactly what you will find here. All in all a very nice evening, and excellent fare. We'd definitely head back here on our next trip.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank michael w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ait Eile at Gilroys also viewed

Enniscrone, County Sligo
Enniscrone, County Sligo
 
Enniscrone, County Sligo
 

Been to Ait Eile at Gilroys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing