We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In need of a makeover!”
Review of Waterpoint

Waterpoint
Ranked #4 of 11 things to do in Enniscrone
Attraction details
Ireland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“In need of a makeover!”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We visited one afternoon with the 3 kids and the kids did have a ball in the water and on the waterslide, but from an adults point of view it does need a serious makeover and revamping, the place looks like it hasn't been painted since the 80's! The changing rooms were not very clean either, nappies etc on the ground but I suppose that's just dirty people in general who can't pick up their waste after themselves. I would bring the kids back again but may not go into the pool myself the next time!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MrsKCIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    24
    15
    7
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
88 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Not good and not great”
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

I came here when I was young and came back once last year with a friend, its never the same. It's still the same old shabby swimming place. The pool is extremely cold that it can easily put you off and easily give you a cold but it is good to cool you off on a hot day, I have to say! Also the decor is filthy and full of stains which seriously needs a makeover. The whole place needs a makeover! It's not as better as Waterworld in Bundoran as they have multiple slides,more fitting rooms, the decor is swanky new and mulitiple pools to chose from. I would love to see Waterpoint like that! The only advantage of the place is the cones of the ice cream of your choice.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ggbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omagh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“waste of money”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Prices for this place are a disgrace for what you are presented with. Below basic pools, cold and not very clean. Awful. Was sick to think my husband and I had to pay 18euro to bring our 2 year old into this. Do not waste your money.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Oonagh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
127 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Deterioration of the worst kind.”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Visited here twice in 2010 and as staying in Sligo "City", just had to pop out here again. On the Tesco Vouchers Days Out so completely free for us to enter.

We had a lovely picnic outside in the lawn area and while we were there we noticed everything looking a bit shabby, hedges, lawn etc. Lines of stained rust from where metal roof meets the plaster totally destroying the look of a beautiful building, so simple to paint over.

Lockers changed from coin to key so great.

Immediately my husband notices the dirt. Real dampener. Had to go to three lockers in order to find a clean one. Loose grit in kids pool, dirt on the tiled floor, glass screens up around the seating chairs near the Jacuzzi in the over 16's area FILTHY and TOTALLY UNACCEPTABLE. Rust building up everywhere. My husband left the pool area fairly quick, would have seeked a refund if had paid full asking price of €9 an adult and €6 a child (€36).

On the positive side my eldest two enjoyed the waterslide 100% and stayed longer than us as it was so great.

There is a large playground up around the back and our shock and horror at the state of it. Grass has taken over the lovely barked area.

This such a shame and really if Waterpoint themselves cant afford to maintain the facilities, why not organise a volunteer day to get the place in shape offering a free swim etc to volunteers. one just has to think outside the box sometimes. Shame as this is a fabulous attraction to have in any town.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank PMcNGalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Steer clear”
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

unhygienic and overpriced. Pool was absolutely Filthy. May as well have been swimming in a toilet. Vulgar. My sons changing room had a used sanitary towel swept into the drain. Place should be shut down immediately.

Helpful?
Thank Munstermania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waterpoint also viewed

Enniscrone, County Sligo
 
Enniscrone, County Sligo
Enniscrone, County Sligo
 

Been to Waterpoint? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing