We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ocean Sands Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$155
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$217
$190
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$75
$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$95
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Great National Hotel Ballina(Ballina)(Great Value!)
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (625)
Filter reviews
625 results
Traveler rating
383
146
47
29
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
383
146
47
29
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspresidential suitesea viewfunction roomlast weekplay areaboth nightskeep up the good worksalmongreat weekendcouldn't do enoughbar restaurantlovely foodfantastic locationtop classenniscrone beachself cateringmain course
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
339 - 344 of 625 reviews
Reviewed March 28, 2014

My wife and i stayed at this hotel last weekend 21st till 24th march. It is such a beautifull place and the staff and food was brilliant. cant wait to go back. it is right on the beech and everyone is so nice. Also there is great entertantment on each weekend. It is so nice just to go walking on the beech or just chill out and have a drink in the lovely bar. Thanks to all the staff for a great time.

Room Tip: try for a sea view.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank william g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We stayed for two nights just after New Year and we can't fault the attitude and service of the staff. Every single member of staff who dealt with us, without exception, was kind and attentive and couldn't do enough for us.

The food was excellent - tasty, well presented and plentiful. Compliments to the talented chef!

The one big downside was noise. When we were being shown to our room on the 2nd floor we were aware of a loud, vibrating engine/fan type noise reverberating throughout the corridor which was also evident in our room. We thought it might be something to do with the heating or air conditioning. We didn't think too much about it at the time. Unfortunately it was still causing the whole room to vibrate at midnight, which combined with the noise from the Saturday night entertainment meant any chance of getting any sleep was unlikely. At around 1.00am my husband went down to reception to complain and the helpful night porter gave us keys to a room at the end of the corridor. Bliss! The entertainer had finished by this time and there was no A/C noise. Unfortunately when we returned to our new room the following evening the noise was there with a vengeance and was particularly bad in the bathroom. We complained again as we couldn't face a repeat of the previous night and the receptionist came up to the room to listen for herself. She agreed it was very noisy, but thought it might be kitchen fans which would switch off at 8.00pm. We didn't want to take the chance of it persisting throughout the night again, so the receptionist moved us to yet another room, this time on the first floor where we had a lovely quiet, peaceful second night. (It probably wouldn't have been quiet the previous night, being directly above the entertainer in the bar!)

The staff must have thought we were guests from hell, having three different rooms over two nights! I have to say, all the rooms were very nice - tasteful neutral decor and spotlessly clean. Thank you once again for your kindness and helpfulness. The manager also gave us a discount on our final bill for our inconvenience and said she would get the air conditioning units serviced.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Clare B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Excellent value hotel. A group of ten of us stayed here for a few nights. The hotel was clean, cosy and served very good food each day.
Situated within a two minute walk to the extensive Enniscrone beach - it is ideally located and a perfect location to relax. The staff couldn't be more helpful and always attentive to detail. We will definitely be returning here.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

I would like to thank Teresa and all the staff at the Ocean Sands Hotel for making our day so wonderful. The lead up to the wedding was hassle free as Teresa was on top of everything and her experience and professionalism didnt go unnoticed. Everything from the drinks reception to the meal was superb and the function room itself looked spectacular. I had never been to a wedding in the Ocean Sands before but had heard a lot of good things about it but the whole experience exceeded our expectations.Even the girls on reception were so outstanding. Two months later people are still commenting on how fantastic the meal was (especially how tender the beef was). Thanks guys for everything and I wish ye every success in the future

Sinead and Nicky

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank Sinead O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Well we decided to go to The Ocean Sands for Sunday dinner and thought everything was great until something happened that would result in never returning!! It's a shame really, because we were very happy with everything to begin with, the dinner came out to us piping hot and it tasted lovely and the food was freshly cooked too. But that was only to last all of 5 minutes!! I had just finished dishing out my veg when I could feel this cool breeze! We were looking around to see did somebody leave a door to the outside open but this was not the case! We carried on eating, but as this cool breeze wasn't going away, we started to get annoyed because our 'once piping hot' dinner was going stone cold in a matter of minutes! It was really annoying and a couple who had just sat in beside us were wondering where the cold air was coming from aswell. They sat there shivering aswell as ourselves! I was wondering why they were not going to move elsewhere as they had not got their order yet. As I said everything was grand before we got our food, it's just that someone decided that they were too hot(in February on a fairly cold day!!) and put on the bloody air conditioning!!! I'd say we had our food on the table 5 or 10 minutes then the breeze came. We sat complaining to ourselves until we finally complained to a waitress who was enquiring was everything ok! And this was the final nail in the coffin...we just said it's very cold where we were sitting and that there was a breeze from the air conditiong making our dinners stone cold, and she just replied through a giggly laugh 'oh really, do you think? Im very hot myself'!!!! So, we compained to a waitress, and instead of her apologising or trying to mend the situation, all we got was the waitress complaining back to us!!! I think it would be pretty obvious why she would be 'very hot', she was running around while we were sitting in one place, trying to eat a dinner!! I don't think this was acceptable and especially for the time of year when there was absolutely no need for cold air to be circulating over people's heads, while they were trying to enjoy an otherwise lovely meal! We ate what we could of the now cold dinner and got up, paid and left very unhappy! We were disappointed that we could'nt stay for dessert but we were freezing at this stage, and in no way happy to stay and endure another half hour or so in a draft! It is a shame because everything was grand apart from the breeze over us ,and the complaint to a disinterested waitress. Needless to say, if we ever do go back it will be a long time!! If you are not happy because of an unfortunate incident it takes a while to shake off the bad experience!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mag L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews