We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Customer Service and Food, but Noisy”
Review of Ocean Sands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ocean Sands Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Enniscrone
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Customer Service and Food, but Noisy”
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We stayed for two nights just after New Year and we can't fault the attitude and service of the staff. Every single member of staff who dealt with us, without exception, was kind and attentive and couldn't do enough for us.

The food was excellent - tasty, well presented and plentiful. Compliments to the talented chef!

The one big downside was noise. When we were being shown to our room on the 2nd floor we were aware of a loud, vibrating engine/fan type noise reverberating throughout the corridor which was also evident in our room. We thought it might be something to do with the heating or air conditioning. We didn't think too much about it at the time. Unfortunately it was still causing the whole room to vibrate at midnight, which combined with the noise from the Saturday night entertainment meant any chance of getting any sleep was unlikely. At around 1.00am my husband went down to reception to complain and the helpful night porter gave us keys to a room at the end of the corridor. Bliss! The entertainer had finished by this time and there was no A/C noise. Unfortunately when we returned to our new room the following evening the noise was there with a vengeance and was particularly bad in the bathroom. We complained again as we couldn't face a repeat of the previous night and the receptionist came up to the room to listen for herself. She agreed it was very noisy, but thought it might be kitchen fans which would switch off at 8.00pm. We didn't want to take the chance of it persisting throughout the night again, so the receptionist moved us to yet another room, this time on the first floor where we had a lovely quiet, peaceful second night. (It probably wouldn't have been quiet the previous night, being directly above the entertainer in the bar!)

The staff must have thought we were guests from hell, having three different rooms over two nights! I have to say, all the rooms were very nice - tasteful neutral decor and spotlessly clean. Thank you once again for your kindness and helpfulness. The manager also gave us a discount on our final bill for our inconvenience and said she would get the air conditioning units serviced.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Clare B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    133
    42
    25
    18
See reviews for
242
191
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Excellent value hotel. A group of ten of us stayed here for a few nights. The hotel was clean, cosy and served very good food each day.
Situated within a two minute walk to the extensive Enniscrone beach - it is ideally located and a perfect location to relax. The staff couldn't be more helpful and always attentive to detail. We will definitely be returning here.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

I would like to thank Teresa and all the staff at the Ocean Sands Hotel for making our day so wonderful. The lead up to the wedding was hassle free as Teresa was on top of everything and her experience and professionalism didnt go unnoticed. Everything from the drinks reception to the meal was superb and the function room itself looked spectacular. I had never been to a wedding in the Ocean Sands before but had heard a lot of good things about it but the whole experience exceeded our expectations.Even the girls on reception were so outstanding. Two months later people are still commenting on how fantastic the meal was (especially how tender the beef was). Thanks guys for everything and I wish ye every success in the future

Sinead and Nicky

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Sinead O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Sligo, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Well we decided to go to The Ocean Sands for Sunday dinner and thought everything was great until something happened that would result in never returning!! It's a shame really, because we were very happy with everything to begin with, the dinner came out to us piping hot and it tasted lovely and the food was freshly cooked too. But that was only to last all of 5 minutes!! I had just finished dishing out my veg when I could feel this cool breeze! We were looking around to see did somebody leave a door to the outside open but this was not the case! We carried on eating, but as this cool breeze wasn't going away, we started to get annoyed because our 'once piping hot' dinner was going stone cold in a matter of minutes! It was really annoying and a couple who had just sat in beside us were wondering where the cold air was coming from aswell. They sat there shivering aswell as ourselves! I was wondering why they were not going to move elsewhere as they had not got their order yet. As I said everything was grand before we got our food, it's just that someone decided that they were too hot(in February on a fairly cold day!!) and put on the bloody air conditioning!!! I'd say we had our food on the table 5 or 10 minutes then the breeze came. We sat complaining to ourselves until we finally complained to a waitress who was enquiring was everything ok! And this was the final nail in the coffin...we just said it's very cold where we were sitting and that there was a breeze from the air conditiong making our dinners stone cold, and she just replied through a giggly laugh 'oh really, do you think? Im very hot myself'!!!! So, we compained to a waitress, and instead of her apologising or trying to mend the situation, all we got was the waitress complaining back to us!!! I think it would be pretty obvious why she would be 'very hot', she was running around while we were sitting in one place, trying to eat a dinner!! I don't think this was acceptable and especially for the time of year when there was absolutely no need for cold air to be circulating over people's heads, while they were trying to enjoy an otherwise lovely meal! We ate what we could of the now cold dinner and got up, paid and left very unhappy! We were disappointed that we could'nt stay for dessert but we were freezing at this stage, and in no way happy to stay and endure another half hour or so in a draft! It is a shame because everything was grand apart from the breeze over us ,and the complaint to a disinterested waitress. Needless to say, if we ever do go back it will be a long time!! If you are not happy because of an unfortunate incident it takes a while to shake off the bad experience!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mag L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Arrived yesterday afternoon. Greeted with warm welcome. All staff seem well trained and will do anything for you. Seaweed baths within walking distance-a must for everyone. Horseriding 5miles up the road. Take part in a lesson, go for a hack or gallop on beach(weather permitting). Again, very nice people and great time had!!
If you want to stay put, there are many walking opportunities, play park/indoor play area for the kids. Plenty to do.
Only downside(and this is me being picky)tv in room poor, only 4channels and room temp difficult to control even with our own thermostat. Found hotel a bit chilly at times.
But really. An enjoyable weekend, maybe come back in the summer with the kids!
Oh by the way-get a meal in Gilroys(next door to hotel). Fantastic atmosphere, staff and food. Five stars for that!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mooshbex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We stayed at the Ocean Sands hotel on 17th & 18th January the hotel is a nice warm friendly one with great staff but we were very dissapointed with our evening meal on Friday night in the bar (resturant was closed) the food was not good however we have to say breakfast on both mornings was good. Went for a long refreshing walk along the beach and spent a few hours in Ballina a quaint little town nearby. The Resturant beside the hotel and the little pub up the street were highly recommend for food so we opted for the pub on our second night as you had to book the resturant. After having to wait a short while for a table we were treated to a very tasty meal all made from scratch in the points kitchen. Will hopefully get back again sometime.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ang0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letterkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stayed here on the 17th and 18th of Jan 2014. Its just such a fab hotel you just dont want to come home again. This was our second time to stay here all staff, food and welcome that you get just makes you relax rightaway. The walks are fantastic on the beach you can walk for miles if you want. Hope to get back here soon.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view it is just beautiful to wkke up and look out at the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pauline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Enniscrone
0.4 mi away
Diamond Coast Hotel
Diamond Coast Hotel
#2 of 3 in Enniscrone
782 reviews
0.3 mi away
Waterfront House
Waterfront House
#1 of 3 in Enniscrone
310 reviews
6.8 mi away
Twin Trees Hotel
Twin Trees Hotel
#5 of 9 in Ballina
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Ballina Manor Hotel
Ballina Manor Hotel
#6 of 9 in Ballina
459 reviews
9.1 mi away
Great National Hotel Ballina
6.2 mi away
The Ice House Hotel
The Ice House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Ballina
1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Sands Hotel

Property: Ocean Sands Hotel
Address: Main Street, Enniscrone, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Enniscrone
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Enniscrone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Sands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Enniscrone, a picturesque seaside town in County Sligo, this hotel is situated on a hill overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, near to 5 km of golden beach. The hotel enjoys spectacular views of Killala Bay, Enniscrone Pier and the Valley of Diamonds. Located within 5 minutes walk of the hotel is Enniscrone's Championship Golf Links. Children’s activities in the area include Waterpoint, a fully-equipped water park, health suite and sports centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Hotel.de so you can book your Ocean Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ocean Sands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing