We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oct trip”
Review of Ocean Sands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ocean Sands Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Enniscrone
Certificate of Excellence
belfast
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Oct trip”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

I've just returned from a week end trip to the ocean sands and can't praise the hotel enough.the food was excellent,rooms spacious,very clean,but the best aspect was the staff.every single member of staff we encountered over the week end were very friendly,helpfull and always greeted us with a smile.with a superb location I'd certainly give it a go

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garyjamison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    133
    42
    25
    18
See reviews for
242
191
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We had our wedding reception at the Ocean Sands hotel in July 2013 choosing it because of it’s ideal location and setting right on the beachfront. All of our guests enjoyed fabulous views and it was great to have both the beach and local amenities within a stones throw. We really can't speak highly enough about the management and all the staff who were extremely friendly and highly efficient at all times - no request was too much trouble! Our wedding day could not have run any smoother and that was down to their experience and professionalism, even when dealing with our last minute requests. All of the food was absolutely first class and we still receive lots of compliments from our guests about it! In addition, we had plenty of kids at our wedding and the hotel playroom was very much appreciated by the parents in our party. Every single one of our guests including the many who stayed at the hotel had an amazing time and couldn't speak highly enough about it! Many have travelled the world and said the customer service, rooms, food and location at the Ocean Sands was second to none. We really can't give enough thanks and praise to everyone at the Ocean Sands for making our wedding weekend so happy and memorable! Darren & Kerry

Room Tip: The seaview rooms are just fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank physhald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

If you are looking for the ultimate Irish wedding venue, you need look no further than the Ocean Sands in Enniscrone. After seeing the hotel on the website, we began talking to Teresa and we travelled from England to visit the hotel on a miserable day in January 2013. We were treated to the very best in Irish hospitality before the staff even knew that we were looking for a wedding venue and the atmosphere inside was anything but miserable. Teresa took the time to show us around and although we had planned to see a few other wedding venues that day, there was no need, we were sold and booked immediately. Booking from overseas was as easy as being in Enniscrone as everything was done with such ease. Once we had booked, the next stage was to do a tasting in Spring 2013 and this was an experience in itself. All courses were served just as they would be at the wedding. We were a little unsure about which particular symphony of deserts to go for, but this didn't matter, the chef just created a new one for us. ('Bespoke' being the in word of 2013). Two days before our wedding, we arrived in Enniscrone and sat down with Teresa to chat through the final details. She commented that she couldn't believe how calm we were, but really this was just a reflection of her calm and organisation which meant we had absolutely nothing to worry about. I had made my own wedding cake and was a little nervous of stacking it, once again, no need to worry, the Ocean Sands just took it off my hands. Like ourselves, our guests were completely overwhelmed by the welcome they were given as soon as they arrived in the Ocean Sands; nothing was too much trouble. Less than 7 months after our first trip, it was time for the wedding day itself, 2nd August 2013. The wedding day experience could not have been topped. People from all over the globe commented that the food was the best they had ever tasted at a wedding and a dance was definitely needed later to work it all off! The dinner was served with pace, precision and gentleness (individual vegetable bowls were appreciated by all). The staff were friendly, accommodating and those behind the bar ensured that nobody had a chance to work up a thirst. Cillian, the MC, put everyone at ease and was professional throughout. One of the main selling points for us was having a function room with a view which really lifted the atmosphere as we watched the day fade into the party of the night. We are still staggered by the value for money that we and our guests enjoyed at the Ocean Sands for such professionalism and service. We thank Teresa and Mark most sincerely, as do all of our guests; many of whom will be returning for a short break in this most idyllic spot of Enniscrone. We are forever grateful and can't wait to go back and recommend the Ocean Sands for you whole heartedly! Tara and Rory

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Had a great time at my brothers wedding here. Great venue in a brilliant location with plenty of outdoor space to sit, have a drink and enjoy the views. Staff were always on hand and everything went off without a problem. Mountains of food! Thought I wasn't going to be fit for it all but it was too good not to!! Having a dedicated playroom for the kids was a nice touch.

My bedroom was big and spacious with excellent views of the beach and sea. The bathroom was very clean and modern and thankfully there was plenty of hot water in the morning for my shower - my biggest pet peeve when staying in hotels! Price was very reasonable and then they gave the wedding guest discount on top of it which was even better!

Would happily stay again and reccommend it to firends.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room with a view of the beach. Not to be missed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We had our wedding in the Ocean Sands in July 2013. It was a fantastic experience from start to finish. The hotel was exceptional in accommodating our wishes which resulted in the wedding exactly as we wanted. Teresa, the wedding co-ordinator, was a dream to deal with. The day we married was 30 plus degrees so we had our drinks reception on the veranda at the back of the hotel by the sea. The hotel served mojitos which added to the holiday atmosphere. Our guests all commented on how much they enjoyed this part of the day. The hotel were so accommodating that they delayed the dinner as it was such a nice day and the guests were enjoying themselves so much outside. The food was fantastic and people were commenting weeks after about how much they enjoyed the dinner. Overall it was a wonderful experience and we can’t speak highly enough of the hotel. The three main features of the hotel are the beautiful location, the great food and helpfulness of the staff and management.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Karl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We got married in August this year (2013) and we couldn't have been happier with the hotel. So many times was it so hard to get a straight answer to a question when we were searching for a hotel, that it was a breath of fresh air to talk to Teresa, the wedding coordinator, and find out answers to all the questions that had been bothering us beforehand. Our decision was made up with in a half an hour.
We did not believe that everything could be so seemless, but really from start to finish, Teresa and her team were just so so good to us, so friendly on every front and we just felt like we were so lucky to have found such a hotel at such a good price.
I was afraid that maybe on the day, if something went wrong, it was too late at that time to do anything about it. However, on the day, I thought that the team went more than out of their way to do all that they could for us, they were amazing and we didn't have to worry about anything at anytime.
I could go on about how happy we were but really, if it is the hotel for you will know as soon as you go. It takes the wedding back to what it should be - stress free, full of happiness and no nonsense good honest hospitality. If you are looking for pompous, over priced and pretentious, then this may not be for you. Otherwise, I can safely say, it is a wonderful, wonderful venue. Thank you to Teresa and the team once again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keira K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Donegal, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a wedding 2 weeks ago. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay even though it was only for one night. The food was fabulous and the staff were really helpful and friendly. The room was modern and very comfortable. I wouldn't hesitate to stay again :)

Much thanks, Amy.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank AmyGor96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Enniscrone
0.4 mi away
Diamond Coast Hotel
Diamond Coast Hotel
#2 of 3 in Enniscrone
782 reviews
0.3 mi away
Waterfront House
Waterfront House
#1 of 3 in Enniscrone
310 reviews
6.8 mi away
Twin Trees Hotel
Twin Trees Hotel
#5 of 9 in Ballina
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Ballina Manor Hotel
Ballina Manor Hotel
#6 of 9 in Ballina
459 reviews
9.1 mi away
Great National Hotel Ballina
6.2 mi away
The Ice House Hotel
The Ice House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Ballina
1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Sands Hotel

Property: Ocean Sands Hotel
Address: Main Street, Enniscrone, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Enniscrone
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Enniscrone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Sands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Enniscrone, a picturesque seaside town in County Sligo, this hotel is situated on a hill overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, near to 5 km of golden beach. The hotel enjoys spectacular views of Killala Bay, Enniscrone Pier and the Valley of Diamonds. Located within 5 minutes walk of the hotel is Enniscrone's Championship Golf Links. Children’s activities in the area include Waterpoint, a fully-equipped water park, health suite and sports centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Hotel.de so you can book your Ocean Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ocean Sands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing