We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value Restaurant, Excellent Food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fox's Lair Bar & Restaurant

Fox's Lair Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 28 Restaurants in Bundoran
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $30
Cuisines: Irish, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are a homely bar & restaurant just of the main street with a full bar available. We cater for all occasions and our is aim is to provide you the most enjoyable relaxing evening possible, from when you com in the door you can sit and relax in-front of the open fire in our bar and have a drink while we take your order and prepare you food an once ready you will be shown to you table in our tranquil dinning room.
Leitrim, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Value Restaurant, Excellent Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Situated beside the Garda station, and it being out-of-season in Bundoran, this restaurant was quiet when we visited, with just a few local couples dining. The food was excellent and portion sizes were enormous. Well worth it acquiring a dog so that you have an reason to take home a doggy-bag! Service was very friendly, and the whole place had a relaxed atmosphere. Highly recommended, and well worth a visit - especially if you're VERY hungry.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom_Yerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    14
    3
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Armagh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“guaranteed satisfaction”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

beautiful food great service! generous portions and mouthwatering food. the mussels are to die for. worth returning for alone! Steak always cooked to perfection. great variety of fresh fish on menu served with delicious sauces. The chef is a genius! Staff sometimes bring lollies out to the children, which is a nice touch. kids menu is well catered for too. We wouldn't eat anywhere else in bundoran. Love it!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank McCooey230176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
60 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Never had a bad meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

lovely friendly service, great food, relaxed dining. Really enjoyed venison, crab claws also excellent

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank shaun3001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Anyone visiting or passing through Bundoran,u have to visit Fox's Lair,unreal meal-couldn finish it!!superb..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Stayed in bundoran for 2 nights,and the local B+B owner recommended Fox's lair to us,he said it was quality,but he didn't tell us actually how good-i never bother wit giving reviews,etc but I had to comment on this place,it was the biggest,nicest meal I've had-and it was very reasonable-dont go there if ur not hungry!!it was excellent and the lady who owns it couldn't have been nicer...

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank drominagaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

The décor is a bit dated but reasonably clean. One of the staff, possibly the manager or owner was a little bit over attentive, overbearing and too familiar despite never having met her before.
We had mushrooms and chowder for starters, it looked like the mushrooms had been breaded the day before and the filling had fallen out along the way. The chowder was nice enough but it seemed more like a soup which had been made into a chowder by adding some seafood.

We had steak and baked fish for mains, the steak was tough and undercooked for well-done as ordered and the fish was overcooked and dry. We decided not to order dessert.
Neither of us would visit again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fox's Lair Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Bundoran, County Donegal
Bundoran, County Donegal
 
Bundoran, County Donegal
 

Been to Fox's Lair Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing