We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab food”

Fox's Lair Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 28 Restaurants in Bundoran
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $31
Cuisines: Irish, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are a homely bar & restaurant just of the main street with a full bar available. We cater for all occasions and our is aim is to provide you the most enjoyable relaxing evening possible, from when you com in the door you can sit and relax in-front of the open fire in our bar and have a drink while we take your order and prepare you food an once ready you will be shown to you table in our tranquil dinning room.
Rep of Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fab food”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Have eaten here many times and have rarely been disappointed. Huge choice. For all you meat lovers the steaks are huge and delicious. Hubby loves the garlic mussels (huge amount) but the stuffed mushrooms are to die for....!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank OrlaWinters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    17
    3
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“excellent food and excellent service”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

we have been going to the fox's lair for a number of years and i have yet to come across a place with food so delicious and fantastic service not forgetting great value for money.. the garlic mushrooms are a must... from the steak to the chicken kiev etc it can not be faulted in any way..you wont be disappointed.. Dessie & Donna

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Dissappointing.”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

A group of us booked a table for fifteen in early September and it was a total turn-off and utter dissappointment. The table was booked for 8 and we were ushered into the bar, where the manageress informed us someone would take our order and we waited and waited...until at 9.40pm, one member of the group asked a member of staff could our order be taken and when were we to be seated. Finally at 10.10pm, over two hours from our arranged booking, we were brought into the dining room. The manageress on duty was in her late 50's and she seemed to me to have no interest in our group aswell. The food was good but the delays between the courses were outrageous.Two hours later, after finishing our starter and dinner, we asked could we have the dessert menu as some of us was heading home - finally at midnight we had our dessert and left. Four hours after arranged time. If Foxs Lair cannot facilitate a group on a specific date and time, please let us know at the time of booking! We wouldnt have to pay extra for babysitters or have to eat food at such a late time.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank shelles24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

Great restaurant in bundoran. Huge portions. Delicious food. The crab claws are my favourite. Never fails. Great atmosphere. Love it. The straks are amazing as are all the fish dishes

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Niamh N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyrone
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“5* CUSTOMER SERVICE”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

After a walk on a blustery afternoon we came across the Fox's Lair and stopped to view the menu. We were greeted by the owner and invited in to warm ourselves at the open fire in the lounge bar. Though the special set menu was only available during the week the owner accommodated our needs immediately. Five hungry diners were meet-ed, greeted, watered and fed! Our three course meal cost only 25 Euro for good home cooked food. The steaks were amazing. Sincere thanks to all the staff especially the Chief Michael. We had the Rolls Royce of dining experiences-well done!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mucknamee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fox's Lair Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Bundoran, County Donegal
Bundoran, County Donegal
 
Bundoran, County Donegal
 

Been to Fox's Lair Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing