We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very disappointed”
Review of The Holyrood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Holyrood Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bundoran
Reviewed June 11, 2010

booked hotel for 5 night stay room we were given was really dirty, tiles off wall in bathroom cracked sink, bath dirty, towels were grey not white. Bed covers not fresh made complaint and we were moved to a different room next day for rest of holiday.Room that we were given was ok but not great. Staff on reception were helpful but could not give full marks for rest of staff. Would we stay again? NO would we recommend? NO

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank titch45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,220)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,137 - 1,143 of 1,220 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2010

This is the dingiest and dirtiest hotel my family and I have ever stayed in.It is absolutely beyond me how the health and safety authority has no closed it down.Apart from the mould and mildew in the rooms the broken plug sockets and lack of fire alarm in rooms pose a bigger threat.There is a ten euro deposit for the remote and even that dosent ensure your viewing as tv didn't work even with remote.Rang reception and got arrogant man who seemed to be working the whole weekend also illegal,who got very annoyed and said he would come up to room.Hadn't arrived within half hour so rang again and got shouted at.Stayed in room 227 which was second room we were originally booked into room 136.We were in the room 5 minutes and decided we could not stay there.The room was absolutely filthy I don't know what was on the walls and wouldn't care to know either.The curtains were hanging off their rail.I would not recommend this Kip yo my worst enemy.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank facebookrules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2010

Stayed in this hotel for the June bank holiday firstly found the car park easily we arrived early at 11am could not get our room keys till 3.30pm which I thought was rather late the rooms were ok but old fashioned no airconditioning the tv was small with no remote control the hotel is getting run down and needs to be modernised especially the bedrooms but it was still good value and we got a good Irish breakfast in the morning looking on a plus side this hotel has good leisure facilities with a kiddies club and plenty of activities for children, the hotel is situated in bundoran town which makes it easy for people to visit the local amusement arcades and the beach and restaurants and shops, the last nite was spoiled somewhat with the noise coming from a niteclub very near the hotel the noise woke me up which went on for two hours.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tedyea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2010

I have stayed in many hotels in Ireland and this has to be the worst one. the price was a rip off for the quality of the room. The staff were very rude especially one particular girl who was serving the food. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to my worst enemy.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackieDerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2010

i stayed in room 227 for 3 nights from 31st may with my partner and child who is 3 years of age.The room was big but tv was connected by an extention which was rapped with tape and my daughter could get at it.Also the bathroom had broken tiles on the floor which my daughter cut her toe,bathroom didnt have a bath mat which my daughter fell and my partner nearlly fell no safety handle to stop yourself ,would hate to be an elderly person.Food was rotting,As for the kids play area it was ready to fall down,and full of dogs faeces in which on the third day there the pool attentent came out with a dust pan and a golf club to clean the area unreal.Now for the good part STAFF WAS LOVELY AND POOL AREA WAS GOOD MY DAUGHTER LIKED IT.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snowy0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2010

The whole family had an incredable time. Staff very helpfull. Rooms very comfortable.
Food great and very good value. Lots of activities near by.
Would highly recommend you stay here for a break.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ursula186600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2010

Thought we would have a nice break away, rooms were dirty, hotel was a mess, family hotel no way, you would do good to drive right by.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ricky1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bundoran
0.5 mi away
Great Northern Hotel
Great Northern Hotel
#4 of 5 in Bundoran
1,038 reviews
0.2 mi away
Allingham Arms Hotel
Allingham Arms Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bundoran
379 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#5 of 5 in Bundoran
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Fitzgerald's Hotel
Fitzgerald's Hotel
#3 of 5 in Bundoran
159 reviews
5.9 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Holyrood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Holyrood Hotel

Address: Main Street, Bundoran, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Bundoran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bundoran
Price Range: $102 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Holyrood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holyrood Hotel, Bundoran has always been renowned for its warmth and hospitality down through the years. The first of the McEniff Hotels, it has been in the family for three generations.Managed by Seanie and Audrey McEniff, they carry on a proud tradition which has been handed on by Mrs. Elizabeth McEniff, Founder of the hotel group.The Holyrood Hotel with its well appointed and spacious ensuite bedrooms, ensures that guests enjoy the comfort and stress free environment they have become to expect from the Holyrood Hotel. Located just a stones throw away from Blue Flag Beaches, a world renowned 18 hole links Golf course, and shadowed by the Darty Mountains. The Holyrood Hotel can only captivate you and yours.One can experience the truly traditional atmosphere in the Waterfront Bar. Spacious and beautifully decorated. Sit in real comfort and sample a wine from our wide ranging cellar or perhaps try one of our exotic cocktails. An extensive bar menu is available in the Waterfront Bar daily.With beautiful views over Donegal bay you won't find a more Soothing place to unwind with a drink and watch the sun setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Holyrood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Holyrood Bundoran
Hotel New Holyrood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing