We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely clean hotel with comfortable large rooms”
Review of The Holyrood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Holyrood Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bundoran
Reviewed November 13, 2009

Recently stayed overnight in the holyrood hotel with my husband & 18 month old. Really could not praise the room we had enough. Large room, new cot for baby, plenty of space, room was to the front of the hotel along the main road but not at all noisy. Very child friendly hotel & a lot of activities on for them. Enjoyed a lovely back massage also before checkout. Safe carparking & room & breakfast very good value, staff very helpful, would definitely return

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angiehenry175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,220)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,152 - 1,158 of 1,220 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2009

What can I say..... we were warned not to stay here but Bundoran was booked out and this was the only available accommodation. I will say well done on the website, it is very informative. I couldn't believe how shabby the hotel was. It needs a good clean and a facelift-my gosh it is so out of date!!! Our friends told us the entertainment was good, two girls playing in the bar, very upbeat and lively and a good night overall but when we visited the bar it was two men playing rebel songs and just not appealing at all. On a positive note the staff were fantastic apart from one or two that let them down. A young girl working in the bar was so helpful to us and a sense of humour that would almost make you forget the bad aspects of the hotel. Maybe management should put her in charge! the leisure facilities surprised me they were very good but the staff didn't seem to know much about them! The hotel owner walked through the hotel one evening and stopped at our table for a chat- an absolutely lovely man he was indeed. We spoke with the hotel manager, a man from Belfast I think, I don't know where that man received his qualifications but he could do with brushing up on his people skills!! We tried out the carvery menu in the bar one lunch time, it was quick but our food was cold and the woman who served us was rude, abrupt and so rough. The chef appeared while we were in the queue and had a personal conversation with this woman which we heard almost every bit of. All I can say is INAPPROPRIATE!!!! On reading the other comments here, I agree about the low standard of the rooms, that breakfast queue and that dining room was so cold, empty and unorganised. You had to interrrupt the very long queue to get a glass of orange juice and you couldn't get past security on the door unless armed with your room number not that your reward on getting past was worthwhile. I won't be staying here again. Thank you for providing this website and allowing us to air our opinions.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StephanieIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2009

Rooms above a nightclub...awful. Travelling with my husband and my elderly mother we were never advised that we would be located in a hotel that clearly was catering for a group who wanted a lively nightlife. The club kept going until after 3am and by the time the crowds dispursed it was 4am....and then the party started in rooms in the hotel.

Had we been told about this, even when checking in, we would have found somewhere else. We stayed at another hotel in Bundoran last year and that was great.

Meal in the restaurant reminded me of hospital food in the old days, beef cooked to resemple shoe leather, covered in a congealed 'sauce' served cold....whatever you do don't ask for wine, that is too much for their capabilities and at 32 euro per head just for the meal it is a rip off.

I complained to the hotel at the time, again in the morning to be told there was no one available to deal with it, and by email but to date am still waiting for a response (having chased). They obviously don't care about service.

The only thing good was the breakfast and the very friendly reception staff.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theeightbells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2009

Old building. Bedrooms with poor maintenance. Restroom damaged. Cheap accomodation. Good leisure facilities. Average meal service (diner and breakfast).

Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
Thank marmendes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2009

The communal areas are lovely that makes the shock of the rooms even more earth shattering - we moved rooms because we were unhappy, and in our UPGRADED room we got, mould on the walls, the lovely smell of damp and mould,the wallpaper falling off the walls, broken headboard, towels like sandpaper, blanketed beds, no grouting in bathroom, no soap toiletries etc WAS NOT CLEAN ANYWHERE Oh and to top it off there was a lovely black curly hair in the bath! Now I have stayed in many a rough place, but this place takes the biscuit - do not put yourself under the torture or like me, I had been in the bar and thought it was lovely - big big mistake - the only good point was the free parking so I could get out of there asap!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cityshopper75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2009

I cannot believe in this day and age a hotel of this standard can trade and charge the rates they are charging. I can safely say this is the worst hotel we have ever stayed in. Arrived to check in with extended family for a wedding. We went to our room to see no remote control a few fuzzy channels on the TV working, damp feeling in the room and mold on the wall in the bathroom. Chipped walls no covers on the light fittings. Then the phone rang my husbands parents had to move out of their room as it stank of smoke. They pulled the curtains and the entire poll came down.
We went to the restaurant (inclusive deal) none of the wine on the menu was available food terrible!
Came back after the meal and a few drinks to find a Debs ball on downstairs!!needless to say very little sleep was had!
Overall do not go here its terrible be warned

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flex90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2009

some terrible reviews on here, so booked with trepidation, but really not that bad and some aspects very good.

1. room nice - large, clean and very quiet - in fact the quietest hotel i'd stayed in for a long time.

2. spa was really lovely - again i was surprised, expecting rubbish, broken down stuff. very peaceful and relaxing.

3. children's stuff - yes there are lots of children there in the summer holidays! if you don't like being around them, best not to go then! but i think they did some really nice stuff for the kids in the KidsClub and most of the children were well-behaved (except mine LOL!).

4. staff busy but polite and helpful.

Of course its not The Grand Hotel or The Hilton, and foyer looks a bit shabby could do with a refurbishment. But considering the Spa available, and very nice too, not bad value. Its true about he queuring for breakfast, but get there early at 8.30 and only short.

Only let-down - #Bundoran itself - just a bit too cold and windswept and not much to do except horrible pubs and tacky stuff plus a few foreigners begging (nice!)

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FatMinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bundoran
0.5 mi away
Great Northern Hotel
Great Northern Hotel
#4 of 5 in Bundoran
1,038 reviews
0.2 mi away
Allingham Arms Hotel
Allingham Arms Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bundoran
379 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#5 of 5 in Bundoran
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Fitzgerald's Hotel
Fitzgerald's Hotel
#3 of 5 in Bundoran
159 reviews
5.9 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Holyrood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Holyrood Hotel

Address: Main Street, Bundoran, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Bundoran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bundoran
Price Range: $102 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Holyrood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holyrood Hotel, Bundoran has always been renowned for its warmth and hospitality down through the years. The first of the McEniff Hotels, it has been in the family for three generations.Managed by Seanie and Audrey McEniff, they carry on a proud tradition which has been handed on by Mrs. Elizabeth McEniff, Founder of the hotel group.The Holyrood Hotel with its well appointed and spacious ensuite bedrooms, ensures that guests enjoy the comfort and stress free environment they have become to expect from the Holyrood Hotel. Located just a stones throw away from Blue Flag Beaches, a world renowned 18 hole links Golf course, and shadowed by the Darty Mountains. The Holyrood Hotel can only captivate you and yours.One can experience the truly traditional atmosphere in the Waterfront Bar. Spacious and beautifully decorated. Sit in real comfort and sample a wine from our wide ranging cellar or perhaps try one of our exotic cocktails. An extensive bar menu is available in the Waterfront Bar daily.With beautiful views over Donegal bay you won't find a more Soothing place to unwind with a drink and watch the sun setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Holyrood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Holyrood Bundoran
Hotel New Holyrood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing