We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable bad for a hotel in the 21st centuary”
Review of The Holyrood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Holyrood Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bundoran
Reviewed November 24, 2008

myself and my girlfriend stayed here in june for a weekend, to be honest we had to laugh at the place it was soo bad... I dont know who was the man on reception, but he was the most ignorant person ever, curseing under his breath, nearly giving out that we had the cheek to check in... the room on the first floor was so bad, the door would not even lock properly. everything creaked and the bathroom was filthy. it was like the hotel del boy stayed on the jolly boys outing in Brighton all those years ago.
the owners of this hotel better start to seriously think about knocking this place and starting again. the biggest smoking room in Ireland??? big wow.

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank irishmagoo81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,188)
There are newer reviews for The Holyrood Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,142 - 1,148 of 1,188 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2008

My wife and i stayed at the hotel and, i have to say that it was the worst experience ever, the spa was dirty, there was nobody at reception to air my concerns to only a man called Marty or martin, he was so rude and didnt want to listen to me. how in this day in age can hotels hire these kind of people. It costs nothing to have manners. i asked to speak to his manager and he told me that he has no manager as he was the general manager!!! this was hard to believe as he stood there with his shirt hanging out and not clean shavin.! i gave up, i was there to celebrate our 15th wedding anniversary. we stayed that night and left the following morning, and suprise suprise he was there on check out, he asked us if we enjoyed our stay!!! I NEARLY CRYED! Seriously how can this man be imployeed there, after me voicein my concerns to him the day before! NEVER AGAIN WILL I RETURN

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Fionas5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2008

Stayed at this hotel for one night only paying 160 Euro for family room. Room were just about clean. no nice little touches, had to pay 10 Euro for remote to work television! (Refunded upon leaving). Located on first floor at back of hotel with windows so dirty it was hard to see the rain! Bar food was good but my nightmare started when the disco below began and ran until 3am!! I had no idea that there was a disco or I certainly would not have booked the hotel for my family. 5am I was still awake as the revellers finally made their way home or staggered past our bedroom shouting for a group hug!! Hotel not to be recommended for anything - sorry I did not book else where.

Dolores Co Tyrone

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank doloresCoTyrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2008

We had decided to have a short break to get away from all this talk of the credit crunch, the amercian elections, how Kerry is going to win their 3 All Ireland in a row etc etc so we packed our bags, the kids and the mum in laws and headed north to Donegal's own Las Vegas - Bundoran. On the way up the road the spirits were high and the journey only took a few hrs with there being no PSNI on the road checking for tax evaders and the likes. We pulled outside the Holyrood Hotel and first impressions were ok - not the Ritz but sure what do you expect for 140euros a nite. Checking in was tame enough and we made our way up to the rooms on the 1st floor. The bathroom in my room was a sight - a bit of jif and some elbow grease would have not gone amiss! I'm sure the view to the back of the hotel would have been lovely if we could have seen out of the bleeding windows. Where is Kevin Mone when you need him! We had to pay a 10euro deposit for the remote control which as it turns out didnt actually work. After a dip with the kids in waterworld, losing a small fortune on the slot machines and a few go's on the wee dippers we headed bk to the hotel for our evening meal. Whilst the food was good the staff were about as far of the mark as the Fermanagh forwards!! However unknown to us the best was yet to come! The kids were getting progessively scared of the singer in the lounge and coupled with the prospect that we might make them join into the childrens train making its way around the front foyer, we all headed of to bed about 12.00. What we hadnt been told that everyone in Donegal seems to make their way to the Holyrood Hotel in Fundoran for the saturday night disco which was located just below our rooms. We spent 3 hrs listening to everything from billy joel to the tings tings praying that the national anthem would come on soon signalling the end to our night of hell. At about 3.15am this happened though there was stil some music going on in either some other part of the hotel or in a nearby hostelry so the bed was still moving from the vibrations. This caused my sister to be still doing the Irish News crossword at 5am on Sunday morning. Needlesstosay the humour wasnt good and after a few cross words at reception we made our departure vowing to never darken their door again!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bernie007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2008

Where to start? Myself, hubby and two small kids went for a long weekend. Requested a quiet room with sea view. We were given a room directly over the very noisy night club which is part of the hotel. Worse still, a large window only a few inches above my 4 year olds bed opened fully out - this was 3 storeys up. We asked for window locks - no joy - so we asked to move and were given a smelly, dirty room up many stairs (no lift) and down many corridors. We had to shift all our luggage ourselves. The bed covers were stained, the bathroom smelt of stale urine and the surfaces and light fittings had not been recently cleaned. We had booked a family package which had promised a kid's club. This comprised a bouncy castle in a dirty and jaded old function room with 2 bored assistants eating their lunch and reading the paper whilst the kids ran amok. On to the 'Leisure Centre'. There were no lockers that locked. The steam room was broken. The jacuzzi was cold. I did, however, have a nice facial with a very sweet masseuse. For the evening's entertainment, anyone with kids was restricted to sitting in the foyer where there weren't enough chairs to go around. We did not have towels in our rooms for 2 nights running. We did not have pillow cases either and had to call twice for these. We had no hot water one morning. The duty manager told us that this was because there was a lever outside which could be switched off by anyone who felt like it! Oh please. The common areas of the hotel were dirty. I could go on but, quite frankly, I've given enough time to this poor excuse for a hotel. Don't go!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Galwaygirl26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2008

we were passing through bundoran, and decided to stay for the night. we went to the holyrood looking for a room. we were charged 150.00 euro for a double room , we were told if we waited for a couple of hours they would give us one of their best rooms. we went back to the hotel at around 4 o clock to book in. we were given a double room at the front of the building. the room was quite standard and dated. the bathroom tiles had hair and gunk on them.
in the hotel bar the staff were quite ignorant and rude
we booked our breakfast the next morning for 9-9.30 to be brought to our room at an extra cost of 5 euros per tray. when our breakfast did not arrive by 10 o clock i rang reception, the staff member was very rude to me and told me to ring the kitchen my self. at which point my self and my husband left the hotel

i would not recommend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank j0ej0e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2008

Went for bank holiday weekend on my own, thought the room would have been more up to date, stain on my bedcover, bathroom wasn't very clean could see the dirt around the taps and where on this planet do you get paper foot towels omg didnt like that at all and to top it all no products for use ie: shampoo etc. o yes there was a soap despenser like in a public toilet???? for a hotel to be in the centre of the town always packed you think they would look after their customers and rooms better. I did enjoy the spa!!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jadeerin66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bundoran
0.5 mi away
Great Northern Hotel
Great Northern Hotel
#4 of 5 in Bundoran
1,013 reviews
0.2 mi away
Allingham Arms Hotel
Allingham Arms Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bundoran
372 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#5 of 5 in Bundoran
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fitzgerald's Hotel
Fitzgerald's Hotel
#3 of 5 in Bundoran
157 reviews
5.9 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
602 reviews
16.9 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Holyrood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Holyrood Hotel

Address: Main Street, Bundoran, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Bundoran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bundoran
Price Range: $102 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Holyrood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holyrood Hotel, Bundoran has always been renowned for its warmth and hospitality down through the years. The first of the McEniff Hotels, it has been in the family for three generations.Managed by Seanie and Audrey McEniff, they carry on a proud tradition which has been handed on by Mrs. Elizabeth McEniff, Founder of the hotel group.The Holyrood Hotel with its well appointed and spacious ensuite bedrooms, ensures that guests enjoy the comfort and stress free environment they have become to expect from the Holyrood Hotel. Located just a stones throw away from Blue Flag Beaches, a world renowned 18 hole links Golf course, and shadowed by the Darty Mountains. The Holyrood Hotel can only captivate you and yours.One can experience the truly traditional atmosphere in the Waterfront Bar. Spacious and beautifully decorated. Sit in real comfort and sample a wine from our wide ranging cellar or perhaps try one of our exotic cocktails. An extensive bar menu is available in the Waterfront Bar daily.With beautiful views over Donegal bay you won't find a more Soothing place to unwind with a drink and watch the sun setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your The Holyrood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Holyrood Bundoran
Hotel New Holyrood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing