We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible awful”
Review of The Holyrood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Holyrood Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bundoran
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We booked two nights b&b at this place over a bank holiday.a family group of seven.when we were shown our rooms they were outdated and dirty dusty mouldy and in serious need of refurbishment.the bathroom was small and cramped.we had no hot water at night.the beds were old or cheap and the mattress slid off the base .the food in the bar was awful, breakfast was ok.by far the biggest problem was the noise level from the nearby night clubs and the returning guests.on the second night our room door was repeatedly banged on and someone tried to force open my husbands room door.on investigating he discovered to his horror that the plumbing pipes had been pickled out fro the wall and water was leaking .the night porter could not locate a plumber so between they had to diy the plumbingtostop the water.the porter offered different rooms but we had enough so we packed up and left at 2.30am.on our way out a semi naked teen passed us in the hall.i complained via e mail and got the standard reply oh and a refund for the awful bar food.my request for a refund for the second nights fiasco was met with silence.all in all this hotel would be better suited in Ibiza to cater for drunken yobs.dont go here if you want to eat or sleep or if u expect any level of cleanliness. Terrible awful atrocious

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,220)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

833 - 839 of 1,220 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2014

Stayed here the last weekend in March with the wife and 2 kids aged 6 and 4. We had a room on the 2nd floor with a sea view. View was nice but can be noisy as one of the windows had a catch broken which meant the window didnt close properly and the weekend partygoers can easily be heard. Beds were comfortable but the room was quite outdated and little more attention to cleaning wouldnt go a miss..TV only has the basic 3 or 4 channels but this wasnt a biggy. The spa and pool was good value and the missus enjoyed the hydrotherapy bath. The breakfast was good and the staff were friendly and couldnt have done more. The evening meal we had on the Friday wasnt the best but overall it was a nice weekend away in a very central location at a very affordable price.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Dear Guest,
We really appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your stay at the Holyrood Hotel. We are delighted that you and your family were satisfied with the hospitality and service you received during your stay.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

I have literally lost count of the amount of times we have enjoyed weekends in the holyrood over the past 20 plus years, but I will never tire of this wonderful, friendly hotel. we stayed in feb and march this year, and will probablky return july, and September. as usual we had the 2 nights with breakfasts and dinners, the food is simply divine, and any request I make is always catered for with the usual comment of "absolutely no problem at all ". This hotel always goes out of the way to cater for anything you ask for, the barfood at lunch time was truly gorgeous. I always try to get room 173 or 175 because of the beautiful sea views and I am always accommadted. I have to mention Jennifer in the spa, I had a terrificly relaxing seaweed bath, and a relaxing pedicure and great chat, with her, she has a really lovely bubbly personality and it shows that she loves running the spa, she says it does,nt feel like work. paul, also went out of his way to make sure I got the hydrotherapy bath and fitted me in nicely before I had to leave on the sunday. well done to all at the holyrood, a truly exceptionally well run family establishment, thank you, once again. hope to see you soon.

Room Tip: 173,175,177 excellent rooms, have tried them all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rolofiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear Guest,
We really appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your stay at the Holyrood Hotel. We are delighted that you were satisfied with the hospitality and service you received during your stay. We have passed on your kind words to both Jennifer & Paul.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We stayed here over the st Patricks weekend . Place was buzzing , staff was great , rooms clean . Hotel bar was great as u can look out at the Atlantic Ocean . Free parking at a safe carpark at the hotel with security barriers. Plenty off amusement for children . Hotel has a pool which is average enough size . I enjoyed my stay and will be back .

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cabbag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear Guest,
We really appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your stay at the Holyrood Hotel. We are delighted that you were satisfied with the hospitality and service you received during your stay and you all had a enjoyable St Patrick's Weekend in Bundoran.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Stayed for a weekend break, worst hotel I ever stayed in.On entering the reception area the first thing to greet you is the smell, which they attempt to cover up but you can still smell the fusty damp" aroma". As for the room, the furniture was dated and in bad condition (seen better in a skip) the TV only had one snowy channel, the sofa was dirty and there were finger prints on the walls. Hotel needs a complete overhaul, because the owner hasn't taken his eye off the ball, he's lost he sight.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank topdollar57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Dear Guest,
I am most disappointed to read your review. The Holyrood is a family run 3 star property with an excellent location in the centre of the pretty seaside resort of Bundoran. Our aim is to offer a warm welcome, comfortable rooms with excellent service & food at reasonable prices. It is not our policy to have patrons of the hotel leave unhappy with service & hospitality offered.

We have a small table at reception to advertise our Escape Beauty & Spa which has an oil burner with Yon Ka Essential Oils, as this is the product we use. I can assure you it is not there to mask any smell but to attract people to perhaps visit our Escape Beauty & Spa. The TVs in all rooms have a full list of channels and any problem should have been reported where it can be rectified immediately.

I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

I took up the offer of a Groupon type deal and stayed a weekend here recently. Now I know that a whole weekend for 2 people for around £100 is not a lot of money so I wasn't expecting 5 stars. But I was expecting cleanliness and this poor place certainly is lacking. We had a sea view room but the window was so dirty and moldy and full of condensation that it was difficult to see out of!! The carpets were stained with unknown substances...The bathroom had the hairs of several of the previous residents and was full of mold around the bath! And the toilet leaked. We went down for breakfast on the first morning only to be told breakfast wasn't served until 8.30!! When we did eat the food was ok, no fresh juice or anything but hey ho, it was edible and warm and the staff were nice. The leisure centre staff were nice but again, the place is in need of some TLC and a good clean. The girl who did the massages was lovely and professional, I'd recommend her....All in all I wouldn't recommend this hotel until someone revamps the rooms and there is a deep clean.

Room Tip: Have a treatment in the SPA!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raffoIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Dear Guest,
I am most disappointed to read your review. The Holyrood is a family run 3 star property with an excellent location in the centre of the pretty seaside resort of Bundoran. Our aim is to offer a warm welcome, comfortable rooms with excellent service & food at reasonable prices. It is not our policy to have patrons of the hotel leave unhappy with service & hospitality offered.

I am very sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Our family of four stayed here recently and our experience was terrible. Our room was smelly and dated, but I could have coped with that! At bed time there was a terrible sound coming from the pipes in the room. It was so loud we could not get to sleep. Eventually we rang reception and the girl eventually came up, heard it but did nothing. The noise continued of and on all night. We complained at check out but they were very blasé and did not offer any compensation, not even a cup of coffee! Never ever again.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank kmactyrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2015

Dear kmactyrone,
Thank you for your feedback and I can only apoligise that you did not enjoy your stay. I am going to investigate the noisy pipe as we have never had any issues previous.

Kind Regards
Audrey McEniff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bundoran
0.5 mi away
Great Northern Hotel
Great Northern Hotel
#4 of 5 in Bundoran
1,038 reviews
0.2 mi away
Allingham Arms Hotel
Allingham Arms Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bundoran
379 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#5 of 5 in Bundoran
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Fitzgerald's Hotel
Fitzgerald's Hotel
#3 of 5 in Bundoran
159 reviews
5.9 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Holyrood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Holyrood Hotel

Address: Main Street, Bundoran, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Bundoran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bundoran
Price Range: $102 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Holyrood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holyrood Hotel, Bundoran has always been renowned for its warmth and hospitality down through the years. The first of the McEniff Hotels, it has been in the family for three generations.Managed by Seanie and Audrey McEniff, they carry on a proud tradition which has been handed on by Mrs. Elizabeth McEniff, Founder of the hotel group.The Holyrood Hotel with its well appointed and spacious ensuite bedrooms, ensures that guests enjoy the comfort and stress free environment they have become to expect from the Holyrood Hotel. Located just a stones throw away from Blue Flag Beaches, a world renowned 18 hole links Golf course, and shadowed by the Darty Mountains. The Holyrood Hotel can only captivate you and yours.One can experience the truly traditional atmosphere in the Waterfront Bar. Spacious and beautifully decorated. Sit in real comfort and sample a wine from our wide ranging cellar or perhaps try one of our exotic cocktails. An extensive bar menu is available in the Waterfront Bar daily.With beautiful views over Donegal bay you won't find a more Soothing place to unwind with a drink and watch the sun setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Holyrood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Holyrood Bundoran
Hotel New Holyrood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing