We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay.. We are Very happy”
Review of The Holyrood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Holyrood Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bundoran
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Me,my husband and our 2 daughters loved staying in this hotel. We enjoyed the swimming pool, with sauna and jacuzzi, also the kids pool is great.The staff are very nice and the manager is very helpful. We got great services and lovely rooms. The hotel It's in great location. We always stay in this hotel every time we visit bundoran.. Highly recommended, we are very happy

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greencastle13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear Guest,
We really appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your stay at the Holyrood Hotel. We are delighted that you were satisfied with the hospitality and service you received at The Holyrood Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family to the Hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,220)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

926 - 932 of 1,220 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2013

This is our favourite Hotel in Ireland. It has everything that suits our needs. The kiddies club (so Mammy and Daddy can unwind while the children are entertained - runs during holiday times), the hospitality, the gorgeous brekkie, the views of the Atlantic and Roguey Rock, the bar entertainment, the swimming pool (have yet to try the spa) - everything under the one roof. Staff are always obliging and friendly. A lovely warm Donegal welcome every time. Great for families. Central Location and yet the windows are double glazed so it is not noisy. We have recommended this Hotel to friends, they have stayed here and have vowed to go back. 10/10

Room Tip: The rooms to the back of the hotel are quieter but you'll miss out on the stunning view of the A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BreegieO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear Guest,
We really appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your stay at the Holyrood Hotel. We are delighted that you were satisfied with the hospitality and service you received at The Holyrood Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you to the Hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

I brought my girlfriend to the holyrood for her birthday and we had a great stay.the staff were very friendly and the room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was very nice as well.we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear Guest,
We really appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your stay at the Holyrood Hotel. We are delighted that you were satisfied with the hospitality and service you received at The Holyrood Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you to the Hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We just checked out today. Great family hotel, the owner really takes an interest in his business and seems to chat with ease to everyone in the hotel, he gives great advice on where to visit in the area etc. The breakfast is great, one evening meal was included in our stay and it was excellent. I had a grandparent, niece and three children aged 4, 2 and 10 months and all our needs were met. The staff were lovely yet very competent. Will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Lovely hotel, well located in the town. We were too busy with three children to get to use the spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elaine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear Guest,
We really appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your stay at the Holyrood Hotel. We are delighted that you were satisfied with the hospitality and service you received at The Holyrood Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family to the Hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Stayed here with a number of married friends. Having viewed Tripadvisor I was a little concerned of what I had let ourselves in for. Our room was clean and tidy although there was A/C noise and our other choice was at the front with the warning that it was noisy during the weekends to 4 am! Our evening was excellent with very good service in the main dining room as was our Sunday night meal in the bar/entertainment area. What put a damper on the weekend was the number of anti British songs sung to the glorification of murder by terrorists by a female singer. I quite like Irish and country music but some, and I emphasise some, were over the top and wouldn't encourage some people to book here again. Our wives visited all the rooms of the others with us and one, especially, left a lot to be desired to the extent that even the management thought that it was poor when they were asked to view it!!! I'm still open minded about returning but I fear what I will see/hear again!!!!

Room Tip: Don't in all accounts use room 110 - a dump when I stayed. Some of the back rooms facing the car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Douglas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear Guest,
We really appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your stay at the Holyrood Hotel. We are delighted that you were satisfied with the hospitality and service you received at The Holyrood Hotel. Entertainment in The Waterfront Bar is by local artists with playlists which we have approved, we do not condone any "anti British songs", sometimes the singers take requests which may have occurred in this instance.

We hope you come back to The Hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed here for a weekend in dec 2012 the hotel staff were very very friendly and helpful the evening meal was lovely the only down side was the decor in the hotel and the manky bathroom with discoloured shower curtain and mouldy grout not good, hotel in the very centre of the town close to all bars and restaurants if I was going back ask for one of the more updated rooms although I don't think the updated rooms have the sea view it's up to yourself do you prefer a modernised room looking over a car park or a dated room with magnificent views

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flofiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear Guest,
We really appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your stay at the Holyrood Hotel. We are delighted that you were satisfied with the hospitality and service you received at The Holyrood Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you to the Hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We called at this hotel for a coffee on our way to Sligo, when we walked in , it was very dark and uninviting. The reception staff never acknowledged our arrival or inquired if we needed any help. I asked the lady on reception where could we get a coffee, she spoke to us abruptly, no menu, just 'Is it coffee you want'? A lady came with a tray with scones and cups etc but no tea or coffee, this all took 40mins, we got fed up and told the reception lady we were unsatisfied and would go else where. Further up the street a lovely wee coffee shop nice food and staff made up for the previous Hotel.

Room Tip: wouldn't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank lilie2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear Guest,
We appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your time at the Holyrood Hotel although I was very disappointing to read you were not satisfied with the hospitality offered. I can only apologize that you found our reception staff unhelpful, I can assure you this is very unusual for our staff.

We hope you return to the Hotel in the near future and have a better experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bundoran
0.5 mi away
Great Northern Hotel
Great Northern Hotel
#4 of 5 in Bundoran
1,038 reviews
0.2 mi away
Allingham Arms Hotel
Allingham Arms Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bundoran
379 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#5 of 5 in Bundoran
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Fitzgerald's Hotel
Fitzgerald's Hotel
#3 of 5 in Bundoran
159 reviews
5.9 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Holyrood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Holyrood Hotel

Address: Main Street, Bundoran, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Bundoran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bundoran
Price Range: $102 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Holyrood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holyrood Hotel, Bundoran has always been renowned for its warmth and hospitality down through the years. The first of the McEniff Hotels, it has been in the family for three generations.Managed by Seanie and Audrey McEniff, they carry on a proud tradition which has been handed on by Mrs. Elizabeth McEniff, Founder of the hotel group.The Holyrood Hotel with its well appointed and spacious ensuite bedrooms, ensures that guests enjoy the comfort and stress free environment they have become to expect from the Holyrood Hotel. Located just a stones throw away from Blue Flag Beaches, a world renowned 18 hole links Golf course, and shadowed by the Darty Mountains. The Holyrood Hotel can only captivate you and yours.One can experience the truly traditional atmosphere in the Waterfront Bar. Spacious and beautifully decorated. Sit in real comfort and sample a wine from our wide ranging cellar or perhaps try one of our exotic cocktails. An extensive bar menu is available in the Waterfront Bar daily.With beautiful views over Donegal bay you won't find a more Soothing place to unwind with a drink and watch the sun setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Holyrood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Holyrood Bundoran
Hotel New Holyrood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing