We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and craic”
Review of The Holyrood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Holyrood Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bundoran
Reviewed May 20, 2013

My friend Bridget and I stayed there at the weekend 17th May 2013. I drove from Bray Co. Wicklow. A very long drive with beautiful views. We had a great weekend. The place was very clean and the staff were lovely. Some of the wardrobes etc could do with updating but they are only there to hang clothes in so that did not matter too much to us. !!!!
The weather was not great but we had lovely walks and the pubs were great fun. All in all I had a great time there and I would go back again and recomend it to friends. I think that all the people who left bad reviews need to lighten up a bit and have a sense of fun and just get over little things that annoy them.
Hi to the lovely girls at reception. They were so nice. We will be back again.Berni Vickers, Wicklow

Room Tip: nice views from most rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 40berni_3440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Dear Guest,
We really appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your stay at the Holyrood Hotel. We are delighted that you were satisfied with the hospitality and service you received at The Holyrood Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you to the Hotel again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,251)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

964 - 970 of 1,251 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel for 3 nights on a deal (Tues-Friday in early May) which for the price, all 3 of us reckoned it to be tremendous value. Reading the other reviews we had certain reservations but we were very happy we made the choice and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
The outside of the hotel does need redecorating and the sign writing needs attention; the reception area is a great standard and very comfortable as are the dining areas and bar (which is very comfortable); the rooms were recently decorated, very clean, average spaciousness with a fresh, very clean bathroom; furniture is certainly tired and past it's sell by date BUT it is clean and functioning; the beds were again, very comfortable.
The rooms were cleaned every day plus as much fresh towels as required. It has a large car park and although the deal allowed for a free spa treatment, we ran out of time and never got to the spa area.
The choice of food is good, the quality of the offering is again good and the service is excellent.
The real gem of this hotel is a) its staff.....no matter what we asked for it was always met with, "that's no bother" be it first thing in the morning or last thing at night. They are real stars of the hotel trade and make for a superb team. Thankyou to each and every one of them!!! b) its location......Donegal, Sligo, Enniskillen, Killybegs and the beautiful Donnegal countryside and seaside are all on your door step.
Be sensible....this is not nor does it purport to be, a 5 star hotel but if you want a homely, comfortable hotel and can put up with a few scratches and knocks on your wardrobe door, pampered by staff who genuinely wish to see your stay enjoyed as much as possible, don't even hesitate.

Room Tip: Rooms to the front of the hotel have a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gatwick_please
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Dear Guest,
We really appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your stay at the Holyrood Hotel. We are delighted that you were satisfied with the hospitality and service you received at The Holyrood Hotel. We are very pleased with your kind words in relation to our staff and hope that we can welcome you and your friends back to the Hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

First things first - we got terriffic value through one of the daily deal sites and in fairness to this hotel you get what you pay for. Myself and my partner and two friends stayed here for a weekend in early May.
POSITIVES:
Staff are great, Sarah on reception was very helpful in particular when I was booking. In general all staff are really friendly and helpful. The owner introduced himself to us twice which was a nice touch. The spa is good, I went for the aqua therapy and it was really great and herself went for the seaweed bath and it was super too. Nice little bar with music on Fri and Sat night. The food was terrific - breakfast cooked to order was great and we all had a three course sit-down dinner with wine on the Saturday which (except for one really tiny stuffed Portobello for my starter and crumble which was served cold with warm custard) was absoutely lovely. The ground floor of the hotel is old fashioned style but is quite charming and spotless. The location is great in middle of main street overlooking the sea. The second of our bedrooms was a family room and had been recently refurbished and was very large with two double beds and a single and was a perfectly good room, complete with flatscreen. Everywhere was very clean.
NEGATIVES:
On check-in we were greeted by a lovely girl at reception who advised us it was her first day and wasn't able to answer many questions. (strange for a girl on first day to be on her own at reception on a Friday evening?!)We were allocated a room on 2nd floor which was really dark, had a broken light over the bed with wires sticking out of it, only one ceiling light and 1 lamp to light the room, a shower which was cracked and seen better days and the bed was ready for the skip. We immediately went to reception to request a change of room, which was done by a receptionist who came out from the back to help the new receptionist and was actually a little rude. We weren't the only people, as another couple at the desk were demanding a refund and refusing to stay in the hotel...!! We were changed rooms (from 231 to 308) and although the room was brighter, it really wasn't any better. The double bed had dubious stains (which may have been blood) on the mattress, the curtains were thin and didn't keep out the light, the furniture was ancient, the whole back of the wardrobe was coming away, the tv was at least 20 years old, the bathroom was not good at all - rusty shower pole over bath, toilet seat was coming away from toilet, wood panel was rotten around the bath. Main problem was no hot water in shower - reported to staff on 2nd day but the issue was never rectified. Breakfast is only from 8.30-10am, which invariably led to huge queues from 9.30 to 10am. On Sunday we queued from 9.50 and finally got breakfast at 10.31 served. Also, strangely, the cereal and juices are just inside the main door so lots of confusion and people blocking the entrance. Hotel only has one lift, so constantly waiting for lifts or climbing the stairs to third floor. On the Saturday night a night club in the basement went on until 3am and was loud and vibrated through the whole place.
OVERALL: This is a hotel with character in places, great staff and lovely food, but awful guest rooms and a major need for the basics you expect in any three star hotel are evident throughout. This seems to be the hotel in the McEniff group that has sadly been forgotten. Unless serious money is invested I most definitely would not return.

Room Tip: Request a family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hotelstays1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Stayed for a weekend in late spring. The reception staff were exceptionally friendly and very helpful as were the staff in the restaurant. The room was spacious and the bathroom was also spacious. Even though this was a hotel bedroom you couldn't help but get the feeling it was an upmarket B&B. The room could probably do with some refurbishment. The food we had in the restaurant was tasty. Our overall stay was very satisfactory and we have no complaints.

Room Tip: We got 3rd floor room. Quiet with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nazrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Dear Guest,
We really appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your stay at the Holyrood Hotel. We are delighted that you were satisfied with the hospitality and service you received at The Holyrood Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you to the Hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Wat a horrible hotel faulty towers eat your heart out room was horrible out of date by 10 years at least no towels had to ask a few times for them maid (drunk) finally brought them hairs in bath and sink dust on tv not that it worked that well carpet stained god knows how long it is there food adverage will never be back

Room Tip: another hotel
See more room tips
Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank gmcd648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Dear Guest,
We appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your stay at the Holyrood Hotel. I was very disappointed to read your comments. The Holyrood Hotel is a family run Hotel and it is not in our policy for guests to leave unhappy with the hospitality and service offered. It is regretful I did not get to met you throughout your stay and perhaps rectify some of your problems. I am horrified to think that a member of our staff would of been at work under the influence of alcohol and this is something that has been investigated further and we are satisfied all our staff are fully aware of the employment rules and regulations and follow them. If you would like to discuss anything further please call or email the Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Stayed here weekend of 26 th April & when I arrived I did not expect much from past reviews. The hotel needs updating but the staff keeps the hotel clean to a good standard ,which they should be proud of . The food in the hotel to my opinion is to a very good standard which we ate in both bar & restaurant with

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fergusmcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Dear Guest,
We really appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your stay at the Holyrood Hotel. We are delighted that you were satisfied with the hospitality and service you received at The Holyrood Hotel. We are upgrading rooms and furniture in the Hotel but this is a gradual process we are undertaking.

We hope you return to the Hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed at the Holyrood hotel and was really looking forward to a night away with my Fiance. Overall the stay was average, the highlight was the use of the onsite leaisure facilities and the lovely hot stone massage by Rachel in the Spa. The food on the other hand was well below average, my fiance ordered Ice Cream and it was obvious that tit had been sitting out and defrosted and refrosted countless times, the main course was a turn off and was only ate as we were so hungry. We are convinced that "potatoes" were smash????? The room was lovely and spacious but needs a lot of TLC and updating. The staff on the other hand were a delight!! The major thing that got me about the hotel was that there was a poker tournament on, that we didnt mind BUT the language used in the morning while children were around was appaling and they were not asked to curtail it!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tinks1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Dear Guest,
We really appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your stay at the Holyrood Hotel. Firstly thank you for your kind words about our staff and I am glad you enjoyed our leisure facilities and your time in our Escape Spa.

However your comments in relation to your evening meal are very surprising, we maintain a very high standard in our restaurant and bar food areas and have no complaints logged throughout the duration of your stay.

We were very busy during the poker tournament weekend and I suspect our staff where busy and preoccupied and they did not realise the inappropriate language being used. I am sorry you felt this way and as this was a once of event we are happy that this will not happen again.

We hope you return to the Hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bundoran
0.5 mi away
Great Northern Hotel
Great Northern Hotel
#3 of 5 in Bundoran
1,060 reviews
0.2 mi away
Allingham Arms Hotel
Allingham Arms Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bundoran
382 reviews
12.8 mi away
Bay View Hotel
Bay View Hotel
#2 of 2 in Killybegs
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#5 of 5 in Bundoran
380 reviews
12.7 mi away
Tara Hotel
Tara Hotel
#1 of 2 in Killybegs
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Holyrood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Holyrood Hotel

Address: Main Street, Bundoran, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Bundoran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bundoran
Price Range: $106 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Holyrood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holyrood Hotel, Bundoran has always been renowned for its warmth and hospitality down through the years. The first of the McEniff Hotels, it has been in the family for three generations.Managed by Seanie and Audrey McEniff, they carry on a proud tradition which has been handed on by Mrs. Elizabeth McEniff, Founder of the hotel group.The Holyrood Hotel with its well appointed and spacious ensuite bedrooms, ensures that guests enjoy the comfort and stress free environment they have become to expect from the Holyrood Hotel. Located just a stones throw away from Blue Flag Beaches, a world renowned 18 hole links Golf course, and shadowed by the Darty Mountains. The Holyrood Hotel can only captivate you and yours.One can experience the truly traditional atmosphere in the Waterfront Bar. Spacious and beautifully decorated. Sit in real comfort and sample a wine from our wide ranging cellar or perhaps try one of our exotic cocktails. An extensive bar menu is available in the Waterfront Bar daily.With beautiful views over Donegal bay you won't find a more Soothing place to unwind with a drink and watch the sun setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Holyrood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Holyrood Bundoran
Hotel New Holyrood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing