We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great short break”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Holyrood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Holyrood Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bundoran
Dromore, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great short break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

An absolutely wonderful stay at a great price. The food was fabulous - we ended up having 3 meals in the hotel because it was so good and no dearer than eating in one of the cafes up the street. The seaweed bath was an added treat that was well worthwhile. The staff were really lovely and nothing was too much trouble. the fire in the reception area creates a lovely space to relax and people watch. We arrived on Friday evening and stayed until Sunday night and I felt as if I'd been away for a week! Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eimear C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Guest, we really appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your stay at the Holyrood Hotel. We are delighted that you were satisfied with the hospitality and service you received at The Holyrood Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,096 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    231
    133
    122
    200
See reviews for
466
322
11
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

We have recently had been booked into the hotel as a part of my birthday present from my husband. We were expecting a little bit of luxury, but instead what we got was the key to a damp, mouldy, smelly and dirty room, there were hairs in the bed. We went to reception and asked had they any better room and we were taken to another room which was just as bad as the first. We were then taken to another room which was a health hazard, again with mouldy windows, damp patches on the pictures and on the ceiling, a dirty valance sheet, a broken phone, a wall light which was wobbling and not secure. There was dirty stains on the table and on the inside of the window. The top handles were broke of the windows and they were stuck closed with silicone. They also were silicone happy in the bathroom, instead of fixing the problems they filled them with silicone, the toilet lid was missing, the shower curtain was filthy and the shower curtain pole was rusty and they tiles on the floor were broke, not to mention the grime around the sink, taps and bathroom fittings . Needless to say we didn't stay and had we have known about this site we would never have booked it in the first place .

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manio6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
Our front office manager recalls in detail the arrival of the couple who posted the above review. On check in the couple were given a double room on the third floor with superb views of the ocean & the street below. Shortly after check in they advised reception that they were not happy with the room. The front office manager arranged for the couple to view 2 more rooms, one of these rooms is actually featured on our website. The couple were not happy with any of the accommodation offered & decided not to stay.

The Holyrood Hotel is a family run 3 star hotel in the centre of the seaside resort of Bundoran. We offer 3 star accommodation at excellent value coupled with friendly, efficient service & excellent food. The couple did not take the opportunity to sample any of the services we provide. On inspection of the rooms by the accommodation manager & general manager there was no evidence of hairs in the bed found, nor were the rooms found to be damp, in fact all of the rooms viewed by the couple were later occupied by other hotel guests .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bundoran hotels

Troon
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

This was a coach trip we went on for a short break. We had a very enjoyable stay here in a comfortable room. The staff were all so friendly. The evening entertainment from local singers was good and most of all the food was traditional and absolutely delicious.The hotel is situated in an ideally central position beside shops across from lovely gardens and only a short scenic walk from the beach and sport/activity centre, play park and Golf course. Friendly owners/staff in the many pubs in Bundoran. Fantastic place to be, especially as we were lucky enough to be booked in to the Holyrood Hotel. :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
We really appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your stay at the Holyrood Hotel. We are delighted that you were satisfied with the hospitality and service you received at The Holyrood Hotel and in Bundoran.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Having stayed at the hotel on a recent last minute trip to bundoran, unfortunately I feel obliged to contribute. Rooms are disappointing to say the least, the furniture and sheets were stained, tired and smelly. The windows and net curtains were filthy and when I opened the window for fresh air I was greeted with a grotty napkin that appeared to be moulded to the window. The music played until all hours, so would not recommend to families. The tv would not work at all.

On the plus side, the girl on reception was pleasant and courtious. She did her best to accommodate us and reimburse us for some of the issues we experienced. The breakfast was nice and the breakfast staff were very attentive. However we did not find the barstaff pleasent at all.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidays1234a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are delighted to hear that you found our staff "attentive, pleasant & courteous ". The Holyrood is a family run hotel & we endeavour to make guests of the hotel feel welcome. It is regretful that I did not get the opportunity to meet with you before your departure to discuss your unhappiness with your allocated room. Perhaps i could have rectified some of the issues you had. All of our linen is hired in to the hotel from a professional linen company based in Galway & arrives in sealed bags, housekeeping staff change linen after all departures. The hotel is located in the centre of town with views of the Atlantic Ocean. The exterior of the hotel suffers the full blast of sand & salt which can linger on the windows. There is little we can do about this especially in the bad weather. The Holyrood is renowned for the entertainment we provide, we host music & dancing every weekend & 7 days a week in July & August. Our entertainment usually finishes around midnight , except for a Saturday night when everything in Bundoran runs later. We always try to allocate families away from the music and requests for quiet rooms are noted when making a reservation .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkeel, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

We have just a lovely weekend in the Hollyrood, great food lovely room and staff so friendly and helpfully, we have a lovely room looking over the see. The 2 ladies on reception Sandra and Sarah so nice and friendly.
This is not the first time we have stayed here and differently won't be the last, just so relaxing

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
We really appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your stay at the Holyrood Hotel. We are delighted that you were satisfied with the hospitality and service you received at The Holyrood Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

just back from agreat weekend at this hotel have to say great value for money,when we checked in we where meet by the frendly receptions and she told us all about hotel and where to go to or room have to say we got a great room right out looking the sea view after we got settled we went down to bar for a drink and a bit to eat their was a young friendly bar girl on she was very helpful to us told us off a few things to do about bundoran as it was or first trip their.we had seaweed baths the next day and i have to say they we so realxing and yet again the young fella was very friendly. after we had that we went up to bar for a light lunch and the same girl was on and again she was very helpful to us their was a man on with her they we busy and she still had time to talk to us and help us out.that evening we were up in dinning room for or meal and i have to say the food was lovely and the staff their again very friendly we went back down to bar after or meal for a few more drinks witch lead to a few more i have to say for or first trip we will be back to this hotel with or kids in the summer time .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mary d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
We really appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your stay at the Holyrood Hotel. We are delighted that you were satisfied with the hospitality and service you received at The Holyrood Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longford, Longford, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Was expecting a relaxing spa weekend away with my sister and this is definitely not what i got .a filthy hotel with average food ,disgusting bathrooms and as for the spa .......what a joke ,mold and mildew everywhere. The staff were unhelpful and unappologetic at the fact we were kept awake until 3am with the pulsating music and screams . Never so glad to be home and have a shower this place makes you feel grubby.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
I am disappointed to learn of your dissatisfaction with the hotel and the service provided. The Holyrood is a family run operation and it is not our policy to have patrons of the hotel leave unhappy with the service and hospitality offered. As you can see from previous comments are staff are usually very helpful and accommodating. On Saturday nights some rooms are over a music venue, it is regretful you were allocated one of these rooms. I would like to assure you that your comments have been taken very seriously.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bundoran
0.5 mi away
Great Northern Hotel
Great Northern Hotel
#4 of 5 in Bundoran
3.5 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
0.2 mi away
Allingham Arms Hotel
Allingham Arms Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bundoran
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#5 of 5 in Bundoran
3.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fitzgerald's Hotel
Fitzgerald's Hotel
#3 of 5 in Bundoran
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
5.9 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
16.9 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Holyrood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Holyrood Hotel

Property: The Holyrood Hotel
Address: Main Street, Bundoran, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Bundoran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bundoran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Holyrood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holyrood Hotel, Bundoran has always been renowned for its warmth and hospitality down through the years. The first of the McEniff Hotels, it has been in the family for three generations.Managed by Seanie and Audrey McEniff, they carry on a proud tradition which has been handed on by Mrs. Elizabeth McEniff, Founder of the hotel group.The Holyrood Hotel with its well appointed and spacious ensuite bedrooms, ensures that guests enjoy the comfort and stress free environment they have become to expect from the Holyrood Hotel. Located just a stones throw away from Blue Flag Beaches, a world renowned 18 hole links Golf course, and shadowed by the Darty Mountains. The Holyrood Hotel can only captivate you and yours.One can experience the truly traditional atmosphere in the Waterfront Bar. Spacious and beautifully decorated. Sit in real comfort and sample a wine from our wide ranging cellar or perhaps try one of our exotic cocktails. An extensive bar menu is available in the Waterfront Bar daily.With beautiful views over Donegal bay you won't find a more Soothing place to unwind with a drink and watch the sun setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Holyrood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Holyrood Bundoran
Hotel New Holyrood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing