We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst hotel ever”
Review of The Holyrood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Holyrood Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bundoran
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Was expecting a relaxing spa weekend away with my sister and this is definitely not what i got .a filthy hotel with average food ,disgusting bathrooms and as for the spa .......what a joke ,mold and mildew everywhere. The staff were unhelpful and unappologetic at the fact we were kept awake until 3am with the pulsating music and screams . Never so glad to be home and have a shower this place makes you feel grubby.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Dear Guest,
I am disappointed to learn of your dissatisfaction with the hotel and the service provided. The Holyrood is a family run operation and it is not our policy to have patrons of the hotel leave unhappy with the service and hospitality offered. As you can see from previous comments are staff are usually very helpful and accommodating. On Saturday nights some rooms are over a music venue, it is regretful you were allocated one of these rooms. I would like to assure you that your comments have been taken very seriously.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,210)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

947 - 953 of 1,210 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

If I had gotten the room that was advertised I would have been happy! I couldn't believe the difference in quality in what I got and what was advertised. Broken telly, shabby bathroom. The music from the bar is pulsating through the floor keeping me awake.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Missymecano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Dear guest,
I am most disappointed to read your review. The Holyrood is a family run 3 star hotel located in the centre of Bundoran town. It is not our policy to have patrons of the hotel leave unhappy with service & hospitality received. I am sorry that I did not get the opportunity to meet with you during your stay to discuss your unhappiness with the hotel & spa. We have a very high level of regular customers who love the Holyrood for a number of reasons including our food , the warm welcome they receive , our prime location, our comfortable rooms , our leisure & spa facilities & the excellent value for money we offer our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Come up to Bundoran every summer and always stay here, you get great value for money and the staff are always so friendly and helpful. As we have 2 young kids the facilities are brilliant they have a great run kids club which takes the kids all day with loads of fun activities cinema/swimming daily. Rooms are big and the leisure centre is lovely. Food is always good :) great place for a cheap and relaxing get away as it is perfectly located on the Main Street

Room Tip: Sea view room is perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Dear Guest,
We really appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your stay at the Holyrood Hotel. We are delighted that you were satisfied with the hospitality and service you received at The Holyrood Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We have stayed in this hotel on numerous occasions and just back from another amazing weekend. Staff on checkout so friendly, two girls called Sarah and Sandra. We were given a large spacious room which as usual was very clean. The hotel has a cosy atmosphere with superb dining and lounge areas. We had an excellent bar meal, the food was excellent served by a girl called Noreen. We stayed drinking in the bar that evening and the music was very entertaining by a young couple. We would defiantly recommend this hotel, staff always making you feel so welcomed and at home. Always enjoyed our stays here.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management321, General Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Dear Guest,
We really appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your stay at the Holyrood Hotel. We are delighted that you were satisfied with the hospitality and service you received at The Holyrood Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed here as a last resort and it would have been cleaner to stay outside. We were a group of girls away from our families which doesn't happen often and looked forward to our stay.On check in the girl was polite but thats were it finished!! The corridor was damp and dirty and had that musty old smell.We walked for about a mile before we finally got to our rooms.What a disappointment and complete let down. There was 3 of us in one room so there was a double bed with torn cover, a single bed which would have only fitted a child and an old rickety sofa bed that if you moved you would be on the floor. The bathroom was dirty with cracked tiles and dirt behind the door. Although we didn't watch tv it would have been nice to ha e that option but we had no remote!! As parties away usually have a drink in the room we asked at the bar for a jug of ice when the young man went to give it to us 'Kerry' rudely and ignorantly told him 'we don't do that'.we tried ringing reception but phone in the room didn't work and it would be a mile hike back to reception. On checkout we informed the receptionist of our stay yet no apology was offered. Staff didn't care, a lesson in customer service and cleanliness needed.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Debsmc21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Dear Guest, we are disappointed to read your review. It is not in our policy to have patrons of the hotel leave unhappy. On the ocassion of your stay we were unable to allocate rooms close to the lift, as you stated it was a last minute booking. We do endeavour to honour guest requests such as " being near the lift" when bookings are made in advance. At no time throughout your stay was it noted by reception that you were not happy with the rooms allocated. Our receptionist brought up extra towels and it was not brought to her attention about the absence of the remote control.This small problem could have been easily rectified. In relation to the incident in the bar, I have spoken with the staff member concerned and she simply advised rather than taking a jug with ice that perhaps 2 pint glasses of ice would be better. On check out you advised reception of your unhappiness in a very casual manner.Your contact details were immediately passed on to our duty manager as you had left the premises before she could meet you in person. Our duty manager tried to contact the person who made the booking numerous times including Sunday evening, & Monday at various times but to no avail.

The Holyrood Hotel is a family run Hotel and all our staff are fully trained in their positions and we feel all have adequate customer service skills. On this occasion we are sorry you feel staff did not care but as you would not take our call we could not assist you any further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

As are great weekend approached we were all excited and hyper because this hotel showed amaxing online pictures and how the rooms and all looked like. We stayed here on the saturday night and as we entered the hotel the receptionist helped us lnd told us information, she then told us were are room is. The room didnt seem that far away but as we started gooing to the room it seemed as tho we were still walkin after 110 minutes to get it. As we were approaching are room after all that we started to smell dampness, and as we approached the doors of ours rooms as there was a few of us we opened it and still got the same smell, and as we walked in the dust was awful. As i went into my room everything seemed ok until u went over to the window and there was stains all over the curtains as there was in the other rooms. The bathrooms were a disgrace and the tables had marks all over them.. We had got a triple room as one of the rooms we booked and as a result of that one was a sofa bed with a very tiny mattress and one sheet to cover you this was not acceptable at all. After we had got sorted from that anyway we went down to the bar, and the attitude of one of the staff who was called Kerry was unacceptable. She was ignornat, and cheeky and didn help us one bit,we were that disguisted we walked out to another hotel to have dinner. The next day when we were checkin out we told the receptionist of all that had gone on, we thought that she might have helped us but she was as a cheeky as the bar girl. As a result of all this if anyone asks about this hotel i will tell them about all the horrible things in this hotel and would not recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank orladerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Dear Guest,
We are disappointed to read your review. It is not in our policy to have patrons of the hotel leave unhappy. On the ocassion of your stay we were unable to allocate rooms close to the lift, as you stated it was a last minute booking. We do endeavour to honour guest requests such as " being near the lift" when bookings are made in advance. At no time throughout your stay was it noted by reception that you were not happy with the rooms allocated. In relation to the incident in the bar, I have spoken with the staff member concerned and she simply advised rather than taking a jug with ice that perhaps 2 pint glasses of ice would be better. On check out you advised reception of your unhappiness in a very casual manner.Your contact details were immediately passed on to our duty manager as you had left the premises before she could meet you in persont. Our duty manager tried to contact the person who made the booking numerous times including Sunday evening, & Monday at various times but to no avail.

The Holyrood Hotel is a family run Hotel and all our staff are fully trained in their positions and we feel all have adequate customer service skills. On this occasion we are sorry you feel staff did not care but as you would not take our call we could not assist you any further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Just back from a weekend in the holyrood. Checked in by a lovely girl, room what we expected and happy with everything. Was worried about Saturday night with noise but as requested we did not hear a thing from any night time partyers. While reading the paper this morning was greeted again by the same receptionist (i asked her name, Sarah) who I watched go out in the rain with bags for an elderly couple while they waited in the car. Others would have watched them struggle with their luggage especially on such a miserable day. Well done holyrood, we will be back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ingrid D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Dear Guest,
We really appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your stay at the Holyrood Hotel. We are delighted that you were satisfied with the hospitality and service you received at The Holyrood Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bundoran
0.5 mi away
Great Northern Hotel
Great Northern Hotel
#4 of 5 in Bundoran
1,026 reviews
0.2 mi away
Allingham Arms Hotel
Allingham Arms Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bundoran
378 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#5 of 5 in Bundoran
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fitzgerald's Hotel
Fitzgerald's Hotel
#3 of 5 in Bundoran
159 reviews
16.9 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
5.9 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Holyrood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Holyrood Hotel

Address: Main Street, Bundoran, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Bundoran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bundoran
Price Range: $100 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Holyrood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holyrood Hotel, Bundoran has always been renowned for its warmth and hospitality down through the years. The first of the McEniff Hotels, it has been in the family for three generations.Managed by Seanie and Audrey McEniff, they carry on a proud tradition which has been handed on by Mrs. Elizabeth McEniff, Founder of the hotel group.The Holyrood Hotel with its well appointed and spacious ensuite bedrooms, ensures that guests enjoy the comfort and stress free environment they have become to expect from the Holyrood Hotel. Located just a stones throw away from Blue Flag Beaches, a world renowned 18 hole links Golf course, and shadowed by the Darty Mountains. The Holyrood Hotel can only captivate you and yours.One can experience the truly traditional atmosphere in the Waterfront Bar. Spacious and beautifully decorated. Sit in real comfort and sample a wine from our wide ranging cellar or perhaps try one of our exotic cocktails. An extensive bar menu is available in the Waterfront Bar daily.With beautiful views over Donegal bay you won't find a more Soothing place to unwind with a drink and watch the sun setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Holyrood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Holyrood Bundoran
Hotel New Holyrood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing