We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SMELLY!!!!!!!!!!!”
Review of The Holyrood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Holyrood Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bundoran
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Stayed here on saturday night as a last resort. I must say the receptionist who checked us in was very nice and polite but thats as good as it got. On our way to the room there was a fusty damp smell. on opening the door we got the same. The room was very small with a large area of wall paper ripped of the wall. There was a tv stand in the room but no TV. On entering the bathroom we noticed alot of cracked tiles and dirt between them and an unstable toilet seat which was just sitting on top of the toilet broke.
Woke up the next morning with the smell of grease and smoke lingering through the room.
Breakfast - please wait to be seated sign stood for ages no staff approached so we sat down waiting 20 mins to order what was a horrible plate of overcooked food.
would not recommend this hotel to anyone

Room Tip: Do not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4deirdre1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear guest,
I am disappointed to read about your dissatisfaction. The Holyrood is a family run 3 star hotel located in the centre of Bundoran town. It is not our policy to have patrons of the hotel leave unhappy with service & hospitality received. I would like to assure you your comments have been taken seriously and will be discussed at our next management meeting.

You stated you booked 'as a last resort' so I am assuming this was a last minute booking on a busy Saturday night where the number of rooms we had available was limited and with a full Hotel breakfast does tend to get very busy between 9.30am - 10.00am but we have signs up at both reception and the restaurant explaining this. We apologise that there was no TV in the room, this has since been rectified; the TV was removed to our meeting room as we had a conference on and had not been returned to the room. If reported this would have been remedied straight away.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,220)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

964 - 970 of 1,220 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2013

this hotel is good value for money rooms very clean staff friendly they cant do enough for you and in our room there is a book for places to go and see and the location of this hotel is brilliant right on the main street also the food is first class and waiter and waitresses are very professional cant wait to go back

Room Tip: all rooms are good to stay in
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Dear Guest,
we really appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your stay at the Holyrood Hotel. We are delighted that you were satisfied with the hospitality and service you received at The Holyrood Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Just spent another fantastic weekend at the Holyrood Hotel............top marks from me..........again.
Fantastic staff, great food and excellent service and all for a fantastic price.......lookin forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank morgo m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Dear Guest,
We really appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your stay at the Holyrood Hotel. We are delighted that you were satisfied with the hospitality and service you received at The Holyrood Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Just spent a weekend at The Holyrood Hotel and I've nothing but praise for the time we spent there. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The food, which was included in the weekend deal, was delicous. I had a back massage in the spa and it was just perfect. On the saturday night the Hotel provided music which was great. We had a great night and infact a great weekend. We will certainly be returning to The Holyrood Hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear Guest,
We really appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your stay at the Holyrood Hotel. We are delighted that you were satisfied with the hospitality and service you received at The Holyrood Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Just returned from a 2 day break with my wife . Hotel was great , food was beautiful and the staff were very friendly and helpful . Room was large and spacious and the views were excellent . Pool , gym and health suite were great - pool temp was toasty . Will be back again soon and will recommend to friends and family .

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kanga007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Dear Guest,
We really appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your stay at the Holyrood Hotel. We are delighted that you were satisfied with the hospitality and service you received at The Holyrood Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We enjoyed a short family break recently in the Holyrood. We have stayed in the Holyrood a few times now and I don't know if it was because it was winter season or not but the stay was not up to the usual standard. The family room was of a very high standard as was expected however the skeleton staff made it extremely difficult to get any info and I have to say the reception from the staff in the bar was far from friendly which considering the fact that there were only about 5 other customers you'd have thought any custom would have been welcome. We also recently went for Sunday carvery in the bar and the same female member of staff was just as rude and uncooperative as when we stayed before xmas. The leisure centre staff on the other hand were the exact opposite, friendly and welcoming as always and extremely helpful we had a lovely time with the kids in the pool and would highly commend the staff there for the great atmosphere they create.

Room Tip: Go for the rooms on the main street, it may be a little noisy there in peak season but the view is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelmummy649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Dear Guest,
We really appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your time at the Holyrood Hotel. I am disapointed to read you found our bar staff to be unhelpful, I would like to assure you your coments have been taken seriously and hope you will return to the Hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

My wife and I had another enjoyable stay in The Holyrood last weekend. As usual the staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was spotless and very big. Lots of space. Dinner on Saturday night was excellent. The food was delicious and we enjoyed the music afterwards in the lounge. Would highly recommend The Holyrood for a break away.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Dear Guest,
We really appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your stay at the Holyrood Hotel. We are delighted that you were satisfied with the hospitality and service you received at The Holyrood Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bundoran
0.5 mi away
Great Northern Hotel
Great Northern Hotel
#4 of 5 in Bundoran
1,038 reviews
0.2 mi away
Allingham Arms Hotel
Allingham Arms Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bundoran
379 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#5 of 5 in Bundoran
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Fitzgerald's Hotel
Fitzgerald's Hotel
#3 of 5 in Bundoran
159 reviews
5.9 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Holyrood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Holyrood Hotel

Address: Main Street, Bundoran, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Bundoran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bundoran
Price Range: $102 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Holyrood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holyrood Hotel, Bundoran has always been renowned for its warmth and hospitality down through the years. The first of the McEniff Hotels, it has been in the family for three generations.Managed by Seanie and Audrey McEniff, they carry on a proud tradition which has been handed on by Mrs. Elizabeth McEniff, Founder of the hotel group.The Holyrood Hotel with its well appointed and spacious ensuite bedrooms, ensures that guests enjoy the comfort and stress free environment they have become to expect from the Holyrood Hotel. Located just a stones throw away from Blue Flag Beaches, a world renowned 18 hole links Golf course, and shadowed by the Darty Mountains. The Holyrood Hotel can only captivate you and yours.One can experience the truly traditional atmosphere in the Waterfront Bar. Spacious and beautifully decorated. Sit in real comfort and sample a wine from our wide ranging cellar or perhaps try one of our exotic cocktails. An extensive bar menu is available in the Waterfront Bar daily.With beautiful views over Donegal bay you won't find a more Soothing place to unwind with a drink and watch the sun setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Holyrood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Holyrood Bundoran
Hotel New Holyrood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing