We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend away”
Review of The Holyrood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Holyrood Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bundoran
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Stayed in the Holyrood for two nights after the christmas holidays, we had a great time. the food was lovely and piping hot. staff in the bar were very friendly and extremely helpful. we used the lesuire centre brillant facilities and yet again staff were very friendly. the rooms were very clean and spacious, we had fresh towels left into our room on both days. we will be defiantly be staying in this hotel again. very good break away. glad i didnt listen to the bad reviews on trip advisor

Room Tip: non smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Dear Guest,
We really appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your stay at the Holyrood Hotel. We are delighted that you were satisfied with the hospitality and service you received at The Holyrood Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,220)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

972 - 978 of 1,220 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2012

We recently stayed here with a deal on groupon the first room we went to stank of smoke so asked to be moved to another room as we had our 1 year old daughter with us. The next room was on the top floor which smelt a lot better all rooms from what i can see are extremely dated but clean they are very big so plenty of room the downside was that at knee level there where windows which opened so had to block them off with suitcases etc to stop my one year old so Beware of this with young children. Breakfast was great and we had a 4 course dinner included which was also very good. We tryed out the pool which was very cool so only stayed 15 mins there are no lockers that work so leave valuables behind. If you are looking a quiet night away this is not the place to go as the nightclub started at 1130 and went onto after 3am and we were on the top floor and thought it sounded like it was in the same room! as i say we got a deal and the price was right so went for it would i pay to go back? probably not but as they say you get what you paid for

Room Tip: get a room with a view at the front and the higher the better away from the nightclub!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snowball123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Just back after a weekend in the Hollyrood, we had a great time, food was lovely and piping hot, staff were very friendly, we all liked it so much we are going back in January for another weekend.Went to the pool area on saturday but never brought anything with us to use the gum but we will nwxt time. Loooking forward to going back.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geraldine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Hotel ok rooms could do with a makeover very dated. Nice wee fire going in the reception area. Breakfast was fine. Sunday Carvery was ok mine was not warm. Staff friendly. The Gym was small but had what you needed. Pool was good

Room Tip: Askmforna room looking over the beach really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah_thompson2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

not a bad hotel. a bit dated and needs money spent, but for a family of 5 ( 2 adults, a four year old, a 17 year old and a 4 month baby) it was good
staff were friendly and didnt mind children running riot
shows on nightly for families and special emphasis for children too
would stay again with my family

Room Tip: ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Firstly on arrival of check in, no information was given regards to when we needed to check out.

Our room had damp on the walls, window sills and picture frame. The window was broken leaving a draft to come in, the lamp shades were hanging off and the furniture I would have not even given to anyone for free it was that dated and tired looking. There was NO HOT water only luke warm. The curtains were slightly hanging off and wouldn't close properly which I had to try fix myself. Duvets were so thin even with a blanket i was freezing. When the bed clothes were changed by house keeping they were left upside down which is just carelessness. Long black hairs were found in sink, bath and bathroom floor.

Reception were rude and unhelpful when I phoned to order room service and a jug of water, I was told I would have to come downstairs to get it myself as no one was able to leave the bar.... Dinner on Saturday night - staff didn't even ask us for drink order. We were kept waiting for 10mins or more for breakfast and dinner times. Staff not helpful yet again.

When we made our booking we specifically asked for a QUIET room, we were not told about a nightclub right beneath us that went on until 3am and out lampshade was shaking off the mirror it was that loud and we were on the very top floor. I made a call at 1am to make a complaint, staff just replied saying are you sure you weren't told about the nightclub...... I then had to phone back to ask could we be moved which took them over 45 mins and a 20 min wait of a phone call which we then had to phone them as they didn't call back to be told a porter was on his way to our room without giving us any notice. We went to check the new room which was small enough you couldn't even have swung a cat in but at least it was quiet but i had to walk down in my pyjamas which was very embarassing,

My partner and I have had thee worst stay ever in a hotel, bad service and a terrible nights sleep both nights. We have travelled from near Belfast to stay here for the first time and have been 100% unsatisfied and very uncomfortable. We feel we have been taken advantage of our request for a quiet room. Time effort and money has cost us this unworthy journey and stay leaving us feeling very unhappy and disappointed.

Room Tip: Don't go to this hotel ever is my advice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kendal E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Stayed here for two nights room we were given was terrible tiles in bathroom cracked, shower head blocked with limescale that the water did not come out also was either to hot or to cold very old needs to be updated lots of other little thing taps in sink broken there seem to be a puddle on bathroom floor all the time even when dried. Bedroom furniture very old a rickety hairdryer was attached to wall over half a big hole, beds were very lumpy and covers a bit manky looking in general the place is the worst I stayed in if want sea views don't pick this

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ashtri1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bundoran
0.5 mi away
Great Northern Hotel
Great Northern Hotel
#4 of 5 in Bundoran
1,038 reviews
0.2 mi away
Allingham Arms Hotel
Allingham Arms Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bundoran
379 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#5 of 5 in Bundoran
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Fitzgerald's Hotel
Fitzgerald's Hotel
#3 of 5 in Bundoran
159 reviews
5.9 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Holyrood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Holyrood Hotel

Address: Main Street, Bundoran, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Bundoran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bundoran
Price Range: $102 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Holyrood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holyrood Hotel, Bundoran has always been renowned for its warmth and hospitality down through the years. The first of the McEniff Hotels, it has been in the family for three generations.Managed by Seanie and Audrey McEniff, they carry on a proud tradition which has been handed on by Mrs. Elizabeth McEniff, Founder of the hotel group.The Holyrood Hotel with its well appointed and spacious ensuite bedrooms, ensures that guests enjoy the comfort and stress free environment they have become to expect from the Holyrood Hotel. Located just a stones throw away from Blue Flag Beaches, a world renowned 18 hole links Golf course, and shadowed by the Darty Mountains. The Holyrood Hotel can only captivate you and yours.One can experience the truly traditional atmosphere in the Waterfront Bar. Spacious and beautifully decorated. Sit in real comfort and sample a wine from our wide ranging cellar or perhaps try one of our exotic cocktails. An extensive bar menu is available in the Waterfront Bar daily.With beautiful views over Donegal bay you won't find a more Soothing place to unwind with a drink and watch the sun setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Holyrood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Holyrood Bundoran
Hotel New Holyrood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing