We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic & Clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Central Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Bundoran
A TripAdvisor Member
Donegal
15
Reviewed May 16, 2006

We spent a weekened in the hotel May 2006,accomadation basic but clean sheets pure white towels white and clean. The hotel family room we were allocated was in an
apartment complex to the rear of the hotel so be prepared for the revellers coming home about 3am. We were in a ground floor apartment and could hear all movement upstairs. We found the staff friendly and professional, a lot otf the reviews we read did state they were foreign nationals but we have to say their english was perfect and so was there manners. We ate in the resturaunt and bar and were not to impressed as we feel the food on their web site indicates "gourmet cuisine "and this is not the case, we have to be honest and say we did not enjoy the bar food " PRE PERPARED BURGERS" "We did make a complaint to the management and they were apologetic and refunded the price of the burger.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (379)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

342 - 348 of 379 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2006

Myself and partner booked in to the Central for Easter Weekend a trip we do each year to Bundoran but book in to a different hotel each time. If i had of known what a complete shambles it was going to be i would have stayed in the Allingham where we stayed and had a most enjoyable stay last year.

On arrival at reception to book in the room card for the door was given to us by reception staff who clearly could not communicate in English. We were grunted at to take the lift to our floor and what our room number was, the rest we had to find out for ourselves on several trips back to reception. What ever happened to hello, good afternoon, enjoy your stay???? It took us a few minutes to find out why no lights were working the room, the curtains were falling off the curtain rails and the hairdryer in the room did not work. The materials were left in room for tea making facilities without teaspoons the same as the tea served to us for our breakfast, not a teaspoon to be found.

On arriving at the bar we ordered two drinks to be greeted by a foreign barman grunting at us that we had ordered three and demanding we pay for them, which of course we didnt. We were contemplating on ordering some food when we overheard a fello customer asking if they had waiter service, only to be told by Albert, that usually they did but "today he was feeling lazy, so customers would have to come to the bar to order" They eventually run out of most types of lager at the bar, continuously got customers drinks orders wrong and insulted every customer who dared to complain at the lack of service they were getting.

We only went for breakfast the first morning as that was sufficient to warn you off going back. The chef serving the food hadnt even his hair tidied back or in a net, he couldnt understand a word of English and we proceeded to try and put our plates etc on a table that clearly had not enough space on them to accommodate two people eating breakfast.

On checking out we were advised their complete system had broken down and they were unable to give out receipts to us on paying our balance due. Nobody even bothered to ask if we had enjoyed our stay, or wish us a safe onward journey, not that they would have been able to communicate to us anyway.

What a nightmare the whole weekend was trying to communicate with this staff, our only compliments were to the Irish staff who were clearly the only ones anyone could communicate with and were polite and friendly.

The hotel staff need serious training both in communication and customer service, then maybe the hotel might come up to a three star but certainly does not warrant it at this present time.

Not to be recommended by us to stay in there are other very good hotels in Bundoran to try out.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank S G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded May 2, 2006

Thank you for your recent response, however i am very disapointed to read your review. Easter weekend was indeed an extremely busy weekend with all our bedrooms fully booked along with the complete Apartment complex, all in all we accommodated up on 400 people that weekend and you appear to be the only unsatisfied guest. Having read your review your main issue was with our European Staff, who are all very highly qualified staff, with many having 4 and 5 different languages, English being their second language, and like almost every other hotel in Ireland we are a mulitcultural employer.

Our Reception staff are trained to a very high standard and greet everyone with a good Morning Afternoon, Evening and it is procedure to notify the guest at checkin on the workings of their key and electricity, i am sorry if you feel this was not the case on your visit.

You remarks regarding our bar Staff, again they are trained to a very high standard and the staff member that you have named recieves a very high number of compliments regarding his service and approach to guests, again i am sorry if you feel this was not the case your visit.

I must defend the chef in question and can confirm that his hair was tied back whilst serving breakfast as it is at all times whilst on duty.

Again i am extremely sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay at the Grand Central Hotel, however if you wish to discuss it further please contact me.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Northern Ireland
17
Reviewed April 10, 2006

We stayed 2 nights 7th and 8th April on the Super Valu special offer break.
Hotel and rooms were clean and looked as though it had had a recent facelift.
The evening meal for the Super Valu break is a limited menu and anything else selected will be charged.
Reception staff friendly enough, although the bar staff (2 young foreign guys) through the day didn't appear to be able to understand english and were extremeley rude. On the Saturday afternoon we ordered a snack from the bar with drinks, burger and chips arrived after about 15 mins but after 30 mins my wifes cold seafood starter had still not arrived, I had finished my snack and we both had finished our drinks, twice we asked the young man behind the bar about the starter and he just grunted, in the end I had to get the manageress to give me a refund as we had to leave to meet friends at another bar. She said she would investigate and asked our room number, we heard no more about it.
Apart from that the hotel wasn't too bad and had music on both nights.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded April 26, 2006

Thank you for your recent comments, i am very disappointed to see your review. We appreciate all comments on how to improve our service, as we invest in our staff and their training, and it is an on going process. i am sorry that you found our staff to be unfriendly and rude and find this very unusual as we get consant compliments regarding the friendliness of our staff and the home from home atmosphere there present. Again thank you for your comments and i hope to welcome you back to the Grand Central Hotel again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2006

Dont know why i am wasting my time writing this, where do i start - Reception staff very ignorant, never smiled once. View from Room was of a large pole with a satallite dish but we only had one tv channel. Food was absolutely disgusting and freezing cold. We went on a 2 night B & B and one evening meal, when went to breakfast there were only sausages left and bacon and when we asked for toast it was fired at us (cold). Website totally misrepresents the hotel. At least 2 members of staff speak good english. All the rest of the staff including bar staff, cleaners, chefs, waiters, waitresses, security, door men and reception are all foreigners. Did not understand what people were saying to them. Dinner which was (included in price) was absolutely disgusting, Soup for starter cold and thick as mud, three choices of main course, chicken, fish or vegetarian dish - absolutely disgusting - Do i need to go on - I would rather sleep in the streets than stay here again and would not advise ayone to stay here, really dont know how they are rated as a Three star Hotel.....

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank adelenewry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2006

We stayed in this hotel having read the brouchure and checked the web site - I have to say what a disaster. We booked this as we were attending a wedding in another hotel in Bundoran. Reception staff in no way helpful, accommodation - double room was well below average - How can this be rated 3*** . Sheets on bed were dirty- carpet not hoovered in room - room cold mix match of furniture - Wanted to get some food before we went to wedding - well what a chore - we ordered - waited over half an hour for chowder - Pure cream and fish - no flavour )- Soup and 2 toasted sandwiches - these were unappetising and could not eat them. The staff in Bar & Lounge need seriuos training - we were a hassle to be there. I have to say been originally from Donegal I would not go back to this hotel

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank eoinpmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2006

I stayed at the Grand Central Hotel last night (11th February) and had a fantstic time from the moment we arrived everything was first class, our welcome at reception, to extremely clean and comfortable bedrooms, we had booked our table in the restaurant for 8pm, it was warm and inviting and the food was amazing....... thank you everyone at the Grand Central for making my valentines weekend one to remember.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank regulartraveller019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2006

we stayed at the grand central bundoran for two nights (3 & 4 feb 06).

location: more or less in the very centre of bundoran's main street. we were able to park our car in the bay outside the front door for our entire stay which was great.

reception:
warm and welcoming arrival area. greeted on arrival with a smile and a welcome from the receptionists. prompt check in and then given key to our room (5th floor). elevator very clean and new looking.

room:
adequate size - not very large but big enough for a double and a single bed, dressing table, etc. bathroom well stocked with towels, shampoo, conditioner, etc. rooms very warm - we had to open the windows! for people who feel the cold, you will love the total warmth in the corridors and bedrooms!

view:
over the rooftop of apartments behind hotel you can see the sea. not a great view but the sea nonetheless. i note in the brochure that there is a charge of €80 per week during high season for a seaview. i would certainly NOT pay this amount for this view. yes, it is a sea view, but only just.

cleanliness:
sheets spotless, crisp and clean. bathroom and bedroom very clean too. towels snow white. very pleased with level of cleanliness.

dinner:
we took the 2 night package of b&b plus on dinner so we ate in the dining room. the room was clean and bright. good quality table cloths and napkins - spotlessly clean and well starched. (food is also available in the bar btw).

our meal:
starters: goats cheese & tomato tartlet - tasty but very tiny. pate with cranberry sauce - delicious and plenty of pate.

mains: tbone steak served with pepper sauce, veg & potatoes. my husband ordered in cooked medium but it arrived a little overcooked for his taste, but not a big deal. i had the beef stroganoff (yes, i know the spelling is actually stroganov). this was actually very tasty and i normally do not order it as it is usually not anything like the real thing. on this occasion however, it was tasty and the strips of beef tender. it was served with wild rice.

we did not order desserts as we are both sweet enough :-) but there was a plentiful selection for those wishing to indulge.

for those ordering dinner on the second night the prices are: starters €4.95 - €6.95. mains: €12.95 - €20.75. desserts: €4.25 - €5.95. these prices are very reasonable for today's ireland. i am happy to report also that 2 of the starters were vegetarian as were 2 of the mains.

the bar:
lovely girl serving in the bar. friendly and quick service. on the second night of our stay there was live music in the bar but as we were dining at another local restaurant we did not use the bar that night. i think they have live music regularly but this you would need to check. prices in the bar were standard prices for ireland and not heavily marked up as can happen in some hotel bars. a gin & tonic and a pint of lager came to around €8.80.

breakfast:
this is served buffet style from i think 8-10am. you can also order breakfast to your room (€3.50 each extra for delivery). we dined in the bar which is used as the breakfast room in the mornings. the breakfast is buffet style and is served by 2 chefs behind the buffet counter. there is loads of food on offer: cereal, juices, etc.

our breakfast (which filled us until dinner!) consisted of: bacon (2 slices), sausages (2), scrambled egg, hash browns (2), baked beans, mushrooms, tomato, potato bread, toast and tea. the waitress who brought the tea and toast was pleasant and helpful in our enquiries about the area too. after dining, we positively rolled out of the room, two happy and very full guests.

i was happy to see that you can have free internet access wi-fi, however, this was not possible from our bedroom on the fifth floor. i could have accessed on my laptop from the bar area or reception area. a minor gripe.

the manager and other staff we encountered were all friendly and chatty and made us feel most welcome.

so overall, i would recommend this hotel and a big part of my recommendation is the staff there. they really do help make your stay that bit more personal.

  • Stayed: February 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank catherine_mcglynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bundoran
0.2 mi away
The Holyrood Hotel
The Holyrood Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bundoran
1,234 reviews
0.4 mi away
Great Northern Hotel
Great Northern Hotel
#4 of 5 in Bundoran
1,049 reviews
0 mi away
Allingham Arms Hotel
Allingham Arms Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bundoran
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Fitzgerald's Hotel
Fitzgerald's Hotel
#3 of 5 in Bundoran
159 reviews
12.7 mi away
Tara Hotel
Tara Hotel
#1 of 2 in Killybegs
662 reviews
3.6 mi away
Creevy Pier Hotel
Creevy Pier Hotel
#1 of 4 in Ballyshannon
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Central Hotel

Address: Main Street, Bundoran, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Bundoran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Bundoran
Price Range: $83 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Central Bundoran
Hotel Grand Central

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing