We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Central Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Bundoran
Reviewed February 11, 2006

I stayed at the Grand Central Hotel last night (11th February) and had a fantstic time from the moment we arrived everything was first class, our welcome at reception, to extremely clean and comfortable bedrooms, we had booked our table in the restaurant for 8pm, it was warm and inviting and the food was amazing....... thank you everyone at the Grand Central for making my valentines weekend one to remember.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank regulartraveller019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (379)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

347 - 353 of 379 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2006

we stayed at the grand central bundoran for two nights (3 & 4 feb 06).

location: more or less in the very centre of bundoran's main street. we were able to park our car in the bay outside the front door for our entire stay which was great.

reception:
warm and welcoming arrival area. greeted on arrival with a smile and a welcome from the receptionists. prompt check in and then given key to our room (5th floor). elevator very clean and new looking.

room:
adequate size - not very large but big enough for a double and a single bed, dressing table, etc. bathroom well stocked with towels, shampoo, conditioner, etc. rooms very warm - we had to open the windows! for people who feel the cold, you will love the total warmth in the corridors and bedrooms!

view:
over the rooftop of apartments behind hotel you can see the sea. not a great view but the sea nonetheless. i note in the brochure that there is a charge of €80 per week during high season for a seaview. i would certainly NOT pay this amount for this view. yes, it is a sea view, but only just.

cleanliness:
sheets spotless, crisp and clean. bathroom and bedroom very clean too. towels snow white. very pleased with level of cleanliness.

dinner:
we took the 2 night package of b&b plus on dinner so we ate in the dining room. the room was clean and bright. good quality table cloths and napkins - spotlessly clean and well starched. (food is also available in the bar btw).

our meal:
starters: goats cheese & tomato tartlet - tasty but very tiny. pate with cranberry sauce - delicious and plenty of pate.

mains: tbone steak served with pepper sauce, veg & potatoes. my husband ordered in cooked medium but it arrived a little overcooked for his taste, but not a big deal. i had the beef stroganoff (yes, i know the spelling is actually stroganov). this was actually very tasty and i normally do not order it as it is usually not anything like the real thing. on this occasion however, it was tasty and the strips of beef tender. it was served with wild rice.

we did not order desserts as we are both sweet enough :-) but there was a plentiful selection for those wishing to indulge.

for those ordering dinner on the second night the prices are: starters €4.95 - €6.95. mains: €12.95 - €20.75. desserts: €4.25 - €5.95. these prices are very reasonable for today's ireland. i am happy to report also that 2 of the starters were vegetarian as were 2 of the mains.

the bar:
lovely girl serving in the bar. friendly and quick service. on the second night of our stay there was live music in the bar but as we were dining at another local restaurant we did not use the bar that night. i think they have live music regularly but this you would need to check. prices in the bar were standard prices for ireland and not heavily marked up as can happen in some hotel bars. a gin & tonic and a pint of lager came to around €8.80.

breakfast:
this is served buffet style from i think 8-10am. you can also order breakfast to your room (€3.50 each extra for delivery). we dined in the bar which is used as the breakfast room in the mornings. the breakfast is buffet style and is served by 2 chefs behind the buffet counter. there is loads of food on offer: cereal, juices, etc.

our breakfast (which filled us until dinner!) consisted of: bacon (2 slices), sausages (2), scrambled egg, hash browns (2), baked beans, mushrooms, tomato, potato bread, toast and tea. the waitress who brought the tea and toast was pleasant and helpful in our enquiries about the area too. after dining, we positively rolled out of the room, two happy and very full guests.

i was happy to see that you can have free internet access wi-fi, however, this was not possible from our bedroom on the fifth floor. i could have accessed on my laptop from the bar area or reception area. a minor gripe.

the manager and other staff we encountered were all friendly and chatty and made us feel most welcome.

so overall, i would recommend this hotel and a big part of my recommendation is the staff there. they really do help make your stay that bit more personal.

  • Stayed: February 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank catherine_mcglynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2005

We stayed at the Grand Central on the Thursday night of the October bank holiday weekend. Firstly we were up and down the stairs 4 times before the key would work to let us into the room. We wanted to book a table for dinner, we had to dine in the bar as the restaurant wasn't open, we were told in the bar that we had to reserve a table through reception, we then went to reception who told us that we had to book through the bar, back to the bar to be told again that we had to go to reception. It was extremely windy in the bar that night and I had to sit with my coat on so I asked to move tables which was clearly a problem for the waitress who told me that she had already closed the door for us and could do no more. Even though there were only 2 other people dining, we had to move our own utencils to another table whilst the waitress watched us. We then ordered a drink and waited 25 minutes while the barwoman made a cup of coffee for herself and stood chatting to a member of staff who had just come off duty. The waitress at breakfast grunted at us on arrival and was most unfriendly. On a positive note, the receptionist who checked us out was very pleasant and friendly

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Kmate17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Offaly
16
Reviewed October 17, 2005

We stayed at The Grand Central Hotel and had a wounderful time. We were booked through the Super Value Getaway Breaks. We had a huge 2 bedroomed family room overlooking the sea. Spacious and spotless clean. It was perfect! The kids loved it. The staff were great - they really couldn't do enough for us.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Co. Meath
15
Reviewed September 7, 2005

My family stayed for 2 nights.....we were put into apartments, even though we were assured we were in the main hotel at time of booking. Menu choice was very limited. We had 2 walk half a mile down the street in the mornings for breakfast....definately not what I was expecting.

Also a friend of mine was booking in during the week prior to my visit, she was being put in an apartment but kicked up and got into the hotel and when she was leaving kicked up a fuss and got back they money she had paid for her 3 children's meals. It leavers me wondering..........Rose farrelly

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2005

We stayed 2 nights in the Grand Central for just 110 euros each - including breakfast and dinner! Incredible value! Hotel was clean, friendly with a great location on the surfing beach. A wonderful time. We will be back.

Stayed: July 2005
10  Thank Mr_Reasonable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
12142
Reviewed May 22, 2005

We were given a gift voucher for 2 night's B&B and 1 dinner at the Grand Central Hotel, Bundoran. I was apprehensive after reading some of the reviews on Trip Advisor but decided to give it a chance.

I had requested a quiet non-smoking room in the hotel. We were given a smoking room, and only slept about 4 hours because our room seemed to be the noisiest in the hotel. We were situated at the front of the hotel which is beside a busy main road so we had to listen to traffic most of the night and the drunken stag/hen parties staggering home in the early hours.

The dinner was ok at the hotel, usual basic hotel standard. Vegetables served with the meal - mash, carrots and turnips. Wine reasonably priced. There were long queues at the fried breakfast bar in the mornings as there was only one girl dishing the food out to customers. Breakfast was ok but the hotel needs to invest in dessert spoons as soup spoons are used for cereals and fruit.

The offer at the minute is €100 pp for 2 nights B&B and 1 dinner so I suppose if you are looking for vfm, the Grand Central Hotel is the place, just ask for a room at the back of the hotel.

Positive Points

1 Clean basic room

2 Tea and coffee making facilities in the room

3 Staff friendly/helpful enough

4 Hotel was clean throughout

  • Stayed: May 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bundoran
0.2 mi away
The Holyrood Hotel
The Holyrood Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bundoran
1,220 reviews
0.4 mi away
Great Northern Hotel
Great Northern Hotel
#4 of 5 in Bundoran
1,038 reviews
0 mi away
Allingham Arms Hotel
Allingham Arms Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bundoran
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Fitzgerald's Hotel
Fitzgerald's Hotel
#3 of 5 in Bundoran
159 reviews
12.7 mi away
Tara Hotel
Tara Hotel
#1 of 2 in Killybegs
657 reviews
12.7 mi away
Bay View Hotel
Bay View Hotel
#2 of 2 in Killybegs
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Central Hotel

Address: Main Street, Bundoran, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Bundoran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Bundoran
Price Range: $82 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Central Bundoran
Hotel Grand Central

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing