We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely, warm and welcoming” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Central Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand Central Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Bundoran
County Meath, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely, warm and welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

First think that hit me about this hotel was the heat that hit you as soon as you opened door.Great start. Staff were very pleasant and helpful. Room were lovely and spacious and quiet. Everywhere in hotel was spotless. Would definitely recommend this hotel to others. It is so central to everything, Have staying in Bundoran many times but this was definitely the best place I have ever stayed while there. Would definitely go back

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oco11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShielaMcGrath, Front Office Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thank you for such a nice comment and recommendation! We at the Grand Central Hotel really appreciative the feedback. Looking forward to Welcoming you back to the Hotel in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    79
    55
    49
    85
See reviews for
89
120
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

Stayed here last weekend in October 2012 for the charley Pride & country music weekend, hotel rooms were cold, breakfast was a disaster had to wait 2 hrs for it, staff hadn't a clue but it wasn't there fault all young people who I don't think worked in a hotel before. But have to say, never few people complained to them not their fault, I think they only opened hotel for busy weekends. Next time will try the Allingham Hotel. But you got to book in advance for it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Quba22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bundoran hotels

west lothian
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed in the Grand Central from Friday-Monday for the Annual Hills of Donegal Celtic Festival and were very satisfied with the accommodation. The rooms were very spacious each with a single bed and a double bed in them. The bathroom was spotless and also a great size. The staff were all very pleasant and extremely helpful especially the receptionist James who seemed to work all hours under the sun. We will be returning next year for another stay in the Grand Central.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mikey1967westlothian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShielaMcGrath, Front Office Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Thank you very much for this review, it is greatly appreciated.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to The Grand Central Hotel next year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin, ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

stayed here for 1 night and have no complaints, cheap, rooms clean, breakfast good ,good location.cant understand alot of the bad reviews and was a bit concerned before i stayed.are some people expecting a 5 star hotel.oh they didnt supply me with a paper napkin with breakfast,i had to ask for one.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank benmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShielaMcGrath, Front Office Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for your nice Review. We do appreciate all feedback given.

We would like to take this opportunity to reiterate that we prefer that guests with any issues come to us while they are staying with us so that we may be able to assist them immediately.

Hopefully we will get to welcome you back to the Grand Central Hotel in the near Future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Recently visited the hotel for a family meal in the restaurant - excellent service,and fantastic food! The restaurant was also very busy (it was a Thursday evening) which says to me that it's very popular!
I would definately look at coming to stay in the hotel, there also seemed to be a lot of entertainment booked in for the coming months, and other diners told us it's a great place to stay.
Also being in the town centre meant it was a great location for continuing out afterwards!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sezhutts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShielaMcGrath, Front Office Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thank you for such a nice review!

As you pointed out that other diners in our restaurant said that here is a great place to stay which reflects how many of our guests are repeat customers that come back to stay with us many times a year, every year in the Grand Central Hotel and enjoy "Beautiful Bundoran".

Looking forward to welcoming you and your family to the Hotel in the Future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
226 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

As always when I review in trip advisor I endeavour to be fair and objective. So I will explain my low rating

The hotel in this staff were friendly and helpful to us but that was its only redeeming point

The rooms are it's low point. I am not too sure to rate them as 1 or 2 star rooms. I believe they should shutdown the hotel over the winter and invest heavily in bringing the rooms up to at least 3 star rating(I have included pictures). Also the old thin windows allow do nothing to prevent the noise coming in from the main street

I thought the breakfast was only ok and cemented the 2 star rating to me

Also I believe it was such poor value. My expectations were not high for this hotel but at €110 per night for a double room,irritating represents no value for customers. These rooms should be no more than €60/70 per night



Finally do yourself a favour and avoid bundoran .. It's a tacky seaside town with amusements, fast food and unpleasant bars.
Donegal is an incredible county, go and enjoy all it's other wonderful areas

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ConorFi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShielaMcGrath, Front Office Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Thank you for your review however we have to disagree with you on a few points that you have made.

Our Rooms have met with the requirements and standards of a 3 Star property and our superior rooms have exceeded that rating. August is our Peak Season in Bundoran as you would have noticed the hundreds of visitors to Bundoran being such a popular sea side destination and is reflected in our rate. At the moment we are offering B&B at €29per person sharing Midweek as it is no longer Peak Season.

On weekends there can be on occasion noise but we are located on the main street of Bundoran "Central" in location and close to all the numerous amenities that "Beautiful Bundoran" has to offer.

The photo you have included is of your own room while you were occupying it and it is also unfair to show this picture as our rooms do not look like this on arrival.

If you were not happy with Breakfast we would advise that you should have said something to staff at the time who are more than willing to assist you, a replacement breakfast would have been offered.

Finally we would like to mention that your comment on Bundoran being "Tacky" and "unpleasant" was totally unfair and biast as our repeat customers will all agree.

Yes Donegal is a wonderful place to visit and Bundoran is the perfect place to start, the most southern Town in County Donegal, sandwiched between the mountains and the Atlantic Ocean, with Blue Flag Beaches, and numerous outdoor adventure activities as well as a pub for every mood and various top class eating establishments, prooves that Bundoran is and continues to be a "Jewel in the crown of the North West"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

My family and I stayed at the Grand Central for 3 nights in August.Check-in was quick and friendly enough.We got a family room which was basically 2 rooms joined together and proved to be very spacious for our family of 5.Rooms basic but clean and comfortable but slightly worried that child safety locks on windows were broken - we brought this to the attention of the hotel staff but no action was ever taken to repair or replace the safety locks.
When I asked for 2 wine glasses to bring to my room I was stunned to hear that hotel policy didn`t allow this due to health and safety as there had been incidents where people had stepped on broken glass (despite the fact that tumbler type glasses are provided in the rooms?).We eventually got the wine glasses after offering to pay a 10 Euro damage deposit. We had to transport ice to our room in plastic pint glasses from the hotel bar as hotel policy didn`t allow ice buckets to be brought to the rooms which I find very strange.
Breakfast and dinner were pretty much what you`d expect in a 3 star property.Staff were friendly enough but didn`t seem to want to go out of their way to help resolve issues.
Bundoran is a great little town and the hotel is in an excellent location but this hotel could be so much more with a little more "Can-do" attitude.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IRISHROVER143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bundoran
0.1 mi away
The Holyrood Hotel
The Holyrood Hotel
#3 of 5 in Bundoran
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,072 reviews
0.3 mi away
Great Northern Hotel
Great Northern Hotel
#4 of 5 in Bundoran
3.5 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
0.0 mi away
Allingham Arms Hotel
Allingham Arms Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bundoran
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Fitzgerald's Hotel
Fitzgerald's Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bundoran
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
13.7 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
12.7 mi away
Bay View Hotel & Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Central Hotel

Property: Grand Central Hotel
Address: Main Street, Bundoran, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Bundoran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Bundoran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Grand Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Central Bundoran
Hotel Grand Central

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing