We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Central Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Bundoran
Reviewed September 5, 2012

stayed here for 1 night and have no complaints, cheap, rooms clean, breakfast good ,good location.cant understand alot of the bad reviews and was a bit concerned before i stayed.are some people expecting a 5 star hotel.oh they didnt supply me with a paper napkin with breakfast,i had to ask for one.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank benmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShielaMcGrath, Front Office Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

Thank you for your nice Review. We do appreciate all feedback given.

We would like to take this opportunity to reiterate that we prefer that guests with any issues come to us while they are staying with us so that we may be able to assist them immediately.

Hopefully we will get to welcome you back to the Grand Central Hotel in the near Future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (371)
There are newer reviews for Grand Central Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

209 - 215 of 371 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2012

Recently visited the hotel for a family meal in the restaurant - excellent service,and fantastic food! The restaurant was also very busy (it was a Thursday evening) which says to me that it's very popular!
I would definately look at coming to stay in the hotel, there also seemed to be a lot of entertainment booked in for the coming months, and other diners told us it's a great place to stay.
Also being in the town centre meant it was a great location for continuing out afterwards!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sezhutts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShielaMcGrath, Front Office Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

Thank you for such a nice review!

As you pointed out that other diners in our restaurant said that here is a great place to stay which reflects how many of our guests are repeat customers that come back to stay with us many times a year, every year in the Grand Central Hotel and enjoy "Beautiful Bundoran".

Looking forward to welcoming you and your family to the Hotel in the Future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

As always when I review in trip advisor I endeavour to be fair and objective. So I will explain my low rating

The hotel in this staff were friendly and helpful to us but that was its only redeeming point

The rooms are it's low point. I am not too sure to rate them as 1 or 2 star rooms. I believe they should shutdown the hotel over the winter and invest heavily in bringing the rooms up to at least 3 star rating(I have included pictures). Also the old thin windows allow do nothing to prevent the noise coming in from the main street

I thought the breakfast was only ok and cemented the 2 star rating to me

Also I believe it was such poor value. My expectations were not high for this hotel but at €110 per night for a double room,irritating represents no value for customers. These rooms should be no more than €60/70 per night



Finally do yourself a favour and avoid bundoran .. It's a tacky seaside town with amusements, fast food and unpleasant bars.
Donegal is an incredible county, go and enjoy all it's other wonderful areas

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ConorFi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShielaMcGrath, Front Office Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2012

Thank you for your review however we have to disagree with you on a few points that you have made.

Our Rooms have met with the requirements and standards of a 3 Star property and our superior rooms have exceeded that rating. August is our Peak Season in Bundoran as you would have noticed the hundreds of visitors to Bundoran being such a popular sea side destination and is reflected in our rate. At the moment we are offering B&B at €29per person sharing Midweek as it is no longer Peak Season.

On weekends there can be on occasion noise but we are located on the main street of Bundoran "Central" in location and close to all the numerous amenities that "Beautiful Bundoran" has to offer.

The photo you have included is of your own room while you were occupying it and it is also unfair to show this picture as our rooms do not look like this on arrival.

If you were not happy with Breakfast we would advise that you should have said something to staff at the time who are more than willing to assist you, a replacement breakfast would have been offered.

Finally we would like to mention that your comment on Bundoran being "Tacky" and "unpleasant" was totally unfair and biast as our repeat customers will all agree.

Yes Donegal is a wonderful place to visit and Bundoran is the perfect place to start, the most southern Town in County Donegal, sandwiched between the mountains and the Atlantic Ocean, with Blue Flag Beaches, and numerous outdoor adventure activities as well as a pub for every mood and various top class eating establishments, prooves that Bundoran is and continues to be a "Jewel in the crown of the North West"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

My family and I stayed at the Grand Central for 3 nights in August.Check-in was quick and friendly enough.We got a family room which was basically 2 rooms joined together and proved to be very spacious for our family of 5.Rooms basic but clean and comfortable but slightly worried that child safety locks on windows were broken - we brought this to the attention of the hotel staff but no action was ever taken to repair or replace the safety locks.
When I asked for 2 wine glasses to bring to my room I was stunned to hear that hotel policy didn`t allow this due to health and safety as there had been incidents where people had stepped on broken glass (despite the fact that tumbler type glasses are provided in the rooms?).We eventually got the wine glasses after offering to pay a 10 Euro damage deposit. We had to transport ice to our room in plastic pint glasses from the hotel bar as hotel policy didn`t allow ice buckets to be brought to the rooms which I find very strange.
Breakfast and dinner were pretty much what you`d expect in a 3 star property.Staff were friendly enough but didn`t seem to want to go out of their way to help resolve issues.
Bundoran is a great little town and the hotel is in an excellent location but this hotel could be so much more with a little more "Can-do" attitude.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IRISHROVER143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

exellent hotel. we stayed for one week. there were no complaints.telivisions could be improved rooms were cleaned every day at same time so we knew when to be there or not. receptionist was very helpfull.staff very efficent .the food was good with large portions

Room Tip: corner suites are larger with extra windows
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tommy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShielaMcGrath, Front Office Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2012

Wow, Thank you for your excellent review. Televisions are currently in transition in Ireland to be upgraded between analog and digital so when this gets completed more channels with a clearer picture will become available to guests.

Thank you for mentioning how helpful our reception team is and how efficient our staff are.
Our head chef would like to also pass on his thanks to you for mentioning how good the food is!

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Central Hotel in the Future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

stayed here with husband and two children, bit worried wen read reviews. Hotel on main street our room at fron of hotel
Very central, room very nice and down the street was a lovely beach and park.
would stay here again, very good value

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shannyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShielaMcGrath, Front Office Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Thank you for such a nice review!

Looking forward to hopefully welcome you and your family back to us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

on arriving to the hotel, the receptionist was not very friendly or helpful. I did not get the room which I had requested but this was changed and I was given the room I requested. The room was basic but could have been cleaner. There was a layer of dust on the bedside locker. Comfortable sleep though. TV is very out dated with poor reception. Bathroom was spacious and it was clean. Rooms are quiet. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hgst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShielaMcGrath, Front Office Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2012

Thank you for your review.
The Reception Team in the Grand Central Hotel are more than happy to assist our Guests in a friendly and pleasant manor.
Had you mentioned the state of your room when you checked in we would have sent a housekeeper to finish off the room for you.
Televisions in Ireland are in Transition between analog and digital television, so when this is upgraded nationwide more channels will be available with a clearer picture.
Thank you for mentioning that the bathrooms are clean and spacious.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the Future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bundoran
0.2 mi away
The Holyrood Hotel
The Holyrood Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bundoran
1,187 reviews
0.4 mi away
Great Northern Hotel
Great Northern Hotel
#4 of 5 in Bundoran
1,013 reviews
0.0 mi away
Allingham Arms Hotel
Allingham Arms Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bundoran
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Fitzgerald's Hotel
Fitzgerald's Hotel
#3 of 5 in Bundoran
157 reviews
5.8 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
600 reviews
13.8 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Central Hotel

Address: Main Street, Bundoran, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Bundoran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Bundoran
Price Range: $82 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Grand Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Central Bundoran
Hotel Grand Central

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing