We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“COULD BE SO MUCH MORE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand Central Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Bundoran
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“COULD BE SO MUCH MORE”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

My family and I stayed at the Grand Central for 3 nights in August.Check-in was quick and friendly enough.We got a family room which was basically 2 rooms joined together and proved to be very spacious for our family of 5.Rooms basic but clean and comfortable but slightly worried that child safety locks on windows were broken - we brought this to the attention of the hotel staff but no action was ever taken to repair or replace the safety locks.
When I asked for 2 wine glasses to bring to my room I was stunned to hear that hotel policy didn`t allow this due to health and safety as there had been incidents where people had stepped on broken glass (despite the fact that tumbler type glasses are provided in the rooms?).We eventually got the wine glasses after offering to pay a 10 Euro damage deposit. We had to transport ice to our room in plastic pint glasses from the hotel bar as hotel policy didn`t allow ice buckets to be brought to the rooms which I find very strange.
Breakfast and dinner were pretty much what you`d expect in a 3 star property.Staff were friendly enough but didn`t seem to want to go out of their way to help resolve issues.
Bundoran is a great little town and the hotel is in an excellent location but this hotel could be so much more with a little more "Can-do" attitude.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IRISHROVER143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    80
    55
    49
    87
See reviews for
89
123
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
co cavan ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

exellent hotel. we stayed for one week. there were no complaints.telivisions could be improved rooms were cleaned every day at same time so we knew when to be there or not. receptionist was very helpfull.staff very efficent .the food was good with large portions

Room Tip: corner suites are larger with extra windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tommy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShielaMcGrath, Front Office Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Wow, Thank you for your excellent review. Televisions are currently in transition in Ireland to be upgraded between analog and digital so when this gets completed more channels with a clearer picture will become available to guests.

Thank you for mentioning how helpful our reception team is and how efficient our staff are.
Our head chef would like to also pass on his thanks to you for mentioning how good the food is!

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Central Hotel in the Future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast northern ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

stayed here with husband and two children, bit worried wen read reviews. Hotel on main street our room at fron of hotel
Very central, room very nice and down the street was a lovely beach and park.
would stay here again, very good value

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shannyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShielaMcGrath, Front Office Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you for such a nice review!

Looking forward to hopefully welcome you and your family back to us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

on arriving to the hotel, the receptionist was not very friendly or helpful. I did not get the room which I had requested but this was changed and I was given the room I requested. The room was basic but could have been cleaner. There was a layer of dust on the bedside locker. Comfortable sleep though. TV is very out dated with poor reception. Bathroom was spacious and it was clean. Rooms are quiet. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hgst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShielaMcGrath, Front Office Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you for your review.
The Reception Team in the Grand Central Hotel are more than happy to assist our Guests in a friendly and pleasant manor.
Had you mentioned the state of your room when you checked in we would have sent a housekeeper to finish off the room for you.
Televisions in Ireland are in Transition between analog and digital television, so when this is upgraded nationwide more channels will be available with a clearer picture.
Thank you for mentioning that the bathrooms are clean and spacious.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the Future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

Went to stay for 1 night while touring Ireland. When we got to the room allocated the room had a strong smeel of smoke from the previous occupant. They changed our room to another and this room hadpart of the carpet was soaking due to the skylight being left open overnight. Was offered another room but was to tired. Breakfast was ot good. The cooked fried eggs were congelled due to the time they had been left and we were one of the first to get breakfast. Not what you would expect from a 3 star hotel. Bundorian itself was not a nice experence. Anywhere you wanted to park you in Bundoran you had to pay for it. Nice welcome for visitors, I dont think. Avoid Bundoran and the hotel.

Room Tip: go to another town
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShielaMcGrath, Front Office Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
The Grand Central Hotel has one floor dedicated for smokers which can be requested at the time of booking, these are also Seaview Rooms, which are aired out after each guest Checks out. We did offer a room move because of the odor and it was unfortunate that the skylight had been left open which was an oversight on our behalf. We would have offered a replacement Breakfast if you had said this to us at the time. Bundoran is Pay and Display for the entire Summer, which is only €3 per day which is not excessively expensive.
I was Horrified to Read that you think that Bundoran is not a nice Experience as it is an extremely popular Seaside Resort Town that is Family Friendly, has a Blue Flag Beach and Host to the Seasessions Festival as well as World Championship Surfing competitions. There is even a song called "Beautifull Bundoran". But you are entitled to your opinion, thank you for making these comments. We hope you find an alternative Destination in the Future to take your Holidays
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bundoran hotels

Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

stayed here for 1 night - very central hotel - clean and food was good would stay again. Staff very efficient and friendly. Bundoran was unusally quiet. Nothing much to do at night so I spent my time walking roguey which I enjoyed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mairebeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShielaMcGrath, Front Office Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thank you for such a great comment! Bundoran has numerous activities and amenities for guests to enjoy, next time have a word with our Reception Team and they are more than happy to assist you in choosing from the numerous activities and attractions that are locally available. Roguey is definately a "must do" walk when visiting Bundoran and we are glad that you enjoyed the spectacular views of the Atlantic Ocean.

Looking froward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the Future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

The staff were really lovely and obliging.Good food. Rooms basic but clean. Good value for money would definitely stay there again. Close to all amenities. Only negative we had was noisy air conditioning in bathroom.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alro01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShielaMcGrath, Front Office Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thank you for this lovely comment, it does mean alot to all the staff. We also have superior rooms available mabey to mention this the next time you book. If you had mentioned the noise from the fan we would have offered you a room move while maintenance fixed this. Thank you again for your comments

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bundoran
0.2 mi away
The Holyrood Hotel
The Holyrood Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bundoran
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,096 reviews
0.4 mi away
Great Northern Hotel
Great Northern Hotel
#4 of 5 in Bundoran
3.5 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
0.0 mi away
Allingham Arms Hotel
Allingham Arms Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bundoran
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Fitzgerald's Hotel
Fitzgerald's Hotel
#3 of 5 in Bundoran
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
20.3 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
12.7 mi away
Bay View Hotel & Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Central Hotel

Property: Grand Central Hotel
Address: Main Street, Bundoran, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Bundoran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Bundoran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Grand Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Central Bundoran
Hotel Grand Central

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing