We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not good.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Central Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Bundoran
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Went to stay for 1 night while touring Ireland. When we got to the room allocated the room had a strong smeel of smoke from the previous occupant. They changed our room to another and this room hadpart of the carpet was soaking due to the skylight being left open overnight. Was offered another room but was to tired. Breakfast was ot good. The cooked fried eggs were congelled due to the time they had been left and we were one of the first to get breakfast. Not what you would expect from a 3 star hotel. Bundorian itself was not a nice experence. Anywhere you wanted to park you in Bundoran you had to pay for it. Nice welcome for visitors, I dont think. Avoid Bundoran and the hotel.

Room Tip: go to another town
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShielaMcGrath, Front Office Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

The Grand Central Hotel has one floor dedicated for smokers which can be requested at the time of booking, these are also Seaview Rooms, which are aired out after each guest Checks out. We did offer a room move because of the odor and it was unfortunate that the skylight had been left open which was an oversight on our behalf. We would have offered a replacement Breakfast if you had said this to us at the time. Bundoran is Pay and Display for the entire Summer, which is only €3 per day which is not excessively expensive.
I was Horrified to Read that you think that Bundoran is not a nice Experience as it is an extremely popular Seaside Resort Town that is Family Friendly, has a Blue Flag Beach and Host to the Seasessions Festival as well as World Championship Surfing competitions. There is even a song called "Beautifull Bundoran". But you are entitled to your opinion, thank you for making these comments. We hope you find an alternative Destination in the Future to take your Holidays

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (373)
There are newer reviews for Grand Central Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

218 - 224 of 373 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2012

stayed here for 1 night - very central hotel - clean and food was good would stay again. Staff very efficient and friendly. Bundoran was unusally quiet. Nothing much to do at night so I spent my time walking roguey which I enjoyed.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mairebeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShielaMcGrath, Front Office Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

Thank you for such a great comment! Bundoran has numerous activities and amenities for guests to enjoy, next time have a word with our Reception Team and they are more than happy to assist you in choosing from the numerous activities and attractions that are locally available. Roguey is definately a "must do" walk when visiting Bundoran and we are glad that you enjoyed the spectacular views of the Atlantic Ocean.

Looking froward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the Future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

The staff were really lovely and obliging.Good food. Rooms basic but clean. Good value for money would definitely stay there again. Close to all amenities. Only negative we had was noisy air conditioning in bathroom.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alro01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShielaMcGrath, Front Office Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

Thank you for this lovely comment, it does mean alot to all the staff. We also have superior rooms available mabey to mention this the next time you book. If you had mentioned the noise from the fan we would have offered you a room move while maintenance fixed this. Thank you again for your comments

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Bundoran is the Blackpool/Southend of Western Ireland and far more depressed. I was expecting g a pretty seaside town! It is full of amusement arcades and tacky bars and nightclubs. The hotel is on the main street but the rooms were shabby. Curtains coming off the rails, windows won't shut and were full of condensation. Spent a lot of the night listening to the lift doors and motor running. Ate in the restaurant and it wasn't great - deep fried Brie that wasn't warm in the middle. Will never visit the town let alone the hotel again!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ahmy04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShielaMcGrath, Front Office Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2012

Bundoran is an extremely popular Seaside resort, which caters for many different types of guests and their needs. We have breathtaking views of both the Mountains and of the Atlantic and also we boast 2 Blue Flag Beaches our Main beach and Tullan Strand, which is famous World-wide for Surfing. We are conveniently located on the Main Street within minutes from all the amenities available in the town including Waterworld, the indoor Family friendly Aqua Park. Yes there are Numerous Bars in the Bundoran along the main street which also cater for a variety of tastes with their various décor and entertainment which is second to none in the North West. Our Reception Team are more than happy to recommend places to go and thing to do. If you had mentioned that you were not happy with your room we would have offered you a room move to a superior room right away. Also if you had mentioned about the Brie in the restaurant at the time we would have offered replacement food. We would like to express again that we would prefer that Guests with any issues would come to us while they are staying so that we can help them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Booked at the last moment, but we were very pleased with every aspect of our stay. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Room was spacious and clean. Would definitely go back myself, and would recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShielaMcGrath, Front Office Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2012

Thank you so much for this lovely review it means a lot to all the staff here. Looking forward to Welcoming you and hopefully your friends/family also back to us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

lovely hotel for amazing price!! food was good no complaints but chef very ignorant.. rooms spacious and clean. 2 very friendly young housekeppers couldn't do enough for us a lovely gentlemen Joe and girl Nora. will def be back!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lola2012R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Do not ever ever go near this hotel.I went for a night stayover in this place have been there once before and it was noisy enough but put it down to one off noise.My husband and son went and were supposed to be put in quiet room to back of hotel.They forgot to mention the STAG PARTY.

Room Tip: NO ROOMS ARE QUIET the residents will ring your room at all hours .Please stay clear off this hotel...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valerie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShielaMcGrath, Front Office Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2012

We apologise that you didn’t enjoy your stay. The rooms to the back of the Hotel are quieter as sometimes on weekends there can be noise from the street as the hotel is situated on the main street of Bundoran. Had you reported noise coming from inside the hotel our night duty staff would have dealt with it for you. The corridors are walked numerous times a night to ensure noise levels are kept to a minimum. As we were not made aware of the situation either that night or on departure unfortunately we were not able to deal with complaint. We wish that guests would highlight any issues they have while in the hotel so that we may ensure they enjoy their experience with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bundoran
0.2 mi away
The Holyrood Hotel
The Holyrood Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bundoran
1,189 reviews
0.4 mi away
Great Northern Hotel
Great Northern Hotel
#4 of 5 in Bundoran
1,014 reviews
0.0 mi away
Allingham Arms Hotel
Allingham Arms Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bundoran
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Fitzgerald's Hotel
Fitzgerald's Hotel
#3 of 5 in Bundoran
157 reviews
5.8 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
603 reviews
13.8 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Central Hotel

Address: Main Street, Bundoran, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Bundoran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Bundoran
Price Range: $85 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Cancelon, Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Central Bundoran
Hotel Grand Central

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing