We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a hidden gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Allingham Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bundoran
Certificate of Excellence
coleraine
1 review
“a hidden gem”
Reviewed February 10, 2009

stumbled on by chance. we had travelled to view the wrc rally myself and wife with our two teeneage boys/ while in service centre in sligo we asked offical could he suggest a good hotel. it was his sugggestion to base our self in the allingham as it was centreal to most of the stages. what a findm would never have thought of bundoran with all the negative press it got last year. the allingham was a hive of activity a lot rally staff staying there, they had breakfast on from 3am to suit all going to the stages. the staff were fantastic couldt do enough for you. we wouldt be ones for country dancing but mick flavin was playing in the hotel , we had a great night dancing people so friendly and relaxed was truelly an experience which fully intend to repeat.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robbiebettie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    69
    41
    31
    21
See reviews for
80
130
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2009

Sayed at this hotel Feb 6th & 7th, for €109 pps for two nights B&B and one evening meal. Rooms were horrible, cold and old fashioned with paint chipped off the walls, cheap curtains and two 4ft beds squeezed into the room (we booked a double and got this). Bathroom again was freezing with not as much as a towel warmer in it and a manky dirty shower curtain that was covered in fungus.
We had dinner at the hotel on the Friday evening, it was ok not big size portions by any means but ok. Didnt have breakfast on the Saturday morning but did on the Sunday morning. Not big into full Irish breakfasts so just had cereal and then decided to have toast, on taking my toast out of the self service toaster I was horiffied to see it covered in blue mould, complained to a waitress and she apologised and said she was going to remove the bread but when friends went up 15 minutes later the bread was still mouldy (and a lot of people had come into the dining room so I'm sure someone ate this without noticeing) and the funny thing is there was a lady going round in her power suit looking all important bossing waiting staff and greeting guests, think she should spend more time inspecting the food more so than the staff. Staff in the dining room were very nice and polity for both Evening meals and Breakfast, mostly Irish for a change. Found bar staff quite rude. Reception staff were nice even though upon arrival I asked for late check out and was told this was no problem and there was no extra charge and friends travelling with us asked the following morning and were told no problem, but at a charge of €20 per hour, so I dont know what sort of scam they were running, dont get caught out.
Overall would not return to the Allingham Arms

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bonneen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allinghamarmsoffice, General Manager at Allingham Arms Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2009
Thank you for your review. I would like to start by stressing that at no time during your stay did you approach any member of staff to voice any concerns that you had, we are very accommodating here at the Allingham and are proud of our good reputation, we would have dealt with any issues to the best of our ability. We did facilitate you with a late check out at no extra charge. As you were the only late check out on Sunday morning we were able to identify who you are and the room you occupied.

During the past 3 years we have invested a large amount of money in the hotel, including re-tiling all bathrooms, wallpapering all bedrooms and modernising all areas, this is an ongoing project. Having personally checked your room, I can see no evidence of paint chipping as all rooms are papered, also there was no ‘fungus’ evident on the shower curtain.

I was disappointed with the comments you made about our Restaurant Supervisor, she is a highly valued member of staff who has been with us for over 10 years and is very popular with new and regular guests alike. We do not entertain any personal insults on our staff, especially when they are entirely innocent in a situation.

May I take this opportunity to thank you for your comments, as reviews like yours help us to maintain and improve our standards on an ongoing basis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derry
1 review
Reviewed July 30, 2008

I had a wonderful stay at this hotel over a very busy weekend. The rooms were clean and comfortable, the staff went out of their way to accommodate your every request and the entertainment was excellent. We did not expect such wonderful personal service on such a busy weekend.

I have stayed in a lot of hotels around ireland and found this to definately be the friendliest. I would recommend anyone to stay, and I am surprised it only has a three star rating.

  • Liked — cleanliness of entire hotel
  • Disliked — bit of a walk to our room!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bagofcats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Home
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2008

Just to let everyone know that if you book a room with this hotel using your credit card you will be forced to pay a €50 deposit, which if cancelled for any reason you will not get refunded but instead get a credit note. If you complain about how unfair this is the snotty receptionist will then take this money and that will be the last you see of it. This is what happened me and I warn others not to stay!

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank jetboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allinghamarmsoffice, Manager at Allingham Arms Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2008
In response to your review I would like to reiterate what was explained to you by our polite receptionist. As it clearly states in the confirmation letter that you received, Deposits are non-refundable and non-transferrable. The receptionist offered you a credit note to the value of your deposit as a goodwill gesture which you declined.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2008

This was our second stay at this hotel.We hoped it would have improved but no difference since last year.
The check in is done very well and the hotel entrance and reception looks quite impressive. Then you get to your room.
We booked a double room but we got 2 extra large single beds.
The bathroom was not very clean, mould everywhere.Shower was from the late 70's as well as the other fittings. The window in the room backed onto the car park.The radiator had been left on full blast so it was 34 degrees C.We couldnt leave the window open as it could easily be climbed through and there were drunk people passing all night.Even with the window closed it was impossible to sleep with country and western "music" pumping until 2am.We had asked for a quiet room,I would hate to have had a noisy one!
Tried a drink from the bar on Saturday night,both of our drinks were disguting.
If your expecting a 3 star hotel,its not.This place is the equivelent of a cheap US motel.
What you pay for is the location, just next to the sea and the impressive entrance.Or if your into cousins marrying and animals there is one of their "dances"

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Rooms,noise,place needs a huge facelift
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank AngusY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2008

A few friends and myself booked 2 day b&b with one evening meal. We also got free entrance into dance (which doesnt start to 11.30). The rooms are clean but a bit dated. Breakfast was excellent. One of my friend's had a lumpy mattress - she complained but they could only offer her a room over the ballroom and the dance didnt finish until 2a.m. On the second night we went down for our meal. The main course came with no vegetables and when we asked the waitress she said we had got vegetables (7 chips and one potato). Another person came over to ask us about our meal and we said we werent happy but nothing was done.

We went into the bar and it was so packed we went on to bed.

In conclusion I could reccommend the Allingham Arms for a good breakfast but certainly not for their evening meals. I e-mailed the hotel about our complaint but to date I have had no response.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Evening meal
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Niamh3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2008

We stayed at this hotel on the 29th of Bundoran. The rooms were average very clean but a bit cold. I have to compliment the staff they really went out of there way to be helpful. The waiter at our dinner table could not have been more helpful, our grandmother was unwell , he was very caring and coud not have done enough for us. I could not compliment all the staff enough and would like to thank them very much for a wonderful stay.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank oliveSligo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bundoran
0.2 mi away
The Holyrood Hotel
The Holyrood Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bundoran
1,093 reviews
0.4 mi away
Great Northern Hotel
Great Northern Hotel
#4 of 5 in Bundoran
968 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#5 of 5 in Bundoran
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Fitzgerald's Hotel
Fitzgerald's Hotel
#3 of 5 in Bundoran
152 reviews
3.5 mi away
Creevy Pier Hotel
Creevy Pier Hotel
#1 of 4 in Ballyshannon
243 reviews
13.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allingham Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allingham Arms Hotel

Property: Allingham Arms Hotel
Address: Main Street, Bundoran, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Bundoran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bundoran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Allingham Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Allingham Arms Hotel, named after a local 19th Century Poet, William Allingham is situated directly opposite the atlantic ocean on the beautiful coast of Bundoran, Co. Donegal. The hotel offers guests a unique experience in the superb seaside resort. The Allingham Arms hotel boasts two well equipped bars serving an extensive bar food menu and a high quality restaurant, serving delicious food. The hotel offers DVD hire with a choice of over 100 movies. Nightly entertainment is also provided where local and national entertainers perform. The Allingham Arms Hotel has been described as the “Capital of Country Music” with well-known acts such as Jimmy Buckley, Robert Mizzell, Mike Denver and Nathan Carter making regular appearances... we offer attractive packages and affordable rates, and as a family run hotel we are always willing to go "that extra mile" to make each guests stay an enjoyable one. Enjoy lazing in the beautiful surroundings, all of which are only a minutes’ walk away from the beach, town centre, Waterworld and numerous other amenities. Whether surfing, dancing or just simply relaxing, the Allingham Arms offers the guest the opportunity to make the most of their visit to the North-West. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Allingham Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allingham Bundoran
Allingham Arms Bundoran Hotel
Hotel Allingham Arms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing