We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brill =)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Allingham Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Allingham Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bundoran
Certificate of Excellence
tyrone n.ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Brill =)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

Hi ya just want to say a big thanks for a great stay at ur hotel.. The reception staff was 1st class really friendly and helpful when checkin in and out.. I just want to praise your staff on dealing with an incident we came upon when going down to breakfast, they handled the situation with complete care and dignity towards the lady in question.. well done =)
Look forward to my next stay x

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shorty_debs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allingham A, Manager at Allingham Arms Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments in relation to your stay at the hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed the weekend and we hope to welcome you back to the Allingham in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    68
    40
    31
    21
See reviews for
79
128
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kilkeel, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

Have stayed here a few times, got great weekend deals 2 B&B and 1Dinner,lovely place great food staff very helpfully and friendly. In fact one weekend we stayed here weather was bad and we parked the car on Friday and didn't leave the hotel until Sunday, lovely place. Rooms are lovely and clean

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allingham A, Manager at Allingham Arms Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you for your recent review, we were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully you will be back to us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellaghy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Went to see Derek Ryan, when we landed we were treated by some lovely receptionists, room was lovely, very clean then when we went down for our meal there was a lovely waitress there to serve us, She had a great personality talked away to us, then another man that worked there came up to chat to us, very friendly staff! Bar men were great crac. Especially I think his name was Dave? He was a laugh. Great night at Derek Ryan and the beds was unreal to sleep in, and the breakfast was top class, would recommend this place to anyone who's looking away to bundoran, definitely worth the money for great service will be back!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank anonymousss111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allingham A, Manager at Allingham Arms Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you for you kind comments following your recent stay. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

If, as they say, Donegal is the dance capital of Ireland then the Allingham Arms in Bundoran can legitimately lay claim to be the best supported venue when it plays hosts to the cream of country and western bands.
My wife and I were on night-by-night stop off at hotels throughout the South and decided to spend the last of these at the Allingham.
We had stayed several times before at this hotel and knew what to expect. Having booked one of the standard rooms we then decided to upgrade for a main street view and to be honest if you're spending any time whatsoever in your room, you won't regret the extra charge.
Arrivals for the dance come in droves throughout the day and a good tip is to get to the main bar early for a seat and a chance to watch the very varied clientele either taking drinks or having a meal.
The latter was our main priority and true to form the food was excellent - delivered quickly and cooked to perfection. Accepted it was only a bar snack, but it's the standard by which hotels are often measured and the Allingham should have no critics in this respect.
Attending the dance is a treat. The DJ who 'spun the discs' before the main attraction of the evening played the sort of music that warmed up the dancers no end and, to be honest, when he finished I was disappointed.
However, Jimmy Buckley was in great form and the longer the evening went on the more I was convinced that this venue is attended by those who are just dying to show off their jiving and general dancing skills.
The entertainment value in all this is a real treat and where some of the 'oldies' get their energy from is mind-boggling.
The dance over, it was time to retire and all credit to those attended, they dispersed quietly and we witnessed no disturbances or boisterous behaviour.
Breakfast was excellent with a large variety of food to chose from.
Criticism? Nothing really. The hotel is clean, well run and obviously has a huge attraction for country music fans across the North West and beyond.
However, the cost of the room along with a meal and entrance to the dance means you have to dig deep into your pocket, but if you want entertainment, there's no better place to go.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a front street view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lyle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allingham A, Manager at Allingham Arms Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Happy New Year and thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough review with a wealth of information for the potential future guest. We wish you the best of luck and good health for 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake George, New York
Level Contributor
151 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

The beds were very comfortable, I slept like a rock! The location was convenient and we really enjoyed our stay here. We ate several times in the bar area and the server was not the most pleasant person I've encountered....maybe she was overwhelmed or they were understaffed? The food was good, and I wouldn't let our server experience overshadow the rest of our stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allingham A, Manager at Allingham Arms Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay as part of a tour group. I'm delighted that you liked the location and that you slept well whilst you were here. I was disappointed to read that you felt you didn't receive the normal warm welcome we consistently offer all of our guests, as you will see from other reviews, it's the staff that normally receive the highest of praise & I apologise that this wasn't extended to you during your stay. I can assure you I will investigate and ensure a repeat of this doesn't occur. Thank you again for taking the time to post a review, we appreciate all feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inverness
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

we stayed at the hotel for the country music weekend on the 25 - 28 October and we enjoyed the time in the hotel everything was great and looking forward to booking again. the staff were so friendly. The music was great it was our first time we at a country music festival but I know it will not be the last

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marhat454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allingham A, Manager at Allingham Arms Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay over the bank holiday weekend. We have been hosting this weekend successfully for many years and each year it's great to see old and new faces. We were delighted to read that you will come back and stay with us & we look forward to welcoming you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

I see my friend Noel has written an excellent review for the Allingham Arms Hotel I was at the same celebration and also had the best weekend. Myself and friend Grainne had a double bed each in a good clean room. I have to agree with everything Noel has written and highly praise the staff from reception to cleaning and management they really were terrific . I would love to return to the Allingham. Well good company good food and good staff who wouldn't . A weekend to remember . Thanks everyone Mona Chambers Derry City

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ramona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allingham A, Manager at Allingham Arms Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Mona,

Thank you for your review, your group were a delight to have staying with us at the hotel.

Hopefully you'll come back to us again soon, I'm glad your weekend was a memorable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bundoran
0.1 mi away
The Holyrood Hotel
The Holyrood Hotel
#3 of 5 in Bundoran
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
0.3 mi away
Great Northern Hotel
Great Northern Hotel
#4 of 5 in Bundoran
3.5 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#5 of 5 in Bundoran
3.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Fitzgerald's Hotel
Fitzgerald's Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bundoran
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
13.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
12.7 mi away
Tara Hotel
Tara Hotel
#1 of 3 in Killybegs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allingham Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allingham Arms Hotel

Property: Allingham Arms Hotel
Address: Main Street, Bundoran, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Bundoran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bundoran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Allingham Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Allingham Arms Hotel, named after a local 19th Century Poet, William Allingham is situated directly opposite the atlantic ocean on the beautiful coast of Bundoran, Co. Donegal. The hotel offers guests a unique experience in the superb seaside resort. The Allingham Arms hotel boasts two well equipped bars serving an extensive bar food menu and a high quality restaurant, serving delicious food. The hotel offers DVD hire with a choice of over 100 movies. Nightly entertainment is also provided where local and national entertainers perform. The Allingham Arms Hotel has been described as the “Capital of Country Music” with well-known acts such as Jimmy Buckley, Robert Mizzell, Mike Denver and Nathan Carter making regular appearances... we offer attractive packages and affordable rates, and as a family run hotel we are always willing to go "that extra mile" to make each guests stay an enjoyable one. Enjoy lazing in the beautiful surroundings, all of which are only a minutes’ walk away from the beach, town centre, Waterworld and numerous other amenities. Whether surfing, dancing or just simply relaxing, the Allingham Arms offers the guest the opportunity to make the most of their visit to the North-West. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Allingham Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allingham Bundoran
Allingham Arms Bundoran Hotel
Hotel Allingham Arms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing