We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Allingham Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bundoran
Certificate of Excellence
derry, N.Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very impressed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Recently attended a 60th. birthday celebration consisting of two night's stay. Where can I start? The check-in staff at reception were friendly , professional. courteous and efficient. The allocated room was clean, warm and spacious. The restaurant and bar staff were all excellent and the sit down meal on the Friday night was superb. The management permitted our own wine to be provided without any corkage charge, something I have never experienced before. The buffet on the Saturday night in Quay West was excellent and worries about getting seats later for almost 60 of us in the main ballroom were dispelled when the manager escorted us in through the staff quarters before opening time to ensue we all got sitting together. This was very much appreciated by everyone in the group. The hotel itself? The building is finished to a high standard with a lovely open (gas) fire in the main lobby. The dining room boasts a beautiful view across the bay to Killybegs and the breakfasts were wonderful. On both days, quite a lot of people (including myself) overslept as the bedrooms were so quite but, even though it stated that breakfast was only served until ten o'clock, stragglers were still being served at twenty minutes to eleven. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone and can honestly say that this hotel was superior in every respect to a "5 star" hotel we stayed in about twelve miles from Bundoran. As I told the reception staff when checking out, this was one of the best weekend experiences I've had in a long time and this opinion was shared by everyone in our group.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank noelekelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allingham A, Manager at Allingham Arms Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear noelekelly,

Thank you for your recent review & for choosing us to celebrate your family occasion. Peter, Elizabeth and the staff at the hotel are well known throughout Donegal and Ireland for their friendly and approachable attitude.
We always strive to offer a service that we would like to receive ourselves elsewhere, and we're glad that this was offered to you throughout your stay.
Hopefully you may consider us for your next family gathering and recommend us to others. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    69
    41
    31
    21
See reviews for
80
130
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ballymena
Level Contributor
66 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Hi once again stayed at the Allingham Arms Hotel Bundoran. As usual excellant hotel in every way. Nice friendly staff,good food, comfortable rooms and very clean. The owner Peter is an excellant host and is so welcoming you immediately feel at home. We were there at a Phil Mack event but even if you are not attending a concert this hotel is well worth visiting. Would recommend to everyone.

Room Tip: Any room would be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allingham A, Manager at Allingham Arms Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Margaret R,

Thank you for posting a review following your recent stay for the Phil Mack concert. We were overwhelmed with positive feedback following the concert and we can't wait to host the show again in the near future. We hope you will come back and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lurgan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

My self and my wife stayed at the Allingham Hotel this weekend 4/10/2013,we found the hotel to be clean,comfortable,food good,service good,would have to problem in returning to this hotel,many thanks and keep up the good work.
Chris Mc Donnell Bleary ,Portadown

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allingham A, Manager at Allingham Arms Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments following your recent stay. We are delighted to read that you would also recommend us to others. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killygordon, Donegal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

We booked into the Allingham in September for a one night stay. We had a great time from start to finish. Everyone was very friendly from reception to the cleaners. We dined in the resturant on the Sat eve and it was top notch. All the staff took time to say hello, which was really nice. We enjoyed the bar where a man called the singer show was playing, he was great craic and really got the crowd going. We later went into Lisa Mc Hugh, where we danced the night away. There was some serious jiving going on,I supose it's not called the capital of Country for no reason.
Our room was lovely, with fantastic views.
Will be back

Room Tip: Ask for room 306, it was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allingham A, Manager at Allingham Arms Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay. I am glad that you enjoyed yourselves and that you found our staff friendly. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We booked into the Allingham Arms for surprise 60th birthday for my wife Marie, the family gathering was made all the better by the friendly and helpful staff of the hotel, the rooms were warm ,and clean, the breakfast was excellent and the staff were pleasant and considerate ,my daughter and her partner were unable to get down for breakfast due to exhaustion from travelling and a very young baby,it was no problem the manager allowed us to bring them up their breakfast , now we compared this with how guests were treated in a posh hotel in Carlingford ,they arrived twenty minutes after the breakfast serving time deadline and they had to pay an exorbitant sum ,the evening dinners were presented on warm plates and the standard of the food was as good as anywhere that I have experienced , the children had home made fish fingers which not only looked good but tasted delicious,my stake was perfection accompanied by perfectly cooked veg, the surprise party for Marie on the following night was superbly organised with the table decorated with balloons ,champagne and cake.our company of ten adults and two very young children were very well catered for by again a friendly and helpful staff, overall a wonderful weekend made all the better by the accommodation and staff of this very well run hotel ,we in the words of "Arnie" will definitely be back .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allingham A, Manager at Allingham Arms Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at the hotel. we're delighted that you enjoyed your break and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

We booked this hotel for two nights in June, We booked a number of rooms as we were surprising a quest who was celebrating a 21st Birthday and they did not know 15 of us were coming too. The hotel let us into the room to decorate it before my friend arrived and phoned to tell us they were checking in. The rooms were spotless and we could not have asked for anything more to accommodate our stay. Also included in the price was the entrance fee to the two dances which were excellent. We had a meal once in the hotel and it was delicious and we also could not fault the breakfast, enough variety for everyone. I will definitely be back. Thank you

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allingham A, Manager at Allingham Arms Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay for a birthday celebration. I'm glad that we were able to assist you and ensure that everything went to plan. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

my friend and i went for the weekend , i found the staff very friendly and the rooms were great the beds nice and comfy, i would go back again, we are planing to go next month again, i have also told my family and friends about you and they to have went and stayed and enjoyed their stay, so all in all i would go book this hotel first before any other because i enjoyed my stay

Room Tip: i would say all the rooms are the same, the beds were very comfy and we had a smoking room, and that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brigid w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allingham A, Manager at Allingham Arms Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay, we hope to welcome you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bundoran
0.2 mi away
The Holyrood Hotel
The Holyrood Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bundoran
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,096 reviews
0.4 mi away
Great Northern Hotel
Great Northern Hotel
#4 of 5 in Bundoran
3.5 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#5 of 5 in Bundoran
3.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Fitzgerald's Hotel
Fitzgerald's Hotel
#3 of 5 in Bundoran
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
13.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
3.5 mi away
Creevy Pier Hotel
Creevy Pier Hotel
#1 of 4 in Ballyshannon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allingham Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allingham Arms Hotel

Property: Allingham Arms Hotel
Address: Main Street, Bundoran, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Bundoran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bundoran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Allingham Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Allingham Arms Hotel, named after a local 19th Century Poet, William Allingham is situated directly opposite the atlantic ocean on the beautiful coast of Bundoran, Co. Donegal. The hotel offers guests a unique experience in the superb seaside resort. The Allingham Arms hotel boasts two well equipped bars serving an extensive bar food menu and a high quality restaurant, serving delicious food. The hotel offers DVD hire with a choice of over 100 movies. Nightly entertainment is also provided where local and national entertainers perform. The Allingham Arms Hotel has been described as the “Capital of Country Music” with well-known acts such as Jimmy Buckley, Robert Mizzell, Mike Denver and Nathan Carter making regular appearances... we offer attractive packages and affordable rates, and as a family run hotel we are always willing to go "that extra mile" to make each guests stay an enjoyable one. Enjoy lazing in the beautiful surroundings, all of which are only a minutes’ walk away from the beach, town centre, Waterworld and numerous other amenities. Whether surfing, dancing or just simply relaxing, the Allingham Arms offers the guest the opportunity to make the most of their visit to the North-West. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Allingham Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allingham Bundoran
Allingham Arms Bundoran Hotel
Hotel Allingham Arms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing